THEINKWELL WRITING PRIZE ||REFUNDED GLORY||

in The Ink Well4 years ago (edited)

redemption-1.jpg

image source
  It has been four weeks and three days we have seen my husband, yet no one knows his where about or hear from him. Officer, I can’t endure this anymore, please let me cry out to the media maybe that will yield better result. Stephen’s mother scream as tears roll down her face. Madam, please hold your breath a little longer, we are earnestly working toward retracting your husband from the den of those evil doers. The D.P.O replied with a pitiful facial expression as he searches through the hundreds of files laying on his table. He then picked one of the files with Dr. Justine boldly written on it. Ma, this is the report the police officers on duty as at Monday gave about your husband’s case, you may go through it yourself.
What! This is far from the truth, my husband left for office the day he disappeared. D.P.O why am I seeing something else sir? Church? It has been a while my husband have stepped into a church ever since a so called pastor told him he shouldn’t contest for the post of deputy governor if he wants to live longer. I am sure my eyes are not deceiving me, Stephen! Please read this sentence as loud as you can. "The aspiring deputy governor under the canopy of Government for the People Party, Doctor Justine was kidnapped on his way to church on the fourth of September, year 2020". Stephen became intensely annoyed after reading this sentence and he found it very difficult to control his anger. “Did you think it’s easy to graduate with a first class certificate without my father sited on my convocation day? Or you think living without three square meal is what can be endured after eating in abundance from the beginning of my life? If you do have children at home sir, Why must you make me swim in the pool of agony as poverty subdue my mother and I drastically toward being unable to afford meal for ourselves. D.P.O, let’s be candid with ourselves, what is written in this file is nothing but a lie. Please do something sir. Ple-ase! Stephen dropped the file on the D.P.O’s table as he walks out of the office with utmost dismay.
  …Government for the Peo-ple! pow-er! Government for the Peo-ple!! pow-er!! Thank you, thank you, thank you. After all said and down, it is high time we drew the cotton of today`s meeting. But before we say our closing prayer, is there any other matter that has not been dealt with in the cause of today's meeting?
Oh yes! Engr. Raphael stood up full of charisma. I am very, very happy you remember to ask if there is any untouched topic to be discussed. Nonetheless, it saddens me to notice none of you sited on the dais raise any point regarding how we can refill the empty space Dr. Justine left behind in this party. Come to think of it, Dr. Justine has been declared missing for more than one month, Governorship election is in few weeks’ time, yet our party’s deputy governor’s position is empty even till now. Echoes of whispering voices override Engr. Raphael’s voice as the members of the party murmur to their selves. Silence! The chairman screamed out with mixed feelings. If you will buy my idea, Engr. Raphael continued as he uses is left hand to adjust his spectacle. Let’s fill up this empty position before opposition parties uses that against us.
Thank you very much for your observation, we will all sit to decide about what to do about the vacant post in our party, but until then, let us all have it at the back of our minds that only the best will be done to satisfy everyone. Therefore, everyone of you should chillax till next week, we will rectify the point Engr. Raphael raised today. May we all raise up as I call on Mr. Smith to please help us with closing prayer.
In Jesus name, father in Jesus name, oh lord we thank you for how …
  Hello, am I speaking with the managing director of JUPITEC electronics? Oh yes, how may I help you? I am Engr. Stephen by name; a first-class graduate of electrical and electronics engineering from Dereal University of Technology (DUT). I saw an advert publicizing the need for an electrical electronics engineer in your company, and that is why I am calling to make inquiry sir. Oh! You are right, but I am sorry; the last spot has been filled as at yesterday evening. Therefore, we are not in need of anyone for now. Ok sir, Stephen ended the call feeling totally depressed. Why did your facial expression change within a twinkle of an eye dear? Mummy, how I wish I can see my dad right now, I am sure I won’t be facing disappointment while seeking for jo-ob if he is here. Stephen busted into tears as he walks towards his room.
  Hands up! If you dare move an inch further; I will cripple you with my bullets. What do you have in that huge bag you left in your car’s boot? Why did you run when we open your boot? The police officers tiredness beat a lad as they breathe heavily even in the middle of the night. The young man only plead for his life as the police officers took him into their van with a pair of handcuffs on his hands.
…Haaaaaaaa! Please hold on, just remove the iron from my face first. Ple-aase! Then tell me how a dead man got to your car before I completely deform your face with this pressing iron. The D.P.O screamed at the young man full of hanger. Ok, ok, ooook, but before I tell you anything, I need you to help me call my wife; because my family’s life will be at risk as soon as the person who sent me knows my whereabouts. Please I need to speak with my wife, the man keep pleading even without caring for the hot pressing iron in front of him. The D.P.O then starred at him and threw a cell phone at him. Call, and tell your wife and children to come here as fast as they can. The man took the phone and said exactly what the D.P.O ordered him to say. Then the D.P.O took the Phone and left the detention room looking very tired.
Now that your family members are here, it is better you voice out now before I pounce on you. The D.P.O whispered as he opens the door to the detention room. The young lad bursted into tears and said, "if not for my eager for money, I won't have engaged myself in this."
Few months ago, I went to visit Engr. Raphael to ask for assistance regarding my son's school fees. On getting there, I want straight to engineer Raphael's sitting room as usual. But on this Day, Engr. Raphael's facial expression tells it all that he wasn't happy. I quickly ask for the reason behind his sad mood. He stared at me and said, "you are up to the task." He then opened his lips slightly as he forces out an awkward smile. Follow me, he said as he walks towards his room. However, he shut the door to his room as soon as I enter his room. Then he walked towards his cupboard. Take this, he said as he kicks a bag towards my direction. I carried the bag with my two hands; because it is a bit heavy. Open it. He said. Behold, I was scare when I saw what was inside the bag, for I have never seen what is inside the bag in such quantity in my entire life. Engr. What is this for? I said looking really confused. He looked at me and said, “that is for the job I want to offer you.” Please tell me what you want me to do, I asked him while I kept my eyes fixed to his face. Have your sit, he said while he points to the chair beside me.
You asked for why I am sad right? Have this picture, have you seen this man before? Yes sir, is this not Dr. Justine? He lives a stone throw from my house. I replied him. Yes, I know he lives around your street, and that is why I want you to carry out this simple task for me. That man you see in that picture is filling a position that is rightfully mine in my party, so I need you to help me stop him from being able to contest on November's governorship election. Sir, please be specific, what exactly did you want me to do to him? I asked feeling very confident of myself.
Like the speed of a light he approaches my ear and whispered to me “kidnap and captivate him till the end of the election.” But he warns not to in any way refer to him if I get caught while carrying out the mission; else my family will pay for it. Then he opened his door and said you may leave. However, I was in need of money, therefore, I said nothing other than “consider it done.” And I left with the bag of money.
On September 4, my gang and I successfully kidnap Dr. Justine around 6am while he head for his office, and we decided to hide him in a forest not too far from Stingush poultry farm. However, Dr. Justine fell sick few days ago and I could not call a doctor because of what I am trying to achieve. Therefore, I gave offer self-medication till when he finally gave up the ghost last night. However, I should have left him there, but Engr. Raphael called for his corpse; that he needs to see it with his own eyes. That is why I have Dr. Justine's corpse in my boot.
What about your gang? The D.P.O asked. They are the armed robbers that was caught few weeks ago. The young man replied. You will rot in jail, the D.P.O said as he walks out from the detention room.
  ...Government for the peo-ple! pow-er! Government for the poe-ple!! pow-er!! Thank you for making it another day in our party’s meeting, I pray that our labour will not be in vain in Jesus name. Amen! The members of the party chorused in unity. Like we said before the end of last week's meeting regarding filling the empty space in our party, the best option have reviewed itself, and now we can fix what have been wrong in our party for weeks.
To the glory of God, what has been made hidden from us has been reviewed last week, and now it is easier to choose who will occupy the position Dr. Justine was denied of, may his gentle soul rest in perfect peace. However, though the person we choose never thought of contesting even till now, but due to the fact that he stood firm with Dr. Justine and his impact was well felt during the primary election. We therefore choose to restore the glory back to the family that have truly worked for the position Dr. Justine Left behind.
Hence, join me as I congratulate Engr. Stephen as the rightful person to compete as the deputy governor of our state; under the umbrella of Government for the People Party. Some of be party members murmur as larger amount of them happily usher Engr. Stephen to the podium with clap. The people on the podium congratulated him as well as virtually everyone sited in the hall. Congratulations, congratulations, congratulations. People rejoice with Engr. Stephen even after the party’s meeting.
  Good day everyone, here is mid-day one minute news across the state:

  • The governorship election which took place yesterday, November 20 ended up in favour of Government for the People Party as their contestant emerge as the winner with 48,887 votes across the 14 local governments of the state.
  • The chairman of ...
    Mummy! Mummy!! Daddy! Uncle Stephen's party won the election. Uncle Stephen's party is the winner. Mummy! Uncle Stephen .... Francis ran towards the kitchen as he calls uncle Stephen times without number.

  ...thank you very much for making it a day here as we celebrate his Excellency governor and our friend and brother; Engr. Stephen. But before we finally bring an end to today's party, join me as I usher in the deputy governor to the podium to give his vote of thanks. Everyone clapped heavily until the deputy Governor grabbed the microphone. “First of all, I want to thank God for being there for me. I appreciate my parents and I also appreciate all of you sited here for giving me your absolute support. You all played active roles in restoring my family's lost glory; so will I actively support my amenable governor to restore every spoilt amenities within the four corners of this state. Once again, thank you very much for your support." The deputy governor elect dropped the microphone as the audience clap and sing songs of victory.

The End.

Sort:  

It was good that his body was found so that justice can be served to the family.

Thank you for reading through even though I upload the wrong file at first😔. It has been corrected tho. But you did a great job to read an unedited story till the last word. Thank you.