A Strike Of Luck

in The Ink Well11 months ago

"I'm fine, Nellie. The doctor said it would be good for me to go home. Anyway, there's nothing else they need to do. I'm not ill, I just got struck by lightning."

Nellie leaned over, and inspected the bandage on his right shoulder. "Well, I guess it can't hurt if you come home. As long as you promise to rest. But the first time I catch you rattling around the house with that toolbox of yours, William Bellows Christopherson, it's right back to Piersville Memorial for you!"

He winced. "When have I ever disobeyed you, Dear?"

She crossed her arms over her chest, and scowled. "Only every time I let you out of my sight. Remember when you decided I needed a bigger kitchen, so you knocked out the wall? Well now I have a big kitchen all right, but no dining room to entertain all those guests I'm able to cook for."

His face fell. "I know, I should've built the addition first. But I just couldn't bear to see you struggling to work in such a confined space. You didn't even have enough shelf space for your basic appliances."

Her face softened. "I know you were only trying to help. Can you walk, Will?"

He quickly sat up. "Did you bring my clothes, Nellie?"

"They're right here. But don't get any ideas, it's right into pajamas as soon as you're home."

"That's fine, I'm just glad to stretch my legs a little, and sleep in my own bed tonight."

Thirty minutes later, they pulled into the driveway. Will got out, and looked at his tidy little home. "The lawn needs mowing..."

"Not by you it doesn't! Do you remember our agreement?" she whispered.

He took a step back, and gulped. "Of course, Dear.

As he entered the living room, a Yorkie looked up. "Hello, Jerry. I've missed you."

A deep voice spoke, from everywhere and yet nowhere. "You can talk?"

Will's eyes widened. "Who said that?"

"I didn't say anything, Dear." a female voice called out.

"Oh, I was just saying hello to Jerry."

Nellie walked into the room, and looked between the dog and man, eyebrows raised. "I guess I misunderstood you..."

Will sighed. "I think I'm going to relax on the couch for a while. Maybe watch the new episode of Darling the Wonder Dog."

Nellie smiled. "That's an excellent idea. I think once you're in bed I'll move the TV, so you can watch it without having to get up."

Will stiffened slightly. "No need for that. I have to get up to take a quick shower, I'll just move to the couch afterwards," he replied casually.

"Oh, it's no bother. You'll be much more comfortable on the bed, where you can stretch out."

Without another word, Will turned on the TV.

"I'm going to make you some good homemade vegetable soup," announced Nellie, as she headed for the kitchen.

"She's really got you on a short leash this time," said the same deep voice.

"Who is this?" he whispered, after making sure that Nellie had indeed left the area.

"It's me, Jerry. But how is it you're talking? You've never even heard me before."

"It must have been the lightning strike. I guess it rewired my brain somehow. I can't let Nellie know, or she'll have me in bed for the rest of my life."

The little dog covered his nose. "She would have both of us there if she could, whether we needed it or not."

"Yes... I heard you when I walked in, but Nellie didn't. How did you do that?"

"She can't hear me, any more than you could before. I'm not actually making noise. You can just hear what I'm sending you. Try doing it yourself."

Will thought "Can you hear me?"

No response.

He pictured Jerry in his mind, and tried again.

Jerry's tail thumped on the worn carpet. "You're coming in loud and clear."

"This is incredible! We're communicating telepathically."

Jerry jumped into Will's lap. "I've never heard of a person able to do it. A few of my littermates can. Mom too. But not a person..."

The two sat in companionable silence, occasionally commenting on the show. When it was over, Jerry went to his soft spot by the front door. A few minutes later, Nellie came in with the soup.

True to her word, she moved the TV into the bedroom. Will was well and truly stuck.

Jerry spent most of the next day with him, but by evening he kept pacing.

"Would you like for me to throw a ball for you?" Will offered.

"No, thank you. I need to get outside for a while. Would you mind?"

Will stood, stretching slowly. "Not at all. I'll let you into the backyard now. I wish I could go with you."

"Thank you, Will. Maybe she'll let you go out for a while tomorrow."

The two walked into the kitchen and before they reached the back door, Jerry stopped.

"Will, does that light above us sound different?"

He listened carefully. "I don't hear anything."

Jerry whined. "It's usually like a low hum. Now it's an angry hiss."

Jerry went over to the supply closet, and returned with a stepladder. "I'll have a look."

Nellie walked in, and put her hands on her hips. "Exactly what do you think you're doing?"

Will jumped, then studied the intricate design on the tile floor. "Uh, that light isn't acting right. I was just going to check it out. Safety first, right?"

Her eyes narrowed. "You said it. Now get back to bed, and I'll have an electrician come over right away."

"I will, Dear. I just got up because Jerry needs to go outside. I thought a little fresh air might do me some good too."

"Well let him out, then. It's getting late, but maybe tomorrow you should get some sun. I'll set out one of the lounge chairs if it's a nice day."

He smiled at the thought. "Maybe we can play ball in the yard tomorrow, Jerry."

The little dog's tail wagged happily, then he darted onto the well manicured lawn.

Nellie put the stepladder back, and watched Will until he disappeared into the bedroom.

An hour later, she opened the bedroom door, and Jerry rushed in and sprang onto the bed.

Nellie followed the little dog in, and quietly sat on the edge of the bed, absently rubbing Jerry's ears.

"You were right, Will. The electrician said it could have caused a fire at any time. What a stroke of luck that you noticed it!"

He looked at Jerry. "Thanks."

"No need to thank me. It's what we do... but she was wrong, you know. It wasn't a stroke of luck. It was a strike of luck."



Cover image made in Canva Pro. Original fractal artwork by me. Yorkie image and text is from the Canva Pro gallery

Sort:  

Nicely written.

Screenshot 2023-06-04 at 3.09.01 PM.png

You Crack Us Up!

This Post Was Manually Curated by the FUN Curation Team.
Help reward #fun content creators by joining our curation trail on Hive.Vote.
Or Delegate Hive to @lolz.curate and earn LOLZ farming rewards.

Click to delegate 10, 25, 50, 100, or 1000 HP with HiveSigner.

Thanks so much 🙌

What a funny story, I liked that bond of friendship between Will and Jerry that was strengthened even more thanks to Will's new ability. It's good that they avoided the accident, it would have been tremendous chaos.

I'm glad you enjoyed it :) They definitely have a special bond! O think we all dream of talking to our furry friends.

!PIZZA !ALIVE !LOL !PIMP


You must be killin' it out here!
@wrestlingdesires just slapped you with 1.000 PIMP, @universoperdido.
You earned 1.000 PIMP for the strong hand.
They're getting a workout and slapped 1/1 possible people today.

pimp_logo


Read about some PIMP Shit or Look for the PIMP District

@universoperdido! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @wrestlingdesires. (1/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

Nice story, it's captivating.

@kinganny, we suggest that you write more informative responses to stories. What did you like about it? Were you surprised by the ending? Did any of the characters impress you? Quality comments help the writer to feel valued, and that the readers actually took the time to read their story.

Thank you for this fantastic story, @wrestlingdesires. Will and Jerry have managed to connect in an unthinkable way. This new skill of Will's can be very helpful, as they have already demonstrated. This duo of connected friends will make life more enjoyable and safe in that beautiful home. Thank you so much for your presence in the community and in the comments from fellow writers.

I'm honored to be a part of The Inkwell :) Thanks so much for your kind words ♥️

I wonder how it would be if we could talk to our dogs. What would they say to us?

!ALIVE
!LOL

@wrestlingdesires! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @myjob. (3/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

I think they would have a lot to say :) But they'd probably start off with the subject of food!

!ALIVE !LOL

@myjob! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @wrestlingdesires. (10/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

LOL, yes, that would be my guess, too.

I really enjoyed reading this story. It's a good relationship that Will and Jerry had. Thanks for sharing it.

I'm glad you liked it 🙌

This made me remember my friend. I really enjoyed the story!

Thanks so much :) What is your friend like?

!ALIVE !LOL

@tozill! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @wrestlingdesires. (2/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

Indeed, it was a fortunate strike of luck that led Will to discover the faulty light and prevent a potential disaster. Sometimes, the unexpected events in life can bring about positive outcomes, and this was one of those instances. Wills ability to understand Jerry shows they share a unique.

Yeah, if only we could all understand everything our pets want to tell us :) ...

!ALIVE !LOL

@onyirichicarton! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @wrestlingdesires. (3/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

All animals do have a story to tell if someone would only listen. The story of Jerry and Will seems a match made in heaven.

So true :) I'd love to be able to talk to animals that way!

!ALIVE !LOL

@mineopoly! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @wrestlingdesires. (4/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

Funny... you might think that the lightning made the man a little crazy... mmmm, but why not, dogs sometimes talk, they talk to me hahaha.

They're always trying to tell us something. But sometimes it's hard to know what they're saying.

!ALIVE !LOL

@nanixxx! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @wrestlingdesires. (5/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
@wrestlingdesires(1/15) tipped @popurri
wrestlingdesires tipped ricardo993
wrestlingdesires tipped universoperdido

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @wrestlingdesires.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Thanks so much 💙

It's always been a wish of mine. Being able to communicate with animals. Maybe I'd know what's in the chickens' mind when they keep laying eggs and breaking their eggs to drink at the same time. Maybe understand why?

Dogs are always trying to communicate something to us and I'm glad that strike of luck saved them all. Wonderful story @wrestlingdesires 🤗

Thank you :) How do the chickens break their eggs?

!ALIVE !LOL

@jhymi! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @wrestlingdesires. (7/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

They peck at them with their beaks till they break and the host of them rush forward to drink the eggs. Really wild.

Do they like the taste, or is it from thirst?

I should think it's from thirst but even when their pans are filled with food and water, they still delight in breaking their eggs so I guess they like the taste or are just being mean.

That bond Jerry and Will shared was narrated so well that as I was reading, I was imagining the scene. Your was intriguing and I enjoyed it. Thanks for publishing this wonderful story.

Thanks so much for your kind words :)

!ALIVE !LOL

@marynn! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @wrestlingdesires. (7/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

A rubber band pistol was confiscated from algebra class.
It was a weapon of math disruption.

Credit: reddit
@marynn, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @wrestlingdesires

(5/8)
Use the !LOL or !LOLZ command to share a joke and an $LOLZ

It's a strong fun between Will and Jerry. You have done it so well in organizing the real picture of the story. It's truly a stroke of luck

Thanks so much, I'm glad you enjoyed it 🙌

!ALIVE !LOL

@cool08! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @wrestlingdesires. (1/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

How does an IT guy make a Motherboard?
He tells her about his job.

Credit: marshmellowman
@cool08, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @wrestlingdesires

(1/8)

PLAY & EARN $DOOM

Kind of like Dr. Dolittle hehehe, but how nice that the dog could tell the date and Will notified his wife. It's an ingenious way to make a good story.

Thanks so much for enjoying it :)

!PIZZA !ALIVE !LOL

@ricardo993! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @wrestlingdesires. (5/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

I'm looking for an arsonist interested in a romantic relationship.
I want someone who can set my world on fire!

Credit: reddit
@ricardo993, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @wrestlingdesires

(5/8)
ENTER @WIN.HIVE'S DAILY DRAW AND WIN HIVE!

I loved reading your story @wrestlingdesires, it was funny and amusing. That lightning did Jerry a world of good being able to communicate with his dog is great.
Cheers friend

I'm really glad you liked it so much :) Yes, it would be awesome to talk to dogs 🙌

!PIZZA !ALIVE !LOL

@popurri! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @wrestlingdesires. (1/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

I used to be addicted to the hokey-pokey
but then I turned myself around.

Credit: theabsolute
@popurri, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @wrestlingdesires

(1/8)

PLAY & EARN $DOOM

It's indeed a strike of luck. I can only imagine the catastrophe if Will hadn't not been able to communicate with Jerry. A supposedly ugly experience turned out to be a saving grace against a disaster.

So true, and a deeper friendship too :)

This post has been manually curated by the VYB curation project