Inkwell Prompt 94: Party for Dylan

in The Ink Welllast year

png_20221206_071044_0000.png

Image made using Canva


Throwing a party for Dylan is such a drag. The fact that mom always insists that it should be a surprise party makes it more of a hassle.
My brother isn't the type that was blessed with the gift of timely appearances. This isn't the first time we've tried throwing a surprise party for him. He's always managed to mess it up with his bad timing.
Appearing either earlier than expected, catching us in the midst of preparations and helping us prepare for his own party, or appearing later, when everyone is tired of hiding and we're just sitting down, wondering when we get to eat the cake.
The fact that he could be rather clueless at times didn't help matters. He would meet us in the midst of a party and join us to arrange not knowing it's his own birthday he's arranging for.

This year though, my mother decided it was going to be different. She pulled out all the stops, taking control of Dylan's schedule from his waking up.
Notifying his friends of where and when they'll take him and when they should come back home.
The plan was so intricate and well thought out, that even I, beyond my better judgement, was beginning to think it could work.

The day of his birth came and my mother was put into overseer mode. Using signs to constantly ask about the decorations and party materials.
I, my sister and my father just humored her, thinking of how proud and worried she may be, thinking and designing such a plan and successfully started carrying out and knowing that anything, just the slightest material forgotten or spoilt could work in Dylan's favor and mess up the surprise.
Dylan finally finished having his bath and dressing up. He then went out with predetermined friends to a prearranged location.

Immediately he left, we began putting up the decorations. The streamers and banners are set at a specified angle. My mom was in control of everything, setting how everything should be done and how it should be made.
In less than an hour, we were done. Dylan and his friends were due in 45 minutes and I celebrated, thinking we've finally managed to set a surprise party for him.
Suddenly, I heard my mom's voice of distress
"What do you mean by a flat tire?",she said into the phone.
After listening for a few minutes she asked again; "So when should we expect it?"
The expression on her face told me all I needed to know. After the phone call, my once joyous mum was solemn.
My little sister noticed this;
"What's the matter mum?" she asked. My mum looked at her and smiled.
"The cake van had a flat tire in delivery, so they may not be able to deliver our cake in time." She said with a shake if her head
My dad sighed and my sister went to hug my mum, the air was thick with disappointment.
Dylan was due in 5 minutes and still no cake. Nobody was in hiding to shout surprise when he opened the door, I doubted if our lookout was still looking out. The news of the late cake left a bad taste in everybody's mouth.
I pitied my mum the most, planning this particular day a month ahead, just to be spoiled by something as random as a flat tire.
I was the only one in the sitting room when Dylan entered with a cake box in his hand.

"Hey Daniel, a little help?" He asked me as I opened the door.
The first time he was on time for his birthday party, and there was no party.
"What's this?" I gestured to the box.
He laughed and replied "The craziest thing happened today on my way back. I saw a cake truck who drove on top some nails on the road. I helped them change their tires and in exchange they gave me a lift. As I showed them my house and where to stop, the gave me this cake too." He said licking some icing of his hand.
I was stunned by the randomness of the situation. Opening the box I saw that it was indeed his birthday cake. It even had the happy birthday written on it.
"Whose birthday is it?" Dylan asked upon reading it and I was forced to laugh.
"Shhh," I gestured for him to keep quiet. "It's meant to be a surprise."

I told him to stay with the cake and not swipe at the icing any more than that. I went to call my sister and dad, then explained the plan to them.
Then I packed the cake back and gave it to Dylan to stand outside, telling him his cue and when to come in. He smiled and agreed to do it.
My sister went to call my mum down, and as she made her graceful appearance to the parlour, Dylan came out too early, prompting all of us to do a hasty and early surprise almost falling the cake.
My mum burst out laughing and laughed even harder when Dylan explained how he ended up with the cake.
We sat around sharing his cake and it wasn't until 9pm at night did he realize. It was his birthday.

Sort:  


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @seki1 ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

That’s cute, imaginative and highly original 🤗💕❤️

Awww thanks💕

This is such a fun, uplifting read! Your premise is original and imaginative. However, it’s not only the notion behind the story, but it’s the execution that’s so satisfying - from the description of the protagonists’ feelings about the party until the concluding line. Very nicely done!

Thanks @theinkwell 💕😂

Hahahaha what a clueless boy. He made me laugh, I can't believe there is someone so rude and with that luck hahahaha

😂😂 clueless kids are fun indeed 😂

SEKI! This is such an adorable and fun tale! Dylan is a very interesting character, I always laugh at people who forget their own birthdays, how does that happen?! 🤣 I really liked Dylan's oblivious but sweet nature, it's funny that he thwarts his moms plans... Not by being purposefully contrary, he just doesn't realize the implied hints people give or something! 😂

Wonderful, simply wonderful! Thank you for sharing this satisfying story 😁

Na Dylan was a fun character to write 😂😂😂♥️
Sometimes I do remember my birthday, although it's because I don't usually have time to celebrate it 😂😂😂
I guess in our country we don't usually prioritize birthday's except it's a milestone year (16, 18, 20)😂😂😂

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @itsostylish.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Thanks @ecency ♥️✨

🤣this was hilarious, Dylan is such a funny character the fact that he doesn’t even remember his birthday and the entire thing with how he ended up with the cake. I felt bad when the mum’s plan almost go ruined but I am glad everything turned out alright. Dylan is so lucky to have such a family.

Indeed he is😗

Wow...such a creative story here
I was curious to know the ending party but glad it turned out well 👌🤗
Good job

No problem 😂😂

🤣🤣🤣🤣
I just couldn't stop laughing because everything about Dylan's birthday to be a surprise has been unlucky and I really pitied Dylan's mum for going through such stress to make the day the best for him. How the cake ended up being with the celebrant is still something I can't stop laughing at 😂😂😂
But it was a nice story well written by you 👍
I popped in through Dreemport 🤗

Thanks for stopping by...
I'm glad the story brought some laughs😗✨😂

You are welcome 🙂

Lol. The innocence of Dylan should be studied. What were the odds that he'd end up with his own cake?

Nice one.

Wow, that's cool. In the end, it was still a beautiful birthday celebration.

Great story.