Tomorrow will take care of itself

Amina opened the pot & checked the beans on the stove to see if it was done. It was breaking, already soft enough to add the ingredients and palm oil. She covered the pot as her phone rang, she looked out of the kitchen window; dusk was slowly purpling the sky & birds were returning to nest.


emotional-50309_640.jpg
Pixabay


"When are you coming home?" She asked as soon as she picked up the phone.

"Is that how to talk to your husband? I have not even said hi and you're already attacking me!" The man on the other side replied.

"Attack you? Why will I your humble wife attack you? Am I mad? I asked because I know you have an excuse. Is it work? Are you on a deadline or are you traveling this night to check another new plant in Kafachan?" She asked, walking out of the kitchen into a small parlour.

"Something is wrong with you. You've too much time in your hands that's why you can look for trouble. Anyway…" the man stopped halfway.

"You're what is wrong with me, Bayo. You're what is wrong with me! Did I marry a ghost? When was the last time you spent a week in this house? Ehn, I ask you? When? So I should be happy that I don't get to spend time with my husband?" She asked.

"Where is all this attitude coming from? I was at home all through last week, wasn't I? What did you do? You decided to go visit your parents. Now you're accusing me?" The man replied.

"Why didn't you stop me? Why didn't you say you want me to stay. I would have stayed," She replied.

"See I don't have time for this nonsense. My car broke down at Mofor junction. Can you come and pick me?" the man asked.

"Oh so I'm talking nonsense? No problem. I'm coming to pick you so nobody will say I'm the one that sent armed robbers to rob you," she replied.

"Your own is to just talk anyhow. Please hurry," the man said.

Amina frowned at the phone as the call ended then she perceived the aroma of burning beans. She shouted and rushed to the pot, turned off the stove and carefully removed the cover. All was a black ruin within. Smoke filled the kitchen.

She sighed and left the kitchen. She entered the parlour again, picked her car keys from the low table and left the house.

Ten minutes later, she arrived at Mofor junction. She saw her husband's car but the man was nowhere to be found. She pinned down her doors and dialled her husband's number.

"Where are you?" She asked as soon as he picked.

"It is only God that will save you, this woman. You've no courtesy at all," Bayo replied.

"I agree. Courteous is your baptism name, sir. Curtis Jackson. 15 cent or is it 15 Kobo? Oga where are you? I'm parked near your car. You know I don't like coming out at night, especially to this area," she replied.

Bayo chuckled on the other end.

"You're not nice sha. It is me you're calling 15 Kobo? Drive down to the tipper garage. I'm…" the man was stopped halfway.

"You went to drink beer? Bayo! You made me leave the house by this time of the night while you're busy drowning yourself in alcohol? Are you okay?" Amina was angry now.

"Calm down abeg. I have something to show you. Drive down, I'm waiting," the man replied.

Amina shook her head and drove towards the said garage. As she got closer, she saw more and more people and cars moving. It was as if a party was going on somewhere. This is a good place for pickpockets and drunks, she thought to herself as she drew near. Her doors were still locked but her eyes roved around carefully observing anyone who came too close to her car.

Someone banged on the door & she almost jumped out of her skin. She looked around and found Bayo grinning on the passenger side. He motioned for her to open the door. She motioned back: here? He nodded. She unlocked the door and he jumped in. He was laughing already.

"You should see your face. You're so terrified," he said.

"What are we doing here, oga? I have a pot of burnt beans to soak and dinner to prepare," she asked.

"Genus is in town," Bayo said.

Everything evaporated from Amin's mind. All of a sudden, she was back at the concert three years ago, the concert where she met Bayo and they sang and danced all through the night. It was the most beautiful night of her life and the last time she ever went out at night. Later, they were robbed and had to sit at the back of a truck loaded with rams in order to get home. It was still the most beautiful night of her life, filled with adventure and terror though.

She eyed her husband.

"Is your car really bad?" she asked.

"Yes it is. Do you think I'd leave it there just to spite you? But see, Genus is in town and he is on stage right now at Ekete Waterside," Bayo replied.

"Sometimes I wonder if I married a boy or a man? So you left your car at a spot in town everyone knows to be the den of thieves, dragged me out of the house at this ungodly hour just so we can dance to Genus?" She asked.

"Yes," Bayo replied smiling.

"How did I even meet you?" She asked, then she started the car. "Where do I park?" She added.

Bayo burst into laughter and kissed her cheek. She pushed him away, trying hard to frown but smiling anyway.

"You will never grow, you this man," she muttered.

"Old age is overrated, babe. Happy anniversary!" he replied, giving her a small wrapped gift.

"Oh my God! I thought you forgot! You are so annoying Bayo Momodu," she said then she burst into tears.

"This crying will not work o. Where's my anniversary gift?" Bayo asked.

Amina laughed and wiped her eyes. She opened the glove compartment and pulled out two slips. She passed them to Bayo.

"These are tickets to the concert! How did you get them?!" He asked excited.

"That week I went to my parents, I actually went to Jackie's place. You know she works in event management and stuff. Well she got me the tickets at the last minute when she heard it was my anniversary gift to one knucklehead, she calls her elder brother," Amina replied.

"Awwwwn, you're so sweet. Thanks babe. Okay with these tickets, we can get better parking," he replied.

"How where you planning on getting us into the concert before, this man?" She asked, suspicious.

"There's this part of the barbed wire fence that is open. We just have to crawl under it and we will be dancing," Bayo replied.

"God I hate you," Amina replied.

"I know & the feeling is mutual," he replied, kissing her.

They showed their tickets to the security and they were waved into the parking spot. After locking the car properly, the couple joined the throng of people heading to where the music was crooning. Among all that loud hum & groan, Amina & Bayo Momodu danced, light in their eyes, fire in their limbs, sweat in their armpits.

Meanwhile, at Mofor junction, a towing van slowly dragged a car towards the Ovwain police station. Tomorrow will take care of itself. Today is all anyone has.

Sort:  

@warpedpoetic wow what a wounder full, sweet and romantic story I feel as a part of the story.

I'm glad you liked it.

Aww, they argue like an old married couple already! Just goes to show a little spat doesn't mean the relationship is bad. They sure had a slightly chaotic time😁

Yeah I enjoy such kind of arguments with no rancour attached

I was captivated all along. Romantic love is sweet and a mystery

Truly it is and beautiful too

This is hilarious and romantic at th same time. The setting and plot is everything 🥵. I love how they play and tease each other without getting upset. Really nice read❣️

I guess because they know and understand each other. They could easily offend. You just need to change the people and this banter would be a fight.

You just need to change the people and this banter would be a fight.

Lol. Understanding is everything in a relationship when it's absent, then there'll always be war🤣.

You know it.

Brilliant! Brimming with wit and romance. Gorgeous 🤗❤️💕

Thank you 🖤. Thought to write something bright this time.

An ultra-fun romp into a romance that is so real we can hear the - I-love-you, echoing at blast-volume. Funny, insightful and totally “autenthic”. This story is a grin-a-minute. Absolutely delightful and perfectly paced. You are such an accomplished author and this piece highlights all your shine.

Please remember to comment on the works’ of other authors in the community.

I thank you. It was a good day to write about love. I've not done that in a while.

Hello @warpedpoetic, please link this amazing story to the community’s prompt post. I’m relying on you, please ❤️💕❤️❤️💕🌸🌸❤️🌸🌿🌿🌸🌸🌱🌿🌿

We should sometimes have little manners while taking at our wives. Women should always have this in mind just to keep everyone happy.