Scared to Love (an original poetry)

in The Ink Well4 years ago



So much for short poems... I created a longer one today. What inspired me to write this is my conversation with someone this morning. She's clearly in love with someone, but still in two minds of her feelings. She's both eager and scared. It made me ask myself a few things as well.

image.png
IMAGE SOURCE


Scared To Love



I'm scared to show what I feel
Scared for my secret emotions to be revealed
I'm scared to love and get hurt
So I guard my heart; always on alert

Is love really worth a try?
Will it answer all my "why"
And if things go wrong
Would there still be a place to belong

It's hard to explain
But I thought of it again and again
It makes me lose my grip
As if going to an endless trip

An infinite loop of unanswered questions
As if traveling somewhere with no direction
Is surrendering to this feeling worth the risk
Or would it make me regret in a way so brisk


@tegoshei




I always believe that it's better to do take a risk and face the result be it good or bad, than regret for not giving it a shot. I have been bombarded with a lot of "what ifs" in the past because I tend not to do things because I was scared to fail or suffer the consequences. But when I think about it, even if you suffer some consequences, there will be some sort of ending or closure. However, "what ifs" will continuously haunt us. They may be suppressed, but there will come a time when all these what ifs emerge and make our mind miserable again. haha

That's just how I see things... perhaps based on my experience. So when I make a decision, it should be something I won't regret... even if I chose incorrectly, I am always ready to learn and try again. :)

Thanks for reading and it would be awesome to hear your thoughts. See you again! (^^,)/

Sort:  

The best way to live a life of no regrets is to take all our wrong decisions as lessons.

Couldn't agree more... :D