My new Control Magic deck after recent changes (7/3 in daily p2e!)

in Gods On Chain2 years ago

Untitled Design (2).png

Hello everyone,

I am finally able to come back to posting regularly as I used to do before after disappearing for a while due to some life problems, I was barely able to get my weekend and daily p2e games in and was not able to post or share with you the decks I am using and the results I am getting.

But now I am back, stronger than before and hopefully I will be as consistent as possible with my posts and try to bring the best affordable, most effective decks to you that as usual I will be trying and seeing how they do before even talking about them.

Now whoever follows my posts knows that I like to switch gods to enjoy variety and wider selection in the game which makes it more fun, however, I am also known to be a Magic player, specifically control magic which I always use when I want to play very serious and always try to switch things up in it and always try to find a good version of it that works in each meta. And in this post I will be showing the deck I am currently using after the recent changes that happened in the game.

But first let us talk about the changes that affected my usual type of decks and how did they effect it:

Detrimental Changes

Now the latest patch that got released was the most saddening one for me as a Control Magic player, not only because it affected Control decks as a whole, but also effected Magic very specifically and here are the nerfs that resulted in this:

Metamorphosis

 "metam.png"

Metamorphosis was a very key spell in all of my Control Magic decks because of how valuable and volatile it was. It was able to get you rid of a strong frontline with only 2 mana, get rid of a creature that got over buffed and you have nothing more to kill it with or help you get your creatures to a stronger version on the board. After the recent change the spell became pretty useless which was very harmful for Control Magic decks!

Ekrileth, Spawn of Pandroleth

 "ekrileth.png"

Ekrileth was a very valuable card for many Control deck not only Magic, however, it was very valuable in magic not only because it was a very strong frontline, but it was also a card that gives you a chance to win over some aggro decks by getting a monster at 6 mana spot who can face damage for usually from 7 to 9 damage! Now with ward removed it can be easily removed with hunting traps, lightning strikes and several other cards!

Latest Decks

So with these 2 annoying changes, here is the latest deck I am currently using which is doing pretty well with me:

 "deck.png"

There are some new additions, as well as some sneaky cards that has specific uses that are not used much at the moment but I decided to sneak them back to this deck. So let's talk about the new and old additions and in which matchup they work most.

Added cards for aggro matchups:

Here are the caards I brought back into this deck despite them not being used much although they work brilliantly for me:

Time-Bomb

 "time.png"

This card has been amazing for me against any aggro matchup that I get whether its war, nature or deception. If you get to mulligan it first turn, it helps you creature huge pressure and survive to 4 5 mana with minimal damage and better control over the tempo of the game! That's why I decided to add one copy of it back!

Lightning Talisman

 "lightning.png"

This relic became a lot weaker recently especially with reverting it back to losing durability even if there is no enemy creature of board, however, while there are still some aggro deception and Light decks out there it still proves to be useful in some situations so I thought it was a good choice to keep one in there!

Unannounced Arrival

 "unann.png"

I barely see anyone using this spell nowadays, but I still like it personally. With those sneaky hidden or warded groups of creatures this one can still prove to be useful on top of getting a 4 mana creature on board to add presure to the opponent!

Added cards for Control Matchups

Now let us talk about the new cards that are helpful for late games that I added since I saw everyone using them which makes sense after the changes:

Flame of the second Shattering

 "flame.png"

The addition of these cards instead of the Metamorphosis makes a lot of sense! Rather than finishing off your opponent with screwing up his creatures or strengthening yours, just finish him up with hitting him with 16 face damage in 1 turn!

Now this definitely switch the playstyle so much since metamorphosis was also useful in some scenarios early game, but these are the best switch you get go to at the moment!

Moramag, Bane of the Isle

 "morama.png"

With the huge potential of card draw in this deck and in control games in general, this card is a big must. Not only for its ability to clear board with 8 damage to each creature, but also hitting your opponent god with 8 damage that can set you up with finishing him with your *Flame of the Shattering! Definitely a great card to buy if you miss it!

Labyrinth Guard

 "labyrintj.png"

Now I know some may question this change that I made, but with Ekrileth losing its ward, making it easier to kill thus causing less pressure for the opoonent, I feel like this card is better in Control Magic now because it provides more protection to help survive to late game since Ekriileth can cause pressure to hit face that much too!

New concept behind the deck!

Control Magic decks now are not about surviving early game as much as possible and then overwhelming your opponent with monster in late game, it is now about Ramping up as fast as possible while trying to do face damage as much as available to finish your opponent up with face damage, because now with this version if we calculate the potential direct face damage it comes up to 4+4+4+8+9+9 or (4+4 before 9 mana) which sums up to 36 or 26 direct face damage with these cards as a whole:

 "combo.png"

Now of course sometimes you might be forced or pressured to use some of these on an enemy creatures, but you will still have a lot of potential for great face damage! So now the thought process behind playing control magic decks has to be switched a little bit with these changes!

Final Thoughts

I have to say I will definitely miss playing the old metamorphosis, because it was a very fun and useful spell to me and probably for all control magic players out there but this is how the game is made not everything will remain the same especially core cards and so we have to adjust whenever it is required to.

I still find control magic enjoyable though and I tried my best to keep a special, strange touch on my decks because I like to play somewhat different decks that what is being used and it is doing pretty good work for me thus far so I definitely advise anyone who loves magic to try it out it is very easy to make and is not expensive at all!

That was it for this one, hope it was helpful in any way for any magic player out there, I will try my best to make sure I get back to consistently posting and sharing decks and tips about each of them and I would appreciate any new follows if you like the posts I do and other than that hope everyone have an amazing time gaming and is having a good time playing and earning in this game.

Mad Love, Peace out <3

Sort:  

All the 1 ofs hurts the decks consistency. I don't think Unannounced is good, a random 4 drop isn't worth it and dealing 1 to everything doesn't do a lot at 4 mana.

I was testing it out for a while it helped me in many situations especially against hidden rush deception or the wards with light and often I get frontline or blitz creatures that made huge impact. It is weak against nature though having a lot of regen. It is situational and RNG based but luck has been helping me a lot lately :p. As for the 1 ofs I have each are situational too and if luck is on your side and you get them when you need them they prove more useful than any other card in the deck.

I would definitely drop the 2x arrivals in favor of another stormstress and 2x'ing one of your other cards. Starts to address your singleton issue, and stormstress helps with ward.

I honestly, I think I'd skip guild enforcer in this deck. The idea is to stall until 9 mana, and Labyrinth Guard is amazing at that. In control mirrors many opponents will even blow things like Ratify on them.

Otherwise, I like the deck. One thing I've started seeing is people running the Thaumaturge echo guys again that deal 1 dmg on death. They combo it with Tracking Bolt. Haven't played control magic in ages, but I might try it out.

Most of my singleton cards were very in many situations I don't know if it's luck or not but I added most of them for specific situations and they always pop off at these exact scenarios. I might try the Thaumaturge though it seems a good addition. Love your new logo btw

Thanks! 😊

Yep, running singletons means higher variance: higher highs and lower lows. When you draw the singles you need, you have all the answers. When you draw the wrong ones, you lose. From a pure enjoyment factor, that reduces the fun for me. Games feel decided by fate rather than my play.

Statistically, while the variance is higher, your expected win rate will be a bit lower. This is because singletons (especially high-mana ones) are a detriment to your mulligan.

While it's working for you, I see no reason to change it. If it starts to go against you, just remember this convo.