You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Today I Went Out Without A Mask

in The Ink Well4 years ago

The whorls of my fingerpads whirl like the water
Which knows no difference between my calves
Whales bones, gull's wing or the hard shell of a crab

What's the word for that? Aliteration? Where you repeat a consonant sound for effect? Well used here, I can feel the whorls, tight at the center and widening out like a fingerprint of words. 💚

Sort:  

Yeah, well done, that's alliteration the whorls and whirls and whalebones?

I can feel the whorls, tight at the center and widening out like a fingerprint of words.

thanks!!! That's perfect! I love that. I didn't even mean it - it just came, and I didn't edit it, and it was only later I caught the 'whuhhhhh' of the rhythm and swapped 'whale bones' with 'shells' so the 'wh' at the start of the third line was stronger to match the whirls. Thanks so much!