"Clean" prompt story

in The Ink Welllast year

Some years back, I met an old friend whom I'd not seen for a very long time. In the course of our discussion, reliving old memories, he hinted of a maize milling plant at Awka town that was moribund for many years. As a maize grit miller myself, that aroused my interest. The zeal to revive the plant filled my heart.

"I'll be willing to restart that plant if given the opportunity," I said.

My friend said he knew the general manager of the company, and that they had been searching for a miller to resuscitate the plant.

"If you're willing, I'll get in touch with them," he replied.

"Go ahead," I assured.

Within few weeks, the general manager called me on phone and requested that I should come for a business chat, having been told about me by my friend.

The next Saturday, I was on my way to Awka. I hadn't been there before so, I keep my phone busy trying to get to the company. I reached there around 1:25pm.

When I approached the gateman he directed me to the reception. After I explained my mission, the receptionist ushered me into the general manager's office. It was as if I entered an open space. The office was what I can call a mini-hall - very spacious. With his table at the far end of the office, getting to him took an unusual long time. On getting close to him, he stood up to welcome me.

He was such a bulky fellow. Could that be why he was given such a big office? I asked in my mind. He stepped out and we shook hands.

He introduced himself as a consultant by profession.
I replied that I was a miller.

He opened up, saying their mill had been out of work for more than 15 years, and that they had been searching for a maize miller to start the operation again.

"Let's go and see the plant," I requested.

He lifted his bulky body from the chair which made some squeaking noise, and led me on. His slight limping was noticeable due to his huge nature.

Looking at the machines, they were very clean, so clean you will think they had no issues.

As I started inspecting them one after the other, he asked, "Can these machines work again after being out of use for such a long time?"

Knowing every detail of the machines, I told him they would hardly have problems that could not be resolved.

''Do you have an electrician?" I asked steering at the network of pipes overhead.

"Yes," he responded.

"What of a welder?"

"We have."

"A technician?"

"Sure," he replied, nodding his head.

"Good. We need four more factory workers," I said with an air of satisfaction.

"No problem," he replied as we turned to leave.

Finally, back in his office we scheduled another day I would come to start the work. I couldn't go back to Umuahia where I came from that same day because it was late when we finished. I had to stay in their guest house.

On the appointed date, I went back to Awka, ready to bring back life to the mill. All the workers, including the general manager were there waiting when I arrived.

I started with the first machine, the degerminator. The technician loosed the casing. Inside was so dirty, full of dust and debris in sharp contrast to the outside look.

I asked the factory workers to start cleaning it, to dust off every particle of dirt.

In fact, it was the same issue with all the machines. On the outside, they were clean but, inside, dust and dirt had accumulated over the years due to lack of use. We could not clean all the machines that day. They included the sievers, pneumatic duster, densimetric table, roller mills, purifiers and the rest.

It took us three days to have a thorough cleaning exercise before checking their functionalities. Many of the machine motors were bad, and had to be sent to the electrician.

Some pipes were leaking. The welder handled that. Some rolls of the roller mills had to be properly fixed.

When we had done all that should be done, the test run started. There were smiles on everyone's face as soon as we powered the mill because everything started working smoothly.

Sort:  

It’s interesting that the machines were clean on the outside, but no inside. You must’ve had a devil of a job to get everything working like clockwork. Endeavour is commendable, and you obviously, tried your level best with eventual success.

I'm happy to read this your encouraging remark. Thanks.

That's how certain things are in life; the outside may be clean and attractive but the inside is nothing to write home about. It's a good thing that you thought it wise to clean the machines internally before resuming work in full swing.

How is the company going?

Not bad at all. Thanks.

You're very much welcome ✨