A tour through my tiny kitchen - Creative cuisine cooking challenge

in Creative Cuisine11 months ago (edited)

At first after being invited by @marlyncabrera to join the cooking challenge -show me your kitchen contest, I thought there's no way I would be able to make a post about my tiny kitchen. Then I thought about how we all have different lifestyles and backgrounds, which makes it interesting.

DSC_5450.jpg

I have had many kitchens from staying in different types of places. I even had an outdoor kitchen in Bali. Now I have a small studio apartment kitchen which is not the worst kitchen that I've ever had. Our apartment is one room including the kitchen. Our bed is less than 10 feet from the kitchen. That may sound disturbing to some. We would have to move far from the area and our work to afford something bigger, so we chose convenience and location.

DSC_5444.jpg

The day we moved into this place I discovered that the two large burners on the stove are not functioning. I have not said anything after a year, and I won't unless they all go down. I don't like to bother the caretakers.I use two small burners for everything on the stove.

DSC_5489.jpg

My oven does work but I don't have temperatures on the dial. I have to use a thermometer inside the oven. When I'm not using the oven, it serves as a storage for my pots and pans.
DSC_5457.jpg

I have had several items given to me, and several items purchased from the thrift shop used.

One of my favourite kitchen items is my bullet blender. I have owned at least five cheap ones that broke within the last two years. I finally spent more money to get a good one.

DSC_5467.jpg

If I don't feel like getting the blender out, I just use my cheap hand blender. I bought it from the pharmacy across the street. It's reliable.

DSC_5477.jpg

One new purchase I made was a pasta roller. I like having it but it does make me frustrated. When Marc see's me getting it out, he gets nervous.

DSC_5480.jpg

We have no space for a kitchen table in the kitchen or a shelf for extra storage. I got lucky when I worked at the former restaurant. My boss was selling a few items through my manager, so I bought a kitchen trolley for 20 dollars. It was like a prize.

DSC_5463.jpg

I use it for storage underneath. I also use it to set up my laptop and watch bad movies while I cook.

DSC_5498.jpg

We have a little counter on the other side of the kitchen which would normally serve as a place to eat but I use it to keep my gadgets and coffee maker. I only have two drawers and one of them is used for spices.

DSC_5488.jpg

How did I develop any sort of cooking skills?

It certainly didn't come from my father who raised me. My mother cooked for a living in Thailand, but got sick when I was four in Canada. I learned nothing from her in the few years before she passed. My father met her as one of her customers.

My father taught me how to heat things up out of a can, and make a sandwich. Eventually I started looking at cookbooks. In high school we had a class in home economics where we learned a few kitchen tips.

When I was 25 I became unemployed and on unemployment insurance. At that time they offered courses for no cost if you were under 30. Most of the courses sounded boring and I hated school so I signed up for the food preparation course.

This was a nine month course which involved boring classroom stuff and kitchen time. Kitchen time was much more fun. We cooked food and ate it. The kitchen part was taught by a British chef whom at one time cooked for celebrities such as the Queen of England and the singer Stevie Wonder.

ezgif.com-video-to-gif(2).gif

The course taught us the basics, such as knife skills, sauces, broths, and the first thing we learned was how to make an omelette. We even barbecued an octopus. I refused to eat it. I had never even seen an octopus at that time and it was freaky to see the tentacles. The chef was not happy with me that I wouldn't eat it. He was a nice guy though.

A friend of mine started a small baking business making mostly muffins. It was small run out of a rented kitchen, in the basement of a strip club. Yeah that's right. Girls were taking off their clothes upstairs and we were baking muffins downstairs. Some of them would come to get a muffin from us wearing next to nothing . I didn't know where to look, during these interactions. This was my first kitchen job, where I learned about producing food in large amounts and about baking. I don't consider myself a baker to this day.


Intermission

Fun facts

  • I do not own a matching set of dishes glasses, mugs or utensils.
  • I eat a lot of salad but have never owned a salad spinner ever.
  • I have never owned a real chef knife and my favourite knife is from China town, purchased for 8 dollars.
  • The last pots and pans I got were from the garbage.
  • We never have dinner guests ever, I mean never ever.

My first line cook job in a restaurant was twenty years ago. Since then I have been on and off working in various places and for the last 12 years in restaurant kitchens.

The real inspiration to learn about different foods came when I stopped eating animal products. I discovered a whole world of food that I didn't bother with throughout my life.

I have learned many things from the amazing and talented Hive chefs from around the world. If it wasn't for Hive my inspiration to prepare food would have not been what it is now.

DSC_5448.jpg

Now for the part where I invite someone at the last minute to join in. It's crunch time. I will invite @lizelle, @hindavi and @aera8. @nurfay has already been invited, but I will ask once more. I hope it's okay to invite more than one. I just know it's kind of late so perhaps one of those people will.... show us their kitchen!.

Thanks for dropping by and have a nice day.

carolynbanner.jpgdesign by: @KidSisters

Photos taken with a Nikon D7500 by me except for the ones of me, taken by my other half.

Sort:  

Reading this post and seeing your beautiful face and grace to pose for the photos have made my day. You're such and interesting person/cook, and wow, with so much experience! I loved your tiny kitchen. I love it too that you don't keep so much stuff. Things are chains.

When I retire and go traveling around the world in a camper van--LOL--they'll have to peel me out of my kitchen with a spatula, ha ha ha ha.

Life with more attachments than necessary is better, freer. Yet you have a couple of things in your kitchen, huh. I love your kitchen trolley; we've always wanted one ever since we saw one in The Big Bang Theory 😁. But we want to go lighter in life.

Your kitchen is clean, organized and with so much light. Thank you so much for the tour and for showing us some of your toys. You could use Horacia there, to add some hairs to your delicious salads!

Big hug, my friend! And thank you so much for the mention.

This challenge should continue open, @creativecuisine 🖤

 11 months ago  

untitled.gif

 11 months ago  

A cat in the kitchen 😱, hahaha a visit to your kitchen is pending, to create wonderful things too, they are both excellent cooks, when I visit them I will bring my magic cauldron hahaha

We all keep a copper cauldron next to our hearts next to the important spices 🤫❤️

 11 months ago  

Hablando de especies, se me acabó la pimienta negra jajaja, no tengo cerca de mi corazón

😂😂😂 Busca bien, al lado del chile picante.

 11 months ago  

Menos jajaja tampoco tengo, hasta el ajo se terminó 😂

Thank you @creativecuisine @edwing357 for this challenge. We the upcoming are learning so much which will help us a lot as time goes on. I have enjoyed and learned many things from this challenge. Blessings @edwing357 ❤. Blissful new week.

First of all my kitchen is not always clean and it's full of light because I use artificial lighting. If I don't, there is no light whatsoever. Organizing is for posts haha.

I love the gadgets that I have and I appreciate them, but yes they can be chains. I do wish I had things I threw away before travelling like my hairy companions. 😌 Camper van sounds great!

This was actually a really fun post to make and I owe it all to you. Thank you for the invitation.

Hugs to you too my friend!

Dear @carolynstahl In Venezuela, too, with the difficult economic situation we are going through, families look for options at every moment, not only to remodel the house, especially the kitchen, but also to buy basic necessities, washing machines, irons, household items, kitchen, among many, we also do everything possible to take care of objects, for example we many years ago, about 48 years since we were newly married we bought some Renawer stainless steel pots and we keep them intact, today they are like new, that's why I admire you that you have A lot of tact and effort to take care of what you get. I also express to you that you cook very well and that the sideburn is an excellent, very healthy moisturizing fruit. I like the care of your kitchen, your utensils and how you cook, I admire you and I wish all the best. Receive many blessings. I am very grateful for the evaluations that you always give to my publications, I appreciate them and they help me a lot for my purchase of medicines. successes

I am aware that Venezuela has been long suffering from the economic problems. A friend in the 80's used to travel there and told of what a wonderful travel destination it was. I always longed to go there.

Now from Hive I realize that Venezuelans are some of the strongest and loving genuine people in the world. They keep doing the best they can and are true and honest. I know that there are bad seeds everywhere, but I truly admire the courage and integrity of the Venezuelan people. 🙏😌

Thank you dear friend @carolynstahl your words excite me to move forward. I wish you much success.

Though the kitchen is not that big but you guys are creative, manage to organised your kitchen stuff and it all looks neat and clean. We are same same in some ways I do not own a kitchen too and I don't like complaining to the house owner when something broke down. Who knows that we are superwomen 💪especially in the kitchen, watching bad movies while cooking😄

Haha yes super women!!! Thanks for that!😊

I love this story of yours, somehow we are alike, I also scour kitchen wares from the thrift shop and sometime I got lucky to have bought a chef´s frying pan from a series made by famous austrian chef, it was almost not used as I saw the bottom still so new, I got it for 4 USD. I guess a lucky find. The most important thing in your kitchen is the food you make which look so delish everytime you post your recipes. I love your way of being so practical in so many ways! Thank you my friend for the best wishes!

I get excited when I find something someone else doesn't want. I have gotten rid of things in the past to travel. I know someone enjoyed it. A cycle.

Thanks for your nice words my friend!

Always a pleasure!

 11 months ago  

~~~ embed:1664041519966306304?t=4wg7SkGM1BCxd9fCSstUUg&s=19 twitter metadata:ZWR3aW5nMzU3fHxodHRwczovL3R3aXR0ZXIuY29tL2Vkd2luZzM1Ny9zdGF0dXMvMTY2NDA0MTUxOTk2NjMwNjMwNHw= ~~~

Thank you!

 11 months ago  

🤗🤗🤗 welcome 👨🏻‍🍳✨

 11 months ago  

Hi @carolynstahl welcome to our spaces friend 😊, it's nice when we meet people like you, if afraid to take that step, to move forward, I personally have lived in several places like you, even right now I don't have my own house, since I lost it many years ago after a kidnapping where we were forced to leave our home....

But let's not talk about bad things hahaha, here in Venezuela the kitchen ovens are the place to store, pots, dishes, and how much container we have 🤣

I like your space, the white in the kitchen and in all areas is the best, I congratulate you, you make the most of everything, that is the true creative kitchen, where there are no limitations to create, no matter the spaces, no matter how many burners in the kitchen are working, always creating good things despite any setback.

Excellent, I loved your participation, if you saw how I have my things all piled up because I have no space you would laugh hahaha.

Nice entry 🤗 good luck in the contest 👨🏻‍🍳✨

The kidnapping story is tragic. It sounds like something that only happens in movies. You are a true survivor after being forced to leave your home. It reminds us to be thankful even when when we don't have what the next person has.

Thank you for your kind words. It was a fun thing to participate in. I also love to tour the other peoples homes haha.😊

 11 months ago  

Well everything happens to us in life 🫣 what we must do is keep cooking delicious things hahaha.
I would gladly visit your kitchen , for sure we would make some good breads to go with your delicacies, I love your food 😊.

You call this tiny ma’am? Wait till you see my own kitchen, it’s a freaky doll house!

Thanks for the giggle. I feel better now. Doll house kitchen sounds pretty cute though😅

Lol ohh please I don’t mean the pinkish and wonderful interiors, Lol I mean it is freaking tiny, tinnier than yours😂😂

It is very nice and heart touching story of your food making. your kitchen is very tidy and more organised. small but very practical thank you for invitation greetings and good luck ❤️😊

Haha, my kitchen doesn't always look tidy. Thanks anyway and I hope you can participate my friend.😊❤️

how are you dear friend @carolynstahl good afternoon
I am very sorry that your kitchen did not work in its entirety
and to be honest, your kitchen looks very clean and tidy despite being small
It is true, it is always good to spend a little more money and buy higher quality appliances.
have a beautiful night

Haha I know I have learned my lesson about electronic devices. 😄

Believe me, the kitchen is not always tidy.😅

Thank you for the comment and support my friend. Have a wonderful day.😊

You've been curated by @plantpoweronhive! Delegations welcome!

Find our community here

Curation Trail


BANNER AMAZING.png You've been curated by @amazingdrinks! Delegations welcome!
Find our community here

Curation Trail

Thank you!!!!

CKq55bDMMa5C9zjdaYBZxnPMSS25AZZuNXNLEYfzw2o7RznvGD2vzBRbDH4vP4bFjA2DoCbXAwo9bZBWrEKeCNaumQtyN4TPp8KNR7DwgJAmPxhmWiEeMsAaUB1qorVXzqBzT95BCg7ey5BxeLdfXVFFx9gv14JaHwZrnHGXMU9JYxCPVUow8TnBRwFuii6EuvsU9aafvRqVqjJ9o343ccawwh.png

Yum! You have been curated by @sirenahippie on behalf of FoodiesUnite.net on #Hive. Thanks for using the #foodie tag. We are a tribe for the Foodie community with a unique approach to content and community and we are here on #Hive.

Join the foodie fun! We've given you a FOODIE boost. Come check it out at @foodiesunite for the latest community updates. Spread your gastronomic delights on and claim your tokens.

 11 months ago  


Creative Cuisine(1).gif


You have been curated by @edwing357 and the Creative Cuisine project.

We invite you to join the flavor community.


All delegations are welcome, join our curation train and be part of the flavor @creativecuisine


I loved that cart, it looks very useful. How nice your kitchen, thanks for sharing it. Regards.

The cart is a prize haha. Thank you so much!

https://reddit.com/r/Cocina_Creativa/comments/13x0iy8/a_tour_through_my_tiny_kitchen_creative_cuisine/
The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @edwing357 ) sharing the post on Reddit as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Great mom's kitchen is small but perfect also very clean it all makes cooking easier however my kitchen is still messy

Even so, I hope that you are always healthy

Thank you dear @aera8! You still have time to participate!

Happy to see where the whole magic happens! Also, you got plenty of tools to play in the kitchen with, noice! :D

The tools were mostly given to me or purchased used for a good price, otherwise I wouldn't have all of them, but we only need a knife and hands to get things done right. Oh and heat haha.

Thank you so much!

Cooking is an art and you are an artist @carolynstahl, one of the finest artists I have seen here on Hive.

I will take that as a huge compliment, as I do not consider myself an artist at all.

Much appreciated!

Thanks for tagging me in your post.

This is an extraordinary kitchen, your cooking equipment is very complete, of course, very neat. It's so super!

Really on a regular day it is not so neat and most equipment is donated or used. I thank you for your nice compliment. You still have time😊

Your kitchen story is right up my alley! Neat and compact, you have everything you need to create delicious meals. I truly did LOL at your first kitchen job. The muffin bakery could have been named 'Pastries and Pasties' lol.

Pastries and Pasties!!!! hahahaha 😂🤣 That's awesome!

Neat and compact for a post lol. Thank you so much!

Dear @carolynstahl It is that since we are in Hive, our life has changed, because in my case I did not cook and I do, I write and compose better, my health has improved a lot because through Hive I have been motivated to do Yoga and publish about it, which has improved my physical and mental health, thanks to Hive my economy improved, you know how much the pension I receive for my 70 years of age is 130 bolivars, that is, not even 5 dollars a month, thanks to Hive when they like the publications I make and they vote, at least it gives me enough to pay for my medicines and my wife's. I like your publication because it is very motivating and I thank you for your visits to my posh. successes

It gives me great pleasure to know that Hive has helped you with a little financial support. You are an inspiration and if more people practised what you do they could feel much better. Health can keep one happier even when life is challenging.

I wish you all the best my friend and thank you for your support.😊

Dear @carolynstahl , your posts are very subliminal and touch our hearts, I also admire you and will always be grateful for your positive ratings on my posts. It is a pleasant way to help those who have economic problems that affect health. God must keep you in mind for such beautiful gestures of friendship. Hugs from Cumaná, capital of the Sucre-Venezuela state.

You have a good looking kitchen my friend, with all the equipments you need!

A friend of mine started a small baking business making mostly muffins. It was small run out of a rented kitchen, in the basement of a strip club. Yeah that's right. Girls were taking off their clothes upstairs and we were baking muffins downstairs. Some of them would come to get a muffin from us wearing next to nothing . I didn't know where to look, during these interactions.

that's really bizarre hahahah but so interesting , what are the chances?? incredible.

The kitchen is tight but it could be much worse I know.

Okay so here is the story about the strip joint.

A long time ago it was a fancy restaurant where all of the fancy rich people would go. There would be entertainment and it would be a place that was good enough for celebrities. This was before my time so that was long ago haha.

It later closed down and became one of the busiest most famous strip clubs in town. They didn't need their kitchen anymore so it sat empty. They rented it out for a low price to my friend.

The end😊

offers are often found in rare places jaja

Wow! And you call this tiny? It's really beautiful, and every items are well arranged. I think have fallen in love with your tinykitchen

Haha that's so sweet that you said that. I guess we should be thankful for what we have right?

I greatly appreciate your comment!😊

You are welcome.

We never have dinner guests ever

This is probably a good strategy because we notice with some people that they accept plenty of invitations but do not offer any themselves, I think they like to be served! lol

You nailed with that. We also don't have friends anymore. Also the only family near by are my partners parents and they won't eat anything I touch. If their neighbours give them garden veggies they throw it away because they touched it. 😌 We don't care because of what you said. It's true.

Hallo. Super Blog. Frage: wie hast du das Video gemacht? Mit welchem Programm?
!ALIVE

Video editor included with Windows. Then ezigif maker

Entschuldigung ich habe vergessen😊

Danke. Kein Problem.
Ah den gibts bei Windows? Wie heißt das genau?
!LUV

Es heist video editor bei Windows 10.

@carolynstahl! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @dragon-ti. (1/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

Thank you!!!

Thanks for sharing your experience with us!
TIBLogo

You have been curated by @thekittygirl on behalf of Inner Blocks: a community encouraging first hand content, and each individual living their best life. Come join the Inner Blocks Community , and check out @innerblocks! #lifehappening

Oh dear @carolynstahl, I've not kept up with my notifications! Will head over to the contest, likely too late but I can always still write about my little kitchen.
Hope you're keeping well my friend, and thank you for the invite😉

Don't worry @lizelle I also am falling behind these days with only one post a week. Yes you are too late for the contest, but it's a good topic for fun and we all want to know about where your magic happens.

Best wishes my friend!

Hi Carolyn, I've really only been cooking the necessary as I had the shoulder issue, hope to get back to being creative in the kitchen again.
Have a wonderful weekend my friend 🤗

I'm sorry to hear that. I hope so too😌

This was so inspirational to read! Thank you for taking the time to write it and set it up for a post. You are so sweet and practical, there is no crying for what could have been. I admire that. The things I have given away to travel - I do understand that as lighter is always better - and I know someone else is enjoying it.

I think I have finally settled to where I will be or close to it, maybe one of two more moves. It is funny because now more than ever, I don't want to accumulate. Less is best.

I love that trolley! I know you are crowded, but the only thing I see is a beautiful woman creating a life.

This post was awesome! Thank you!~

I am truly flattered by your comment. I have learned throughout time that things are great until they become a burden. There are always things I wish I still had though. Anyway I know I can't take it with me haha.

Thank you so much for your lovely words. I appreciate it so much.

This is really inspiring @carolynstahl. With the size of your kitchen your are inspiring so many of us who are just coming up in the #hive community. Anytime I read your publish post am always motivated. Maintaining kitchen utensils and wares are traditionally sometimes which is very good. I love to keep my wares clean and use them longer to save cost. Thank you for all the inspiration you are sharing here @carolynstahl. Lots of love and hugs. Blessings and blissful month of June ❤✨

I am touched by your lovely comment @sunshine29. I am happy that you found it inspiring. I wish you all the best.

Have the best day ever.❤️

Hi, dear friend! I’m glad to see your smile. You are looking good and beautiful. Your kitchen is very clean with modern.

Oh thank you my friend. I really would rather have a kitchen in Cambodia but this will have to do haha.

Best wishes to you and the family.

Carolyn no guests ever ? Why not ?

Haha we have no friends and only two older people (his parents) that won't eat anything that I make or touch. They are really annoying.😄

No friends ? No way that’s impossible

We don't like anyone around here😅 All of the folks we once called friends just don't interest us anymore. All of my friends are on Hive.😊

Hive is amazing

What a wonderful tour!!!

Thank you so much!!