theinkwell fiction challenge | Jane's Situation

in The Ink Well4 years ago (edited)

It's been exactly a year since I found out Jimmy has a hole in his heart. My dear little Jimmy, I started to worry about his health, so many what ifs and questions clouded my mind but I soon realised that nothing would change except we get the required funds needed for his surgery.

Screenshot_20200617-182501_1.png

I remember that day like it was yesterday, I came home from work and my little boy ran into my arms with so much happiness. I made his favourite food, rice and lots of fried plantain and salad and watched him eat. Later that evening, i held him in my hands and we watched SpongeBob squarepants.
Tim, my husband came home few hours later to join us, he rolled off my lap and gave his dad a huge hug, I love seeing him do this, it's amazing.

Jimmy fell asleep shortly, I put him to bed and went off to my room. I heard a loud cry a few moments later and I ran off to his room, Jimmy was burning up and gasping for air. I and Tim rushed him off to the hospital, the doctor attended to him and asked to see us privately.
"Your son has a hole in his heart and I'll advice you bring him in for surgery soon." He said.

The news was a shocking one for us but life continued, I and Tim kept saving up for the surgery.
Few weeks later, my phone rang and I picked up.
"Good morning Jane, you have a male visitor at the reception." Said Sam
"Send him in." I said

I heard a knock and the door was wide open in no time. I saw Jerry standing there, I couldn't take my eyes away.
"Jerry? What do you want ?" I said
"Calm down Jane, I'm here to make a proposition." He said
"I'm not interested." I said
"I hear your son has a medical condition and you need funds, I can help out with that." He said smiling.
"How did you find out about that and what do you want in return?" I said
"Something little, testify against Williams in court, tell them what happened wasn't out of self defense." He said.
I called the security and he got thrown out

Williams was my late dad's friend and former boss. Three years ago, I visited him and it started raining heavily. Williams suggested I spend the night and I agreed, few minutes later, we heard a huge bang on the window. Finn, Jerry's brother jumped in and tried to steal from Williams but he ended up dead. Williams killed him out of self defense, the case was taken to court, I testified and Williams won.

I called Tim and told him about Jerry's visit. He met me up at the office and while we were discussing,my phone buzzed again, it was Williams.
"I heard Jerry paid you a visit, he wants the case reopened, please do what's right." He said
"Relax Williams, I'll never give him to him. I can't lie." I said.
"What did he offer you." Williams asked
"Nothing." I said

I was exhausted so I and Tim went home. I rushed off to the kitchen to get a glass of water and came back to see Tim on the phone with a confused look on his face.
"What's up" I asked.
"The doctor just called, the bill has been paid by Williams." He said
I called Williams but he didn't let me speak, all he said was; "I just wonder how much you've kept from me, Jimmy is my godson and I can do whatever for him, just say thank you Jane."
"Thank you." I said
Jimmy went in for surgery the following week and it was successful, the case was never reopened because no witness was available.

I decided to give the fiction challenge a try, hope you love the story.
Image source