Death God - Zombie Deck, Anyone Still Using It?

in Gods On Chain2 years ago

In my last post on my war deck, there were a number of comments which are useful for me. So, can the experts continue to advise or give some pointers on my zombie deck? 🙏

Zombie vs Anubian 💀
For the longest time, I have been using this zombie deck for death. I do noticed an increase in the Anubian deck but I just don't have the key cards for that or even come close to it.

Here is the deck (always pair with Soul Burn). For the interested ones, deck code is GU_1_1_CCcCCcCCbCCbHAEHAEIBZIBZCDSCDSCEHIADIADIAJIAJIACIACCBTCBTIAFCFFIAKIAKKCRCCeCCeIBVCAgCAgIBP

image.png

My Strategies ⚔️
To be honest, the win rate for this isn't bad so far. Currently sitting at around 69%. Now, let's go through the play.

Strategy #1. Necroscepter + Obelisks will give endless zombies but the damage is low. So, I usually need the Decaying Rhino or The Rotted One to clear the frontline with armor. If I am able to draw Netherswarm Lord on turn 5 with my zombies intact, that will basically seal the deal. Corpse Explosion can also deal the finishing blow.

Strategy #2. Mid-game strategy to complement the zombies is Faithbreaker. This guy can really grow and break your faith. Give it 2 turns and if the opponent don't have a "destroy" spell, it will be almost game over.

Strategy #3. Using Overseer of Vitality to clear board and boost own creatures. This can sometimes win the game too, especially against low health creatures. That is why I have Eldritch Demonologist to make sure I draw my 7 mana card! Combine all this with Over the Line, the damage is quite deadly. Imagine I have Vampiric Skull and Overseer of Vitality on board (12 damage x 2).

So far, Over the Line or Corpse Explosion have helped me turn the game around a lot or deal an unexpected blow to opponent. I would love to have x2 Corpse Explosion but I only have 1 of it

untitled.gif

Tips? Cards to Swap Out? ✂️
There are a few cards I have been experimenting to swap around. For example, I didn't have Brimstone, Eldritch Demonologist and Faithbreaker at first. But they seem to have work well for me since I swapped them in.

Any way to improve it more? Any advice is appreciated!

untitled.gif

Sort:  

A few suggestions: definitely drop the rotted one. I love the idea of the card. Spent weeks trying to make it work. It's a bad card.

I'd probably swap hogs out for either axewoman or skeletal hoplites (if you have them).

Running 1x corpse explosion and 1x over the line is probably too much. I'd suggest picking one. With Faithbreakers in the deck, it should be over the line. Maybe even 2x.

Hope that helps!

Thanks! I swapped out hogs for skeletal hoplites x2 and replaced that corpse explosion with another Over the Line. So far, this seems to be helping.. on a roll!

Using Demonologist to draw Overseer is too slow, your weak early game means you're going to fall behind.

Any suggestions to replace with Demonologist with what card? One problem I have is that not being able to draw Overseer or Vampiric Skull even when it's like mana 6 or 7 turn. Yes, sometimes my luck is that bad! Demonologist sort of solve that problem for me but yes, my early game will have to mainly rely on zombies (can be weak).

There's not really a replacement for it, you won't always draw your top end when you need it but giving up the tempo to draw it means you're less likely to be able to survive to play it. Having a stronger early game will let you live longer to naturally draw your top end.

Congratulations @itwaswk! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You made more than 10 comments.
Your next target is to reach 50 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Balls of Steel - HiveFest⁷ Petanque Tournament Results
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!