Creative Nonfiction Prompt #31

in The Ink Well11 months ago (edited)

Creative Nonfiction in The Ink Well Prompt #31

Source

Welcome to The Ink Well's weekly creative nonfiction contest!

In this post, we'll announce the winners from last week's contest and provide the prompt for the coming week.


Before You Write Your Creative Nonfiction Post...


We ask that you read our Creative Nonfiction Tips post to learn about the creative nonfiction genre and review our guidelines.


Important notes:

  • Creative nonfiction stories are based on your real-life experiences.
  • We are looking for real short stories! Not advice columns, reports on crime or corruption in your city, observations on nature, recipes, religion, politics, or any other nonfiction content. Just real-life short stories.
  • Ideal story length is between 750 and 1500 words, but your story must be at least 350 words, at a minimum to be curated.
  • Please focus on quality content. Read and edit for errors! Use a grammar checker before you post your story.
  • We expect everyone who posts in The Ink Well to read and comment on at least two other stories for each one published.
  • Do not post stories featuring physical abuse, graphic violence, erotica or NSFW content.

divider

Last Week's Creative Nonfiction Winners

Thank you to all who participated in last week's prompt Agreement

Last week's participants

@abigail04@morey-lezama@bemier
@assegai@inessita@djoi
@lightpen@erh.germany@mrenglish
@nelson-george@princessbusayo@nkemakonam89
@abdul-qudus@nancybriti1@kinganny
@dianelson@funshee@kemmyb
@blessworld@ubani@marriot5464
@timix648@jhymi@treasuree
@cool08@fantom22@jhymi
@glorydee@rukkie@rammargarita
@aloysiusmbaba@wallay@minhajulmredol
@ibbtammy@jjmusa2004@amiegeoffrey
@wongi@samiwrites@marilour

Honorable Mentions of the Week

@marriot5464
Chukwuma

Unfortunately, I later found out that the real reason he was canceling with Funmi was because he wanted time alone with a new girl he was crushing on. As fate would have it, I knew the girl. In fact, everyone in our apartment complex knew the girl. She was the kind that sticks only when she feels a guy is rich. As I can tell, Chukwuma was just a struggling student as I am and so dropping Adaeze for a much hotter girl who cared only if you can spend money on her was a trip on a wrong track. Besides from what he told me he had already created an impression to the said girl that he was rich, at least to a level.

@timix648
Solely mismatched an everlasting agreement

From that day forward, we became experts in the art of concealment. We procured specific stockings that appeared jumbled on the surface but were meticulously harmonized underneath. It was similar to a veiled fashion dialect that only the both of us comprehended. Capturing each other's gaze with an affirmative nod communicated silently, signifying that our eccentric agreement remained unbroken.

@wongi
The agreement of love

Soon enough, the once nonchalant and indifferent youth who always wanted to sit at the back, was now sitting in front, reading minutes and addressing fellow people. Everything was a mess in the beginning, but within months, I adjusted properly into my new role.

@jhymi
Loyalty how unsavoury

Now, I knew that I’d just been served an unadulterated emotional blackmail. She knew that I knew it too but there was nothing I could do. She’d trapped me with the friend card. So after making her promise that it was going to be a one-time thing, I agreed to cover up for her.

Third Place: Wins 2 Hive

Our third place winner is @lightpen, with the story:

Agreement with my pupils

Source

They swung into action and different answers were presented to me which were incorrect. I waited for everyone to submit after giving them adequate time to provide a solution to the question. David's solution was the last that I marked and to my surprise, he solved it correctly. I was amazed. I immediately called him and gave him a marker to solve what he had in his book on the board. He confidently solved the question on the board with enough explanation to other pupils to understand.

Second Place: Wins 3 Hive

Our second place winner is @morey-lezama, with the story:

Chronicle of heartbreak and friendship

Source

It was at that moment of uneasiness and disenchantment that the need to write was born. Writing became a refuge, a way to give voice to the feelings and emotions that had flooded me. Words became allies, a means to process the lived experience and find meaning in the chaos.

First Place: Wins 5 Hive

Our first place winner is @erh.germany, with the story:

Marriage rules without ever explicitly mentioning them

Source Own

My husband offered himself to me as a training ground and partner. Of course, he didn't tell me so, because if he had told me that he was offering himself to me as someone who would give me an opportunity to mature and learn how to deal with provocation, that would have been an anticipatory provocation for which I would have immediately closed myself off, as it would have seemed arrogant, conceited and inappropriate.

divider

This Week's Prompt #31:

Scent

Our sense of the environment and even our connections to people, relationships and emotions are often dictated by definitive scents, aromas or perfumes.

This week we ask you to use any of the words associated with scent or smell, either good or bad, to write a personal story.

For this topic there are several possible approaches. For example:

  • Tell us how a certain aroma conjures a beautiful memory, which you relish.
  • Perhaps you sensed that something was wrong in a certain situation because you could just "smell the rot."
  • Maybe your sense of enjoyment is heightened by the anticipation brought on by aromas emanating from the kitchen prior to a feast.
  • The smell of smoke from your grandfather's pipe always alerted you to his presence and brought joy to your heart.

Tell us about it!

Have fun and good luck! We look forward to reading your stories.

divider

Contest Rules

  • You have 6 days to write your story from the date of this prompt post. Be sure to check the deadline countdown.
  • Write a real-life story with the creative elements of fiction, like characters, dialogue, scene setting and a story conflict.
  • Post your story in The Ink Well Community.
  • Please use the tags #creativenonfiction and #inkwellprompt on these posts. Other possible tags: #writing #inkwellprompt #nonfiction
  • Stories must be written in English. If you've translated the post, it's best to add the original version below the translation. Do not write mixed language paragraphs.
  • Read and comment on at least two stories in the community. Add a link to your story as a comment on this post.

And be sure to remember to join The Ink Well community!

divider

Prizes

Prizes are only for stories written for this week's prompt

  • First place : 5 Hive.
  • Second place : 3 Hive.
  • Third place : 2 Hive.
divider

Interested in joining our community? Start by joining Hive!

Join here at Hive Onboard.

Already a Hive member? Click Subscribe at the top of The Ink Well community home page.

Questions? Ask The Ink Well on Discord .

inkwell

We invite lovers of creative writing to visit The Ink Well, a Hive community started by @raj808 and @stormlight24 and run by @jayna, @millycf1976, @gracielaacevedo, @grindan, @yaziris and @itsostylish.

How to Follow Our Curation Trail

You can follow our curation trail by going to our hive.vote curation trail page and clicking the follow button.

How to Delegate to The Ink Well

We welcome delegations! These support our community in many ways, including helping us to provide support to quality content creators through curation and contests.

50 HP100 HP500 HP1000 HP5000 HP

A big thank you to all of our delegators:

@jayna, @felt.buzz, @zeurich, @marcybetancourt, @agmoore, @marlyncabrera, @stormcharmer, @generikat, @iamraincrystal, @preparedwombat, @gracielaacevedo, @chocolatescorpi, @samsmith1971, @grindan, @jackdeathblack, @josemalavem, @riverflows, @itsostylish, @stuartcturnbull, @morey-lezama, @evagavilan2, @popurri, and @mrenglish.

twitterbannerFind us on twitter by clicking the banner above.

Sort:  
There are 2 pages
Pages

My entry to the prompt:
https://ecency.com/hive-170798/@marynn/sad-feeling-creative-nonfiction-prompt?referral=marynn

I engaged in these authors' posts @inessita
and @universoperdido

Once more, congratulations to all the winners and honourable mentions.

Congratulations to all the winners

Greetings respectable writers
My congratulations to the winners and honorable mentions 👏👏👏👏
Happy weekend

Congratulations to the winners. Thank you @theinkwell for the mention.

Thank you @theinkwell for providing the opportunity. My sincere appreciation to you and the entire team for finding my story worthy of recognition and reward. I am motivated to keep writing.

Congrats to all the winners.
Thanks to @inkwell for the mention.
Have a great weekend.

Greetings 🙏 and congratulations 🎉 to our winners and honorable mentions.

Congratulations to all winners and participants!

Congratulations!! Thanks @inkwell

How gratifying, thank you very much! It was a lot of fun to report from my marriage and I am always delighted when I can respond spontaneously to a prompt which fitted so distinctly well with what I had to tell.
Congratulations also to the others.
Interesting, the catchword you chose for this week.

I am very grateful for the award and appreciation. I congratulate all who participated and especially the winners. At the same time, I take this opportunity to leave here my participation in the 31st call for entries.

Congratulations to the winners. You guys did an amazing job.

congratulations to the winners. we would win one day

My story: https://ecency.com/hive-170798/@diebitch/compliscent
I engaged with dianelson and maryann

My entry participation for this weeks prompt. Thanks for such memory awakening prompt.

https://peakd.com/hive-170798/@vanessakor/creative-nonfiction-sundays-at-aunt-chi-s-estate

I loved these @universoperdido and @nancybriti1 entries.

Cordial greetings respected writers.
Here is my participation
https://ecency.com/hive-170798/@marilour/your-scents-in-my-memories

Greetings, community. This is my first time posting in your space and I wanted to do it with this non-fiction story to participate in this week's challenge. I hope you like it.

https://peakd.com/hive-170798/@juniorgomez/eng-esp-my-work-at-the-gas-station

Congratulations to the winners and honorable mentions.
I also wrote a story for this week's non-fiction prompt. Here's the link: https://hive.blog/hive-170798/@yuki-nee/a-sweet-scented-reminder-an-inkwell-non-fiction-story

Congratulations to the winners.
😍😍

congratulations to the winners too

Congratulations to all winners and honorable mentions😊😊

Here's my entry:
https://peakd.com/hive-170798/@smc.arike.oba/transfixed-a-short-story-non-fiction

Congratulations to the winners of last week.
Here is my post
https://ecency.com/hive-170798/@wallay/scent-creativenonfiction

Is this prompt now expired?

My entry for this prompt:\

https://peakd.com/hive-170798/@mineopoly/joes-pickle

I'm having fun engaging with random stories in the inkwell. This is definitely a random story.

There are 2 pages
Pages