Being neighborly and responsible

in Anarchism3 years ago

This is an experiment. Shared from the platform that shall not be named with permission. All HIVE rewards for this post will go to @dullhawk's account here if the settings work.

picketfences349713_640.jpg
Image credit


Being neighborly and responsible

By @dullhawk

I may have mentioned that we have a lot of wind here. Saturday was one of those blustery days. But yesterday wasn't bad, so in the afternoon I got out and was picking up some of the trash that always ends up in my yard, snagged on cacti, mesquite, and yucca, and just lying on the ground where it happened to stop.

Among the litter was an Amazon Prime bubble pack. But it hadn't been opened and wasn't empty. It had apparently blown off of someone's porch and ended up in my yard, disguised among the scattered debris.

I looked at the address and saw that it belonged to the house next door, so I took it over and handed it to them.

This wasn't the house where the neighbor I get along with lives; these are the neighbors I've had trouble with since before they actually moved in. But I was nice, friendly, and returned property they didn't even know they'd lost.

I am far from the only person who would do the same. Most people would. Why do some people imagine the whole world needs to be based on how bad people act?

This is part of how I know liberty works. It's still in my own best interests to do the right thing. Even if I'm not exactly on the best terms with the people I'm helping. It may be repaid, or not, but it's still the best thing to do.


Thank you for helping support KentforLiberty.com.
Check out my TeeSpring shop
I hope I add something you find valuable enough to support. If so... Donations and subscriptions are always appreciated!

Sort:  

Too much hassle for them moving over? Got all their friends still on there that don't want to move? Critical mass can be a bitch XD

The beneficiaries thing does absolutely work, I use it on my homeschool miscellany posts where my kids are beneficiaries :)

What's the experiment?
lol

Dullhawk said I could share his content on this platform since he didn't feel like dealing with the hassle. So this is an experiment to see whether it gets any audience here, and whether the reward delegation works as intended.