Theinkwell fiction challenge | The burden on citizens

in The Ink Well4 years ago

The burden on citizens.

5b97ac4a3857625af41f030d6ae50875.jpg

The fields are burning, the wind stirs up the smells of burnt flesh and grain, people are fleeing and cries are heard in the distance. My brothers are lying dead somewhere because of the decisions of their incompetent captain, needless to say many others had the same fate. The call of our trumpet sounds all over the city, a few riders head for this mountain while most go in the opposite direction. There are only a few hundred of us, perhaps a thousand, while they, with their thousands, walk with the walk of those who know they are the winners... They do not know what awaits them, they have no idea that they will not now face frightened farmers or untrained militias, they do not know that, today, they are facing the real citizens, those who call themselves "comrades", to the horsemen who are not afraid to die for their country, to the warriors who while the others flee, they advance and break the enemy line leaving only death and glory in their wake, they want to take our city, enslave our children, steal our women and burn our homes... In reality, they do not know what awaits them and what this day will mean for our people.

Part of me doesn't quite believe how it all ended up this way. A few weeks ago the idea of a war with our neighbors was nothing more than an idea that only the crazies thought possible. It is ironic that now those who least believed in that possibility, are those who now lead the defense of our city, this conflict began long before the first arrow was launched or the first sword drawn, began the day that the gold and silver mines were discovered in our territory, began the day that their livestock began to die and ours continued to reproduce and fatten, began the day that the savages of distant lands ended with their best commercial ally and with the surprise that these savages were our friends. Perhaps it was despair and the desire for new riches that prompted their leaders, perhaps it was hatred for our way of being that made it easier for their men to fight against us, perhaps the pride of some interceded and made an agreement that would benefit us all impossible. The only thing I know for sure is that, the enemy is in front, my comrades are by my side and my sword is sharp, there is no turning back.

75493875450d25a53a4aed6ea38601aa.jpg

The enemy approaches, they advance without any order hoping that their number would make us retreat, but for something we are the most proud, for something in the whole world we call ourselves the citizens of this town, where the majority decided to flee to the interior of the city, we took the option of not letting anyone even step on our capital, not while our hearts beat and our arms can wield their sword. The formation is ready... The trumpet sounds, the horses neigh as they are spurred on and both swords and spears come down aiming at the chest of our enemy... The speed increases... The shouts and curses go up in the air. They cannot believe what they are seeing, before they can form the first beasts collide with the enemy, everything turns into chaos, the cries of pain begin and I am only sure of one thing: That before dying I will finish with each enemy that crosses before me, I deviate the blow of a spear, I nail my sword in the chest of a bearded man, I turn to attack against another one in time to see how one of my companions is crossed by several spears at the same time, the anger blinds me and for a time alone I know that it is to cut and to cross with my sword until, a spear crosses the belly of my mount and I fall, I lose the sense of where I am until I feel a foot on my chest, an officer with blood flowing from his chest as he looks at me with hate, a vile smile invades his face as he raises his sword, I know it's my time, it's time to say goodbye to this world, he violently lowers his sword and... The weight on my chest disappears, the next thing I see is men running away, I raise my face and a young boy is finishing off that officer. I manage to get up and I realize that, from all sides emerge inhabitants of the city, soldiers, peasants, nobles, even those who swore far away from here have joined the fight, the battle continues, men are still fighting and our city is still not safe, it is time to teach these men against whom they are really facing.

The images used were thanks to:
Lelyn Johson (You can find it on Pinterest and Tumblr)

Sort:  

Congratulations @nomaride! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 500 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 600 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Project Activity Update
The Customization Guide for the HiveBuzz store