The Ink Well Highlights Magazine # 61

in The Ink Well2 years ago

TheInkWellMagazine.png

Image modified using a picture by Becca Clark from Pixabay

This periodic magazine highlights a small selection of short stories posted to The Ink Well community that stood out and were awarded a Curie vote. Thank you to all authors in The Ink Well for sharing your creative work!

Important Note

We are showcasing authors who have contributed well-written and edited stories, have read and commented on the work of other authors and comply with all of the community rules posted on our home page. These activities help our community thrive and grow!

The following are just a few of our favorite stories from June 29 to July 5 / 2022.

TheInkWell Section Seperator.png

Featured Author: @stellageorge
The Voice In My Head

image.png

Casey Horner on Unsplash

ARYA!
I look up, rapidly scanning the trees as my heart beat begins to accelerate, I hear leaves rustle in a tree and I know deep inside me it has nothing to do with air.
Breathing slowly I take careful steps towards the tree whose leaves keep rustling. To my shock I hear a laugh, so faint I almost didn't think about it, the tree leaves all move together this time confusing me and stopping me in my tracks.
Which tree was it? - @stellageorge

TheInkWell Section Seperator.png

Featured Author: @mrnightmare.net
My Girlfriend is a Witch?

image.png

When our eyes met and she did notice I was there looking at her. She immediately left like a wild animal who saw a human being with a fearful expression. I left and wondered why so? I looked at my reflection in the water and asked myself.
"Am I that ugly?" - @mrnightmare.net

TheInkWell Section Seperator.png

Featured Author: @itsostylish

Lost

image.png

Image source

Whooo, my mom knew the wild-eyed woman’s name. Stranger and weirder, I felt my jaw drop and simply stared at the two of them.
“Maxine, you’ve broken your promises, stolen my son and destroyed my life. It’s about time that someone told the boy the truth, isn’t it?”
“Whose truth?” My mother looked pale but determined in the face of this accusation.
“You promised me…” The air seemed to drain, her puffed up stance dissipated. Fat tears squeezed down her cheeks, and she crumbled into a ball of sorrow before our eyes.- @itsostylish

TheInkWell Section Seperator.png

Featured Author: @kei2
Eden!

image.png

Source

What followed was the sound of gushing water, chirping birds, and crickets. The air smelled fresh and rejuvenating. The rock split open completely to reveal a huge waterfall surrounded by the thickest and most evergreen vegetation I had ever seen. We saw all kinds of animals and flowers of different colors. It was everything. The special tree was the tree of knowledge.- @kei2

TheInkWell Section Seperator.png

Featured Author: @restcity
Mama's Shadow

image.png

Linden imagined a cannon from enemy pirates shooting at her Pop’s pirate boat. “YARRRR!” he would yell, shanking his sword in the air as his boat sank, his crew running around like mad.
“But… why didn’t he just sail to the U.K. with his pirate crew!?” Linden asked.
Mama lifted her head up. “What pirate crew?”
“The one Pop works ‘On Board’ with!”
“Linden, your father works ‘Abroad’, not ‘on board’ and he doesn’t have a pirate crew.” Mama fell back into her arms and cried harder, her body bouncing as she wailed.
Linden teared up. Pop couldn’t be gone! Not just like that! Not without saying goodbye. - @restcity

TheInkWell Section Seperator.png

Featured Author: @samdove

My Visit To Blue Planet

image.png

Source

I kept sending messages and various data for a month, but there was no response. One night, I felt that someone wanted to tell me something. When I opened my eyes, I found myself on a new planet. It shocked me to see that this was the same blue planet. The people there were different in appearance. They had square eyes, long thin nails, and thick blue skin.
A few of them moved towards me, but there was no fear in my mind. There was no expression on their faces. The houses on that planet were made of blue semi-liquid gas. I put on my mask and I prepared myself to face them. - @samdove

TheInkWell Section Seperator.png

Thank you for reading our short story highlights magazine!

@jayna, @agmoore, @gracielaacevedo and @yaziris

p.s. You can see the past magazines here: #1, #2, #3, #4, #5, #6, #7, #8, #9, #10, #11, #12, #13, #14, #15, #16, #17, #18, #19, #20, #21, #22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, , 41, 42, , 43, 44, 45, 46,47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60

TheInkWell Section Seperator.png

Interested in joining our community? Start by joining Hive!

Join here at Hive Onboard

Already a Hive member? Click Subscribe at the top of The Ink Well community home page.

Questions? Ask The Ink Well on Discord.

TheInkWell Section Seperator.png

We invite lovers of creative writing to visit The Ink Well, a Hive community started by @raj808 and @stormlight24 and run by @jayna, @agmoore, @gracielaacevedo and @yaziris.

How to Follow Our Curation Trail

You can follow our curation trail by going to our hive.vote curation trail page and clicking the follow button.

How to Delegate to The Ink Well

We welcome delegations! These support our community in many ways, including helping us to provide support to quality content creators through curation and contests.

50 HP
100 HP
500 HP
1000 HP
5000 HP
click here
click here
click here
click here
click here

A big thank you to all of our delegators:
@zeurich, @jayna, @felt.buzz, @marcybetancourt, @marlyncabrera, @stormcharmer, @generikat, @agmoore, @iamraincrystal, @preparedwombat, @gracielaacevedo, @chocolatescorpi, @kirlos, @josemalavem, @morey-lezama, @sayury, @evagavilan2 and @deraaa.

Capture.JPG
Click banner to visit our community page

Find us on twitter by clicking the banner above.

Sort:  

Congratulations to all the selected authors. you are great. and let's all members to keep the spirit of writing.

I am very grateful to be mentioned in the @inkwell magazine.
Thank you very much.
Congratulations to the other exceptional authors mentioned here too.