theinkwell poetry challenge | Small-Small

in The Ink Well4 years ago (edited)

6534.jpg

text15.png

“Do me proud”
I said to four seedlings raised by my hand
from embryonic things into children of a sort

I passed them off to their new parent
who would reap the fruits of what I had sown -
a vast expansion of a small-small act

Tiny to towering

text15.png

This is my entry to @theinkwell's third summer poetry challenge. The prompt I used is beauty.

Thank you for reading my work!

Image by @manoldonchev

text15.png

owasco_banner.png



Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png

Sort:  

Please add your entry to the Challenge post :)

Drat!!! I always forget that! Thanks, again, for the reminder.

Beautiful poetic prose, best regards 🙂

Thanks! And thanks for stopping by.

Lovely @owasco and certainly relatable to me, My Garden is often very much my canvas as well as the place in which I pour my 'motherly' love :)

Oh I so understand. I talk to my plants, try to feel what they feel, totally anthropomorphize them. And my garden is a slow moving work of art, with a mind of its own. So cool. Thanks for dropping in!

Your words express the beauty you want to reflect. A beautiful poem @owasco

Why thank you! I had thought to write much more, but this bit seemed to say everything in a nutshell. I'm so happy you stopped by.

As a mother of three offspring myself, I totally identify with this - and the letting go!
Who is "their new parent" - the field is wide open. First day of kindergarten, of college?
Beautiful words and photo of that dandelion, seeds ready to scatter to the winds!

Have I told you lately that I love you? You the best. DAF.

I love you more
DAF.... dumb as f***?
LOL
I am so pathetic.... Dat's a Fact?

We have been over this. Dope As F***.
But I love Dat's A Fact.

Dope.... ohhhh yeah. A new adjective that I rarely hear. (Or remember.) :)

Beautiful ...

Thank you!

Hello, @owasco. I'm not sure I can pick up on the meaning of the words in your poem, since I access them by machine translation. Something remains for me: the delicacy of the emotion and the vision, expressed in that sense of the germinal and/or the small (which is beautiful, as that famous twentieth-century motto, always in force, used to say). Greetings.

I was trying to capture the exquisite beauty in something germinal, which is an excellent word btw. So I'd say, machine translation or no, my message came across to you. Thank you for taking the time to read my little poem so closely!

It's beautiful. Love the small-small act.

I have to confess - small-small is used in the novel I am currently reading (Girl, Woman, Other) and I was smitten with it too.

Wow, what a beautiful way to describe letting go and small but steady growth. Cheers.

Nice comment! Thanks!

You welcome.