Into The Woods

in The Ink Well2 years ago

razvan-mirel-oW7jOuurs64-unsplash.jpg

source


"Bessie Bessie, where are you? come out its not funny anymore". I keep calling out. We are deep into the woods with only trees and green leaves in sight. A low growl halts my every move. I feel a wave of fear grip me as I turn around slowly to come face to face with glowing blue eyes. I can't believe I'm staring directly into the eyes of a huge white Wolf. I feel sweat trickle down my fore head and my knees go weak as I move backward. The wolf, as if sensing my movements, growls louder. My knees finally gives away and I fall down with my butt first. Looking at the wolf, I see my life flash through my eyes. I wonder if today will be my last day. I take a path down memory lane.


Bessie and I have been best friends since childhood. We got to know each other through our parents because they were friends too. I was the quiet one while Bessie was the outspoken one. Going to the woods was all Bessie's idea. We had just finished our final exams in high school and was heading home, when Bessie brought up the idea, "Katty since we are all done with our exams, why don't we go on an adventure?. I was not surprised because, Bessie was always full of crazy ideas. But this time, something felt different.

This time around, Bessie seemed overly excited. So I asked ,"Hmm, what's this adventure all about? Hope we are not stealing anything?" she looked at me and grinned, "Nope, I just want us to go deep into the woods and capture wild cats". I saw it as a bad idea, but she persuaded me and I agreed even though I still felt uncertain. I decided to talk to my mom about it because, the woods can be very dangerous.

I spoke to my mom about it that night. I met her sitting in front of the swimming pool, I sat beside her and stared at the stars. She noticed something was bothering me and asked, "What's wrong sweetie". I opened up to her, I told her about the adventure into the woods. She advised me,"Oh sweetheart, you know the woods are a very dangerous place expecially for two teenagers without any hunting experience. Don't go and also advice her not to go". I thanked her and went to bed.

I had visited Bessie the next day with the hope of convincing her not to go. I even told her so many scary things that could happen to us in the woods, I told her that we could also get lost. she ended up convincing me,"Don't worry, I know the safest part in the woods and we won't get lost". I sneaked out of my house the next day and met her at the junction. She was already with all the equipment we were going to be needing. We started our journey to the woods. When we got their, we began to explore the woods looking for wild cats to capture. It was during the hunt that she decided to ditch me.


An angry growl woke me up from my reverie. Looking at the wolf's angry eyes, I started wishing that I had listened to my mom. As the wolf started sniffing me, I could feel my heart beating fast. I start to pray that my mom will notice am not around and come to look for me.

Fortunately for me, I hear heavy footsteps coming in my direction. The wolf is scared and runs towards the opposite direction. I look up to see my mom with Bessie and other men looking pitifully at me. My mom helps me up and hugs me with so much affection. I start to cry," I'm so sorry mom, I should have listened to you". She assures me, "Hey sweetie, don't cry anymore. You are safe now." I look up and march to Bessie accusingly. She quickly defends herself, "Hey, I'm so sorry. I was so excited and did not notice when I lost you. But when I found out that you were not with me, I started searching for you and when I couldn't find you, I ran home to get help. I'm so sorry". We both hug each other.

Sort:  

Fortunately...yes, very fortunately, the young girl was found before the wolf could eat her. This is a nice, subtle use of the prompt. Also, a nice 'hook'. We know in the first line that the girl is lost and in trouble. Good story.

Thank you for sharing this with us. We appreciate that you engage with other authors.

Thanks for visiting my story.

Congratulations @smokyice! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 1000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 1250 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

What would Katty have done if Bessie did not do the right thing by going to get some help? She was really really fortunate that her best friend did what she did even though she was the reason they were in that situation in the first place.

Great story indeed! I enjoyed reading it.

I really liked the story and we can take advantage of the lesson it conveys to us.