Sand Castle

image.png
unsplash

Buried in my thoughts while walking to build a house for my parents. I'm thinking that it can be possible now.

I'm like the only person who is walking along that road. I still can't forget the happiness when I was hired by a large company as an engineer.

"You're hired, Mac."

I couldn't believe I heard those words from a popular company in our place. I'm overwhelmed that I don't understand what kind of feeling I'm having, excitement or whatsoever.

I rushed to my mother and father standing outside our house. They knew that I was applying for a job. From a distance, I saw my mother praying and my father walking around near the house.

"Mom, Dad, I'm hired as an engineer."

They jumped and shouted because of joy. My mother hugs me right away while crying.

"We know you can do it, son."

My father nodded as a small droplet of tears fell from his eyes. They never asked how the interview was. Knowing that I'm hired, it's enough to make them satisfied.

"Let's celebrate," as mother says.

"But we don't have money?"

We are poor and I know we don't have money for that. Eating special food has no room for our budget. I know they are just so happy and proud of me.

"Just ignore it, for now, son. Today is a special day," my father insisted.

I feel like crying, emotionally eating meat. I just didn't let a single tear fall. I just told myself that I would do my best to earn money for my family.

8 a.m. is the office hours but I arrived outside at 7. I'm so excited to be here, like a child playing with his first toy. No one's arrived yet perhaps of how early I arrived. I can't explain how I feel as I'm curious about how I look. My heart keeps on pumping very fast, nervous and excited.

Slowly, workers arrived and I just followed them inside. The security guard is confused so he stops me.

"Excuse me, sir."

I know why he blocked my way.

"Oh, I'm so sorry, sir. I'm new here and I was just hired yesterday."

"Really?"

The security couldn't believe every word I said. Perhaps of how I look with old clothes from our neighbor and my whole appearance. I can't blame him so I tried to explain again.

"Security, he's the new engineer."

I'm lucky that Mr. Cruz arrived, the director of this company. The security just moved away and asked forgiveness. I just waved my hand saying it's fine and I followed my boss.

The director didn't talk much and just sent me right away to a destination, without explaining and without an idea what to do. I'm scared of what I will do when I arrive there. I'm determined to have this job for my family and I will strive for everything.

I Introduced myself as soon as I arrived. Afraid but I prevent myself, standing strong like a reliable engineer. Although they noticed from my trembling words.

"Don't worry, I'm in charge here."

One of the people said it to my face. Only to find out he makes me like one of the laborers there. I didn't complain but I just couldn't believe this kind of job I will be working on. More and more sweat flew from labor work. Using a shovel, hammer, and different types of tools in working.

image.png
unsplash

"You look very tired?"

Mother asked me to see me draining my strength sitting. I could tell she's worried but I decided to lie.

"No mom, I was just exhausted from the trip."

I needed to lie so they would not worry about me. They may ask me to resign and find another. I have a dream and I promised myself to make it happen. I want to build our own house where I and my family can sleep comfortably. I want to sleep peacefully even in the heavy rainfalls. I'm tired of avoiding raindrops from the ceiling every night when it rains. I must endure the hardships and make sure to fight them.

"I'm going to work mom."

Another day has come. I ready myself for another day. I know it will be tiring again understanding the kind of work waiting. I have no complaints even though my tears will fall because of it.

"Good morning everyone."

I greeted the people in the field with a big smile. I will let them understand that despite the hard work I'm enjoying it. They greeted me back and smiled. Started working while having slight conversations. That's my way to ignore the tiring job.

"You look very tired, son?"

Again my mother is worried. I understood her because it's obvious from my face how tired I am. Every day she asked when I got home. My reasons will never change so I just showed my mother a smile.

I've been working like this for more than a month. In my thoughts, I am complaining but I keep it on me. No matter how hard my work is, the memories of me when I was a child make me strong.

image.png
unsplash

"What are you doing, son?"

My father asked me when he arrived from the sea fishing on a boat. A sweet smile from a kid I showed to my father.

"This will be our house in the future, father."

My father came closer to me and looked closely at what I'm building. I formed the sand from the shore like a castle.

"But, it looks like a castle because it's too big?"

"I will build a big house for us, father. I know you couldn't sleep well in that small room. I saw you sometimes sleeping outside to lay down straight."

After I said to my father he hugged me and said.

"Thank you, son and I'm sorry."

Even at a younger age, I could understand very well how hard our life was. That's the reason as well I pursued an engineering profession. I wanted to be the one who will build our house. I wanted to see my parents being happy because of how beautiful our house will be.

The job I have right now is incomparable to the hardships of my parents. That's why I chose to continue working and have faith that someday my job will change. After remembering the sad life of my past when I was a child. I fell asleep and when I woke up its morning already. I woke up when a sudden visitor arrived at our house.

"Good morning sir."

A security guard from our office. He handed me a letter from our director and left.

"I heard from the workers in the field about your performance. That's why don't go to that field again. I prohibited you from going to the place from now on. If you have some questions just come to the office."

No more words were added in that letter. I cried silently as I felt broken reading it. I'm afraid my performance was not good enough even though I worked hard on it. I'm feeling uncomfortable so I rushed off to the office without telling my parents. I fixed myself and left without eating my breakfast.

"This is not happening."

In my thoughts, while crying inside. Full of disappointment that my dream will not come true. I thought it was reachable into my arms and now. I don't know what's happening and I feel frustrated.

"Welcome, sir."

The security greeted me and I just showed him a fake smile. I'm bothered by what's happening and I'm desperate to talk to the director.

I opened the door immediately and I stepped my foot inside.

image.png
unsplash

"CONGRATULATIONS!"

The people together with my boss said it. It's like a party is happening right now in front of my eyes. Not only that, they just congratulated me. I'm blown away and I don't know what to say because I don't understand what's happening.

"You are now officially hired, Mac. Thank you for the hard work and dedication to your job I gave you."

The director said to me and one of the staff told me everything.

The field I worked on was a big project our company wanted to have. It was a test for me but also they chose me to be that project after learning my background. The owner of that project is very picky in contractual companies. Our director was testing me and at the same time, the owner of that project was testing me as well what kind of engineer I am.

I couldn't believe what's happening to me. I never thought I would have this much luck. The director gave me a large amount for getting that project. It's not my monthly salary but a bonus for hard work. It was so huge that I couldn't believe I could have it. Of course, I remember my family immediately.

"Sorry, sir but I need to leave because my parents might be worried about leaving the house without telling them."

The director allowed me and let me rest for a day. I immediately went home while crying inside thinking of my mother and father.

"I will bring my parents into an expensive restaurant with this money."

In my thoughts, while smiling silently. I'm riding in a taxi for the first time because I have money to pay. I told the driver to drive fast. I can't wait to see the smiling faces of my parents when I tell them what's happening. I'm imagining their faces as well if they can try to go to the city and can have what they want. I didn't restrain myself from being so happy. I let my tears fall while smiling.

END...

mrnightmare

Sort:  

Very glad this had a happy ending. I was getting sad for poor Mac by the end. Nice tale!

Yeah, I thought of having a surprise first so Mac could feel a extreme happiness.

This is a very satisfying story @mrnightmare.net. We follow the emotional journey of the narrator as he moves through the different stages of development. His motivation is clear. His ambition is well defined. And, the story arc is complete.

Thank you for posting this story in the Ink Well community. We appreciate that you comment on the stories of other writers in the community. This helps our community thrive, and also makes you eligible to be chosen for a spotlight in our weekly highlights magazine. Thank you!

I'm grateful that I did it well in elaborating the journey. I managed to do it even though I was having hard time constructing the flow of the story.

Congratulations @mrnightmare.net! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 300 comments.
Your next target is to reach 400 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

The story realistically portrays the life we live. Good read. !discovery 35

Yes, experiencing and then observing the people surrounds me. Thanks.


This post was shared and voted inside the discord by the curators team of discovery-it
Join our community! hive-193212
Discovery-it is also a Witness, vote for us here
Delegate to us for passive income. Check our 80% fee-back Program

Nice story, @mrnightmare.net ! It's full of good feelings and self-improvement intentions. It also has a moral. If you do well in the present the future will reward you.

I love that, "do well in the present and the future will reward." You always have a indirect approach and I adore you for it.

There are multiple types of engineers. The story's narrator could easily have made a mistake in understanding what they intended when they hired him for an engineeing position. It's rather an odd trick on the company's part to treat him that way, but they certainly make up for it. And it's a great story line.

True, it was one of the mistakes of my story. I forgot to specify what kind of engineer he is. I wrote it that way so that I don't need tell every detail. Even so, I admit that I had wrong and just realized after you told me. Thank you

Oh, I was not indicating that at all, @mrnightmare.net. I was trying to say that I liked that part of your story because like the main character, the reader believes he will be the kind of engineer who sits at a desk, not the type who does physical labor. It works well. I wouldn't change it.

Oh my bad, sorry. I misunderstood it. lol