Sort:  

Hello @ubani1 !
A story full of mystery. At the end of reading it the reader wonders about the veracity of the story that Aunt May has told the girl.
We like the girl's defending herself, the description of Timber Hills.

Thanks for posting it on @theinkwell!
We love seeing your comments on your fellow writers' posts.

Greetings @ubani1 !
In this land of Timber Hills everything is possible. Now that she has found her mother she can be more protected in this mysterious place.

I liked the way you reveal the reality as far as the aunt is concerned.
Thank you for posting your story.

I thought I felt sadness and sympathy while reading the story. I was right, the ending poured my thoughts with so much sadness when she called her late mom died long ago.

Interesting story.

Oh my, @ubani1. I am left with so many questions. At first I was not sure who was viewing that vivid scene of mud and rain. (Well done on the scene setting for your mystery!) And then I see that it is three people — Aunt May, the protagonist (her niece) named Joyce, and a third person named Jenny. But who is Jenny, and where does she go when Aunt May goes to the shop? And then in the end, how could it be her mother who is no longer living? Does this mean Joyce died or that her mother is still alive...?

You have some wonderful story elements here. The scene setting, characters, conflict and suspense are very well done! I only wish you had given us just a bit more to resolve your story. But its intensity and drama are highly captivating! I really enjoyed reading it.

The tragedy of all of this burst forth to reveal the need for the mother to come to light again! After all this time, she has been a guardian over her daughter. Now, we of course would wonder where she has been! Why has she been hiding in plain sight all this time? Will it continue?