You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Would the Image I Used for this Post be Considered "Fair Use"?

in Review the World4 years ago

Firstly I'd like to say this is a great idea for a community. I had been thinking of something similar but doing it about Youtube channels, not just posting videos but reviews of the certain youtuber's body of work. It never occurred to me that there would be an issue of legality to use their image if needed. Would love to hear what others more knowledgeable have to say about this. For me I believe it is Ok because what you have added to the image is the message you are trying to get across. I believe this is transformative work.

Sort:  

When people upload videos to Youtube, they give Youtube the right to distribute the videos through third parties. The copyright issue is a primary selling point of Youtube.

The Youtube terms of service make it easy for people to share videos on social media and their person web sites. When I blog on my other sites, I routinely use youtube videos.

BTW, if you want to, you can add reviews for Youtube and Vimeo channels.

I personally do not like Youtube's dominance. I think it is better to review some of the many independent podcasts. Podcasts hosting companies generally allow for the sharing of content. You have to read the ToS.