The Bus Encounter - WORTH THE TRY?

in The Ink Well2 years ago

My journey from school was mostly quiet, stuffed between a middle aged woman who was buried in her cellphone and a stout looking man probably in his mid thirties who dozed off for almost the whole ride.

DCD0AA26-63FB-4975-B87D-C1C042AEE59A.webp
source

My earphone remained glued to my ears, supplying endless sounds of drill music that brought me a considerable amount of ease as against the excitement that was threatening to tear me apart. I shifted severally in my seat shoving the dozing man off my shoulder at intervals.

I sighed, mostly out of anticipation and maybe a little exhaustion as the bus swerved into a familiar turn. It was the last. The rest of the ride would be a straight drive until the popular Tombia park.
I checked my phone for any notifications from my bespoken host, excitement tingling through out my petite body.

“Call me once you get to Yen, I can’t wait!”

I smiled unlocking my phone to reply the text.

“Almost here…” I quickly typed back, pausing my music afterwards and pulling off my earphone in anticipation.

It didn’t take long before the bus pulled into a park and passengers readjusted and prepared to exit the stuffed bus.

“Pay your money come!” Came a baritone voice belonging to the driver who must have had a very bad day. His facial features were a mix of exhaustion and deep rooted annoyance.

I spread out the squeezed notes I had held on to, making sure they were still complete and intact. I definitely wasn’t up for an altercation with the scar faced driver.

It was already dusk. The last rays of sun retreating gradually across the sky and the dim street lights beginning to do some actual job.

BC837C50-B66E-4537-A531-A3AA62EED61A.webp
source

I held on tightly to my mini bag that hung loose from my shoulder. My phone was tucked away in my jacket pocket as I impatiently brushed past the never ending flow of people either returning from a long day at work or about to begin theirs.

I flagged down a tricycle after crossing to the adjacent lane of the roundabout. My phone vibrated in my pocket but I knew better than taking a call at this part of town so I ignored it, taking the front seat of the tricycle as it hurriedly swerved to avoid the “park boys” that were also hurrying towards him for their token.

The ride was short thankfully. I quickly pulled out my phone rest assured this was a safe zone, my stomach tingling with something close to butterflies . Chris had called me a couple times and left me a text that said he was leaving the office.

Chris.
My new found friend, awkward friendship I must admit. We had met for only the second time at a super market, I recognized him to be my friend’s boyfriend who had brought her a surprise on Val’s day. We exchanged pleasantries at the counter while I paid for my items pretending to not hear him offer to pay. Boss lady vibes!
We walked out together, my mind trying to come to a final decision if to stop by at Greg’s and maybe try to patch things up for the nth time. This was the 2nd time this month he was breaking up with me, maybe I really do need to work on my self!’

I remained transfixed at the entrance drowning in my thoughts. ‘What if he kicks me out like the last time and causes a scene again?’
‘But I can’t live without him…” I sighed, totally oblivious to the fact that Chris had still been standing in front of me.

7A454DC1-ED13-478D-A6E7-9BA23C3FE02F.jpeg
source

“A penny for your thought.” He laughed.“Are you going back to school now?” I nodded absent minded.
“Well I’m headed to OTK too, Berger is faster right?” He asked again.

“Oh, yes it is.” I replied, accepting the unsaid invitation, a part of me grateful for the intervention.
We took the bus together and this time I allowed him pay the fare. My boss lady self had slightly over spent and was only thankful he came up with the offer.

For about ten minutes into the ride we were both silent, he kept scrolling through his phone while I quietly listened to music through my earphone, until the bus took a sudden sharp swerve in an attempt to avoid a pothole. Everyone in the bus either gasped or shrieked, each cursing and sending stern warnings to the driver.

I on the other hand burst into a bout of laughter, turning a few heads.

D846675E-CE60-4F54-AB86-B557762A2953.jpeg

source

Why are you laughing? Chris asked, holding back laughter. “You’re weird, this girl”

And I laughed even harder. The sudden adrenaline and threats from the passengers was such a humor and even though he found it weird, he couldn’t help grinning at me.

We sparked up a conversation from there. He showed me older pictures of himself while I made silly remarks, we had a good laugh and I went on to play him my favorite song. He talked about music preferences, we went on and on, talking about our personal life and experiences until I eventually got to my junction and I had to say goodbye so we exchanged contacts.

A normal everyday encounter I never assumed would blossom into such an addictive friendship. That was a month ago now.

C2A6E8F7-EBD8-4883-A449-03EB582C0C1B.webp
source

I smiled and began texting Chris, informing him I had arrived and was going to see my mom since he hadn’t arrived.

This would be my first time seeing him again after the bus encounter and somewhere deep down I knew there might be more to this but will it be worth the try after Greg? Or just the beginning of another ‘heart mare’? Or perhaps I still need some more time heal? Oh well, they say you never know until you give it a try!

502E9FE6-C55F-4E04-9603-FD6ED93CF0B7.jpeg
source

Sort:  

Congratulations @steph.okoh! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 600 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 700 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from day 18
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

A girl listening to drill music ❤️
Is the story set in Lagos? Where's OTK?

No it’s Bayelsa state
Otk is Otuoke, Federal university Otuoke

You place us in the mindset of a young girl who is just learning about how to assess relationships and the men with whom she might want to form those relationships. Your description of her apprehension as she makes her way through a dangerous neighborhood is very effective.

Thank you for sharing this story of youth with the Ink Well community. Have you engaged with other members of the community? We expect our writers to support each other with feedback. Thank you!

Chris sounds dreamy.

I’ve always liked the name
The character is someone I like a lot too

Ah, I hadn't heard of a "heart mare" before. That's the perfect word for a terrible breakup. I enjoyed your story, @steph.okoh, and it ends on such a nice hopeful note.

Hahaha! ‘Heart mare’ exactly how I felt back then
I’m glad you enjoyed my story

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more