Eat my shorts

in SkateHive4 years ago

image.png

I don't want to see another article about bitcoin. Saying bitcoin is up is like saying the sky is up. Skate or die!!

Let's talk about skating. Today people are into long boards but it wasn't always like that. Long boards are kind of a new thing. They seem to give better control and speed but they are missing the maneuverability of a short board, and they cost more.

When I say the word "skate" it's implications change over the ages. In the 70's it was roller skating with four fat wheels at a roller disco. In the 80's it was roller blading or in-line skating at the park with a yuppie dog running behind. Then in the 90's skate only meant one thing. It was the ultimate surf board on wheels. Radical!!

Today this skate craze has come back. People are looking to the legends of the past who were mostly Xers and their bones creak when they skate. The young kids are looking for role models. They are looking for a generation that was lost. My son asks me, "Dad, how can you skate like that? Were people really called 'skaters' when you were in high school?" I don't know how much to say and how much not to say.

When people look at my son at the park they move out of the way. It was just two years ago he would be afraid to stand on the skateboard. Now he is busting through the park and burning up the pavement.

He makes his own T-shirts. He doesn't sell them. He says there is no reason to wear a plain white T-shirt so he makes designs. He says if people want a T-shirt like his then they should make one themselves. Teenagers are lovely, aren't they. He did a couple of Bart T-shirts and is now working on Milhouse.

When he is not skating he is building castles on Minecraft or he is painting. He is supposed to be doing online school now and he does miraculously complete all his online classes before lunch.

His younger brother has a lot more difficulties in paying attention. His online assignments are complete by midnight. He tells me that he is a University of Chicago mathematician and discovering the mathematical formula to save the world so he needs to stay up all night and study. I look at his paper and his is finding one angle of a triangle. I just hope schools don't kill his creativity.

American schools are concerned about opening now, but Korean schools are just starting their summer vacation. We have been having classes since March.

image.png

Got to go. We are busy now.

image.png

Sort:  

Tony Hawk Pro Skater remake is in the works. Loved that game

Looks like September 4th... Very soon. The game is not safer than real skating.

Have never really dive in to skates. I remember we used to have a pair of universal attach roller skate, we share and it was fun. Due to age gap, I can only see my siblings having fun where one of them strap that skate to the right leg, the other to the left. They partner and skate 1 pair of roller. By the time I grow tall enough, one of them go to the uni and the other was busy chasing high school girls 😵

I also bought myself a skateboard after Michael j fox. It was on the wall display until I moved out from my parents house 🤣 never really even try once.

Love this! I think it is great that he is making his owns shirts and likes to skate and has his other interests! And yes I hope your younger son doesn't lose his imagination! Enjoy your break from teaching school!