theinkwell fiction challenge | Small prices.

in The Ink Well4 years ago

Griffin from openclipart.org

Citizen Core v1.05.1 loading...
sense & sense-ability 2.0r6...success
public...
--safety...success
--crime prevention...success
--persona...success
--awareness overlay...success

I'm not awake. You can't make me.

"Good Morning Geronimo. Today is a non-work day.

Nope too early going back to sleep.

"I have loaded your social media modules for your enjoyment."

beeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeep
"Going to get up yet?"

"no"
beeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee

"Fuck, fuck fuck."

eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeep

"Ok, OK, Okay." My eyes flipped open and the room decoration loaded almost instantly. Today's decorations were too sparkly for my tastes. "Citizen stop decorations." The decorations unloaded. My walls were bare again. "Citizen disable decorations."

"Auto-load for decorations disabled."

"You said that yesterday and the day before."

"Did I?"

"Yes, file bug report with all logs for the past 3 days."

"Filed."

"Place order for my normal food supplies for the week. Pick 3 new items to try."

"That will be 0.0000005 ETH and 0.00000008 ETH transaction fee." A large confirmation box appeared in front of my face. I passed my hand through the approval area. It was stupid that you would have to pay for the privilege of spending your allotment. But is what the people had voted for and approved.

"Payment rejected." I tried again same result.

"Crap." I should have more than enough to purchase my week of groceries. "Show allotment balance."

Another box appeared in the air. Clearly showing a balance of 0.000043 ETH which was still most of my allotment and correct as far as I could tell. Guess I would have to actually go to the market.

I got ready slowly. Reading my socials and feeds. Getting up to speed with the world. There had been a crackdown on the anti-citizen people again. The media said they all hated our way of life. When where people going to learn the Citizen system wasn't bad.

You got free money you could do work if you could find it. If not the money was just enough to take care of your needs. If you watched your transfer fees and planned ahead, there would be enough for extra fun.

I stepped out of my small apartment. The ads all blazed to life. Squawking at me to buy this or that.

"Citizen start ad blocker. Set ad opacity and volume to zero."

"Third party module loaded. Preferences set."

The ads faded away. I made my way down the 35 floors to the market at the bottom. Shopping is boring but necessary. I queued my order up. The robots whirled to life. Pulling all the requested items in easy to reuse bags for which you got a discount for actually reusing.

"That will be 0.00000045 ETH and 0.00000007 ETH transaction fee." A large confirmation box appeared in front of my face. I passed my hand through the approval area.

"Payment rejected." I tried again same result. I needed to eat. It would be bad if this didn't work.

"Citizen. File bug report with all logs since the beginning of the day."

"Filed."

The bots looked sad, slowly returning all the stuff I just ordered. I was sad there wasn't a lot of food left in my apartment. I could make it a few days. Hopefully they will have fixed the bug by then.

I made my way back into the elevator to make my way apartment. Two men in suits made their way over to me.

"Geronimo Alvarez?" The one on the right asked.

"Yes."

"Congrats you're the best bug hunter around. And we" he pointed at the other man, "here to hire you."

A job an honest to goodness job. I hadn't had one in years. Get your mind straight calm down. "What do I have to do?"

"Just keep finding bugs and reporting them." So these people worked for Citizen and I would too.

"What is the offer?"

"Deposit of 0.0005 ETH for continued bug hunting services per year." A thousand times my week food budget. Yes, please. I was going to move up in the world. Calm down. A large confirmation box appeared in front of my face.

"Anything else?"

"You'll be among the first to get the latest versions of Citizen." That wasn't so bad at all. Especially if I was going to find bugs.

I passed my hand through the approval area.

"Contract accepted."

"Deposit confirmed"

"Citizen Update in progress."

"Thanks for helping us catch those terrorist scum." The second less talkative guy said. "We got most of them because of the changes they made on your system. Wouldn't have happened without you."

Citizen Core v1.06 loading...
sense & sense-ability 2.0r7...success
public...
--safety...success
--crime prevention...success
--persona...success
--awareness overlay...success
--illegal mods...removed

"Have a great day, kid. Enjoy your new life."

All the ads were back and at full volume. Small price to pay to have the latest and greatest and help make the world a better place. With the new job I could move out of this joint to someplace without them. Sometimes you just win.

Sort:  

Sometimes you just win.

😁

You might want to reconsider the swear words.
Nice story, like the way you wove the currency transactions into it.

I have seen that advise before given by famous authors and editors. While not all words are just words. Such as words at attack a person. "Swear words" turn into an almost sacred things which anyone has the instant right to be offended by. Most things called "swear words" are just the bias of previous generations leaking into our world view. Remember it is also not right to question authority. My issue is that by not using "swear words" we give them more power over us.

We should be working to remove their sacred status. Words that dare not be said are dangerous.

Swear words are important and serve a purpose and there is a place for them. However, they are often used gratuitously and without thought and, sometimes, it is simply lazy writing. The Ink Well plans to become a go-to destination on the Internet for stunning short stories and poetry where writers, most of whom earn very little and nearly all of whom are not here yet, are able to earn an alternative long-tail income. We want to encourage the best writing and editing, using words thoughtfully and deliberately, whichever words they may be.
!ENGAGE 30

Congratulations @verbalshadow! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 3000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 3250 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!