Chasing My Shadow! - Poetry

KVDS6253.JPG


Pen to Paper,
I wait!

For each drop to weave it's way into the bottomless pit,
Filling up dreams,
that never leave the page,
opening doors that take the air away!

Thoughts swim onwards
and I am left,
left to scramble after requests that etch upon my skin,

seeking remembrance,
as the ink fades and the words cease to exist within.

A distant memory of what once was,

I scale these walls,
dragging the cobwebs with me,

chasing my shadow,
chasing that version of myself, that held on too tight,

seeking answers
that help me forget.

My pen falls
my page is full
this was always over,
before it begun!


The beautiful artwork was drawn by my super creative friend Anna, after she read one of my poems. But it fits in with the cycling nature of this poem as well.


image.png




Join The Best Natural Health Community on Hive

DESERT ADVENTURE.png

Sort:  

@trucklife-family, Every Individual seek for answers which can free them from their Invisible Cages. Stay blessed always.

What a gorgeous drawing!!! See, your poems inspire others to create!

"Dragging the cobwebs with me..." - Damn - LOL - I think I do that rather a lot! 😆

What a lovely connection between the image (stunning!) and your poem.