You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Sun Will Rise Again

in The Ink Welllast year (edited)

The advice from The Inkwell below might help too. If you want me to show you with a passage I'm happy to help. You definitely have the ideas! Hive is a great way to learn...

A small tip here, for one. I think you'll like it!

'I've seen him on the hill before. I thought he was a ghost, I can't believe he was still alive!? How was Mr. Arao, Uncle?' Belle asked, but before Dr. Ponce could answer a tray of snacks was served in front of them at the table.

Why the snacks? Is it just to try to make the setting more real? If so, great. But make the description say something about character and add/or to the themes. Instead:

'I've seen him on the hill before. I thought he was a ghost, I can't believe he was still alive!? How was Mr. Arao, Uncle?' Belle asked. She felt suddenly cold, aware of the night creeping at the windows.

Every detail should work to build these things. Careful too of your tenses - be consistent about past (Bella remembered) or present (Bella remembered). Past is easier as a new writer. 😃

Sort:  

I can't believe there was a better way to improve the story, thanks for the input😄😄 I'll internalize and apply these because these are the part(s) that needs improvement😸