Darkness - Short fantasy story (Part 4)

in The Ink Well4 years ago (edited)

The memories were coming one after the other now, and I was no longer sure whether I was in a dream or it was a java.

After telling him how I ended up in a situation they found myself in, and all the details I could think of, that great warrior priest fell silent. He had somehow withdrawn from me and conversation we had, and it seemed to me that his gaze had wandered away from where we were. It was as if he had retreated deep into himself, remembering something as painful and terrible as the event I had told him.


The evening was getting fresh but the sky was clear, clear .. full of stars.
I'm sure I spent over an hour talking about that fatal event, because I was already feeling hungry. And then I became aware that I never stopped or thought I was asking him something. Who he is, and the people he travel with… though I may not have done it because everyone seemed friendly. At least I could see so much in their faces.


As my savior remained staring at the already dying fire near us, I decided to go for a short walk, if my stiff body would give me enough strength.


I woke up in the morning in some other wagon. I knew it by the green-colored attic, as opposed to the horse-drawn carriage that always offered me the sky. I looked around, I was alone. Through the small window I could see the river, which I did not notice last night. I wasn't even sure how I got here, I remember the conversation from last night and then nothing. Just like when you are a kid, you spend the whole day playing, and then just after dinner, fall asleep by the hearth and wake up on your bed the next day like a miracle. I felt significantly better, at least I thought so.


I went out and noticed that good-natured man timing his horses. He was alone. Children were playing by the river, while women were washing their clothes. The timber resonates with the space, making it somehow warm despite the cold north wind.


I approached the priest-warrior. '' Oh, boy. I see that a decent meal and a little sleep helped a lot. You look better now. The wounds on the face also seem to look a little better. This forest is rich in plants, I will try to find some later to make new balm, they might be able to help. I'm ready when you want to ask me what's in your eyes. Some truths cannot be hidden. Come on now, help me with the horses. ''


Somehow, my instinct was telling me that now was not the right time for my questions. I had to look at my situation a little better, and recover a little more. I was waiting.

A flash of light, a bright star, woke me up from that dream or memory. Now I couldn't remember clearly the details that I had relived a few moments ago, but I knew it had happened. The sounds were getting closer. The sound of a wheeled carriage and the unsolicited jokes of soldiers, their laughter. And weird some language, far in the background. In a strange rhythm, as if he were delivering judgment.


Source

Sort:  

Very deep and nice use of illustrations

I would love to read this, but I will go and find parts 1, 2, and 3 first! 😁

I look forward after that to hear your opinion! :D