Creative Nonfiction in The Ink Well: Prompt #3

in The Ink Welllast year (edited)

woman-g4bb26f419_1280.jpg

Image source: Langll on Pixabay

Dear community,

Welcome to Prompt #3 in our creative nonfiction initiative. Thank you to everyone who contributed a nonfiction story last week! In case you missed the announcement about The Ink Well opening up to nonfiction stories, you can see it here.

We began the initiative as a trial. It's going well, and we are excited to continue! (And yes, we plan to update our rules soon to include non-fiction.)

Here's a quick overview of how it works:

Each week, we will provide a creative nonfiction prompt. You are also welcome to post other creative nonfiction pieces that are not based on the prompt. See the guidelines below.

In opening up our community to a broader range of content, we will take the stance that not every post will be curated. To be curated, your content should follow our guidelines, be at least 350 words, be written in English (or another language as well as the English translation) and — as much as possible — free of errors.

TheInkWell Section Seperator.png

What Is Creative Nonfiction?

There are many guides and resources online for getting to know this wonderful genre. It is truly about storytelling. The simple difference between creative nonfiction and fictional work is that it is not made up.

We like this definition from an article on creativenonfiction.org:

Simply put: Creative nonfiction is true stories, well told.

With creative nonfiction, you are using the literary and storytelling tools of a fiction writer to craft stories from real life experiences. Set the scene. Give the details. Profile the characters. Give us the dialog, as best you can remember it.

Ideas and inspiration:

We hope you are inspired!

TheInkWell Section Seperator.png

Guidelines for Creative Nonfiction Articles in The Ink Well

  1. Write creative nonfiction stories about real life, memories, or experiences.
  2. As with our fiction guidelines, we ask that articles be at least 350 words in length. Optimal length is 750-1500 words.
  3. Please read and edit your content before posting. It makes a big difference in how we reward work published in The Ink Well. (And we have some great guidelines for improving your grammar and fixing errors before you post in this article.)
  4. Please post directly in The Ink Well community, and post your link in a comment on this post.
  5. Please use the tag #creativenonfiction on these posts.

Here are some examples of what we are looking for:

  • Explore an idea that interests you, such as how childhood experiences shape us as adults.
  • Write about the study of dreams and what they mean, along with your own experience.
  • Tell about an experience from your life that profoundly changed you.
  • Write about a teacher who inspired you to overcome obstacles.

In other words, tell a story from real life.

Here’s what we are NOT looking for:

  • A picture of a flower or other posts focused on photography
  • A few paragraphs about what you ate for lunch
  • Recipes and how-to articles
  • Essays about religion or politics
  • Poetry

What will be muted:

  • Spam posts or plagiarism
  • Graphic violence
  • Lectures or proselytizing about religion, politics or morality

TheInkWell Section Seperator.png

Last Week's Creative Nonfiction Winners

Thank you to all who participated in last week's prompt: Food and Family!

Second Place: Wins 1000 Ecency Points

As I stepped into the house, mom was already furious with me as I was the closest to home but only came around on the evening before the occasion. I set out at once to fix the lightings to aid in cooking in a bid to soothe her anger. The night went smoothly with my siblings eventually trickling one after the other later in the night.

First Place: Wins 5 Hive

Despite being a Nigerian from the south, I haven’t used the triangular fishing tool before but tales of it still fill my head, one such is the fishing of crabs both hairy and non-hairy of which my father was an expert.

He told me how they’d make the cone-like trap from strings of raffia palm and keep it just close to the muddy floor of the swamp.

Congratulations, @diikaan and @buezor!

TheInkWell Section Seperator.png

The Ink Well Creative Nonfiction Writing Prompt #3: The Music in You

We are all shaped in one way or another by music, whether it is the songs our mothers sing to us in childhood, the singing voice we discover in the shower some foggy morning, or a musician that reached out and touched your soul and made you wake up to the power of music. Tell your story. Give us insight into the way music moves you, gives you joy, or helps you to connect with an otherwise dormant part of yourself. What is your music story?

Please use the tag #creativenonfiction on these posts.

Prizes!

  • The top creative nonfiction story of the week will receive 5 Hive
  • The second place story will receive 1,000 Ecency points

Deadline

You have a week, until the next prompt is posted, to post your creative nonfiction story in The Ink Well community.

See you in The Ink Well!

TheInkWell Section Seperator.png

Interested in joining our community? Start by joining Hive!

Join here at Hive Onboard

Already a Hive member? Click Subscribe at the top of The Ink Well community home page.

Questions? Ask The Ink Well on Discord.

TheInkWell Section Seperator.png

We invite lovers of creative writing to visit The Ink Well, a Hive community started by @raj808 and @stormlight24 and run by @jayna, @agmoore, @gracielaacevedo @yaziris and @itsostylish.

How to Follow Our Curation Trail

You can follow our curation trail by going to our hive.vote curation trail page and clicking the follow button.

How to Delegate to The Ink Well

We welcome delegations! These support our community in many ways, including helping us to provide support to quality content creators through curation and contests.

50 HP
100 HP
500 HP
1000 HP
5000 HP
click here
click here
click here
click here
click here

A big thank you to all of our delegators:
@jayna, @zeurich, @felt.buzz, @marcybetancourt, @agmoore, @marlyncabrera, @stormcharmer, @generikat, @iamraincrystal, @preparedwombat, @gracielaacevedo, @chocolatescorpi, @seeger, @itsostylish, @josemalavem, @morey-lezama, @sayury, @evagavilan2 and @popurri.

Capture.JPG
Click banner to visit our community page

Find us on twitter by clicking the banner above.

Sort:  


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Congrats, @buezor and @diikaan. Both of your stories were very descriptive, providing excellent details to give the reader a strong sense of place. Well done!

Thank you @jayna it was my first time trying this genre.

Thank you @jayna for the compliments and @theinkwell for the continuous innovation to give a good breeding space for our stories

Congrats to @buezor and @dikaan.

This week, music should inspire great prose from many of our writers. I'm looking forward to reading some great creative nonfiction.

Thank you @agmoore . Music cut across our every day living , so I'm optimistic a lot of experiences would be shared here.

Thank you @agmoore its a pleasure

Congratulations to the winners! Are poems also accepted for this week's prompt?

Hi @tozill. No, sorry, we only accept prose. Thank you for asking!

Okay.. thank you

Thank you so much @theinkwell for the opportunity. I really had a lot of fun joining the prompt last week.

I'm so glad you are here and sharing your work in The Ink Well, @volleyren20. Keep writing!

So do I sir @jayna .😊

Interesting initiative. Ha! This week's prompt seems to be just perfect for me. I just finished a little piano solo piece I'd been working on, and was gonna write a post about the inspiration behind it.

Cool beans!

Fantastic, @zeraton!

Congrats to the winners. I knew so well that so many people got inspired through listening music

Yes, I'm looking forward to seeing what our community members come up with for this prompt, @abigail04. Good luck! 😍

Intriguing!!! I love this initiative, especially how I know that memories can be so poignantly and lyrically told here on Hive! Be fun to see what I come up with....

Wonderful! Looking forward to seeing what you come up with, @riverflows!

It'll be out later but I'm not entirely happy with it for the purposes of this task. It ended up more - journalistic, perhaps, and lacks a narrative flow that I feel this challenge asks of me. But, tis what it is - not all writing can be successful, and I guess it'll just be a warming up for the next one. Thanks again for the opportunities to explore my writing.

I often feel that way about my stories. I totally understand! I can often whittle away on mine for weeks.

Congratulations to @buezor and @diikaan for the your excellent work.

Hoping to have the kindness of your readings I leave this story in the genre of creative nonfiction. https://peakd.com/hive-170798/@gracielaacevedo/moonlighting.

Congratulations to the winners @buezor and @diikaan 🌹
I know this week's theme will inspire many. The music is in all of us. I look forward to writing my story

This is really amazing, adding non fiction is an amazing thought. Leaving us with more and more stories to bring to the community. I love this, coming up with a story soon.

I'm happy that you are inspired, @marynn!

greetings, it's my first time, here my participation, I struggled a lot with the pronouns in different translators, but in the end I think it didn't work, I hope you like it. https://peakd.com/hive-170798/@tejimundo/the-last-song-eng-esp

Congratulations to all the winners🎉🎉

Oooh. Would also read and make my contribution…

I would be waiting

I just made my entry for this prompt and get engaged to blogs from Ma'am @abigail04 and Ma'am @tozill ..
Here's the link of my entry; https://peakd.com/hive-170798/@volleyren20/creative-nonfiction-writing-prompt3-someday-its-gonna-make-sense

This is my first attempt to write nonfiction. I don't know if I've done it right.😅
This is my entry: https://peakd.com/hive-170798/@idlemind/strum

I engaged with @tejimundo and @abigail04
Thank you in advance for reading.

Fortunately there is no right and wrong! 😄

It's so easing sharing my experience through music. I hope you all would like it.

https://peakd.com/hive-170798/@mrenglish/soul-for-real-or-inkwell-creative-nonfiction-3

Here's my entry for this week's creative nonfiction prompt

https://peakd.com/hive-170798/@diikaan/a-journey-through-sounds