Your Cooking Contest. Welcome to my Old kitchen!

in Creative Cuisine11 months ago (edited)

Your Cooking Contest is presented by @creativecuisine and sponsored by @plantpower, @foodiesbeehive, @amazingdrinks, @ecency, @melinda010100, @sagarkothari88, and @sirenahippie. Thanks a lot! And thanks a lot to our dear @edwing357 for keeping this space open.

I don't think it may sense to invite friends to participate, but I will anyway because it's in the rules. So I invite my dear @carolynstahl and @nurfay to participate 🖤🖤

The first thing you must know about my kitchen is that unless I close both doors, at least one of my cats is always going to be there.


image.png

Always.

IMG_20230528_215420.jpg

My kittens climb on the table; and when we're out or not watching them, we don't know how far they can go.

When I die, which I hope will be many, many years from now, my spirit will ascend to a happy, heavenly place, accompanied by a kitchen towel dampened in bleach water, and I will descend from time to time to haunt and clean the counters and tables of the houses where spoiled cats live.

The second thing, well, this kitchen is old. This house was built more than 50 years ago. First house of the block. So it goes really well with all my old glassware, old appliances, old cutlery, etc.😂

IMG_20230528_221446.jpg

image.png

Well, make yourselves at home! Let me offer you a cup of coffee. And just ignore the cat. She totally ignores you.



Oh my! I have so much stuff in my kitchen, as I started buying, collecting and getting hand-me-downs since I was a teenager. The third thing you should know is that I'm writing this post in a rush, as I just realized the contest was closing in less than two hours. That was a misunderstanding. My bad. But here we go.

It’s impossible for me to talk about all the things I’d have to talk about, since there are so many. But I’ll tell you about the most important ones and, of course, the ones I can think of right now: my old little stock pot that wanted to be a saucepan, my silicone pastry spoons, my air fryer, my smoothie blender, my baguette molds, and my kitchen scale.

image.png

My love for cooking started as love for eating!

My late mother was a terrible cook, albeit of ultra-healthy choices. My father was a very good cook; and still is. I guess it wasn't hard for me to realize that one is happiest when one eats tasty food. I made my peace with the healthy thing eventually, ha ha ha ha.

Adapt or die!All of my beloved mother's children learned to cook at an early age, much to the headache of my poor little mother, who also hated to clean and yet she had to deal with our messes, sticky messes, and burnt pots and pans.

image.png

This is the area where I usually work.

IMG_20230528_214046.jpg

You can see that it is a very simple kitchen. I have a big window facing the parking lot, so I have a lot of light when it's daytime, which is perfect, since the ceiling is made of wood and this darkens the room a lot. Darkness is fatal for photos, so I always try to take them when I have natural light.

IMG_20230528_214013.jpg

The counter is as old as the house. It's wide enough most of the time.

IMG_20230528_214229.jpg

But sometimes, I need more space; this is when I move to kitchen table. Cats out and clean table!

I bought this stock pot 24 years ago in a traditional store in my hometown that closed some years ago due to the economic crisis that began to eat up the country. The store was Dorsay; they only sold men's suits originally.

IMG_20230528_220930.jpg

The set came with a larger stock pot, a frying pan, and saucepan. Some burglar stole my saucepan once that I had left it in the backyard kitchen at my father's house. So now my little stock pot is my de facto saucepan. Period.

IMG_20230528_221356.jpg

I use this pot to make vegetable milks, oatmeal, hot cocoa, pudding, etc...

You can see that she has served my kitchen well. She has a war wound; she lost her knob one day when I forgot I had something cooking.

IMG_20230528_221055.jpg

Silicone Pastry Spoons. How can anyone live without one!

I bought the green one ten years ago, perhaps. It's one out of 6 that I keep in the cabinets. The black one was a gift from my niece who is now living in the US. The former is for savory dishes; the latter I use almost exclusively for making cakes and sweets.

IMG_20230528_221837.jpg

My air fryer is also an electric oven. Cakes, bread, cookies, fries (air-fried), sandwiches, peanuts, almonds, cashews, sunflower seeds, flans, custards, almost everything goes into this oven.

It helps me save time and gas! I cry when we have a power outage and my food is half baked. You can imagine. Oh no, perhaps you can't; it all will depend on where you live 😐

IMG_20230528_221412.jpg

I keep photos of my little oven when it was brand new. I paid $99 for it four years ago at Ivoo (Lecheria).

I bought my smoothie blender on sale at Daka four years ago. I paid $35 for it. I use it for smoothies and many other things: mayonnaise, pesto, dips, etc...

But when I require "muscle," I use my 25-year-old Oster.

Silicone Baguette Molds. They where a discovery I made at Traki.

It was a bargain. I paid less than $1 for two molds. I love them because they hold the dough in such a way that it takes the characteristic shape of the baguette.

My kitchen scale was a hand me down. I received it two years ago from my eldest sister, and it has been very useful. I'd been using a small one that gave me a lot of work. Here I weigh everything. Nothing is hidden from the great all-seeing eye of Mordor. When the greengrocer thinks he's more clever than me, I find out when I get home and then I cry, ha, ha, ha. Because life is like that, hard and black as an old black bean; the greengrocer will trick you and there's nothing you can do about it.

IMG_20230528_220913.jpg

I hope you have seen enough of my kitchen and my toys, for it's time for me to click on the publish button.

IMG_20230528_214147.jpg


image.png

Thank you so much for your visit :)

All text and images are my own. I have taken the pictures with my Redmi 9T cell phone. And if any GIFs here, I've used GIPHY for all them.

MARLYN BANNER_5 (1).png

Banner by @andresromero 🖤

Sort:  

https://leofinance.io/threads/edwing357/re-leothreads-ycfstfjd
The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people ( edwing357 ) sharing the post on LeoThreads,LikeTu,dBuzz.

Thank you so much 😁❤️💚❤️

 11 months ago  

https://reddit.com/r/Cocina_Creativa/comments/13uvaqg/your_cooking_contest_welcome_to_my_old_kitchen/
The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @edwing357 ) sharing the post on Reddit as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Thank you so much for your support, @redditposh @edwing357 😁❤️

What a wonderful kitchen! And the size... ours is way too small, with too few cabinets and counters, which is why I'm often joking about buying a restaurant and closing it down, just so I'll have space enough to cook 😹

Your stove looks great too. Room for six pots or pans?!! I'd love that! Imagine being able to cook spaghetti, a sauce, and fry the meatballs at the same time.

Best of luck in the contest! 🍀

The idea of buying the restaurant is gold, ha ha ha ha.

Small kitchens have a great advantage: easier to clean up! 😌 I'm grateful that I gave enough space to work, though. And six spots on the stove is great indeed, but then you have such pots to take care of 😂

Thank you so much for your lovely visit and support, @treefrognada 😁❤️

Your kitchen is very beautiful, everyone's dream is to have a kitchen as beautiful as this. Thank you for inviting me to this contest, but I don't think I have the confidence to show off my very cramped and messy kitchen!

 11 months ago  

Hi friend @nurfay you can show it with confidence, I have had one burner stoves hahaha, I have also had outdoor stoves, using three stones and some dry logs, here everything is valid hahaha, just bring it with love and we welcome you with love 🤗

Thank you dear for the support. I am very happy with the motivation you provide. Makes my mood go up and burn! ha ha

I will try it!

Thank you so much, @nurfay 😆 Ah, messy kitchens! It happens to us all!!! We have a parrot (Paco); he usually makes his mess on the floor; you can imagine. I have to clean up. We deal with our messes.
Thank you so much for showing up 😁❤️

That's great you are so diligent because your kitchen doesn't look messy at all.

Congratulations @marlyncabrera! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You got more than 4250 replies.
Your next target is to reach 4500 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Hive Power Up Day - June 1st 2023

Thank you so much for your support and work, @hivebuzz 😎❤️

Awesome job @marlyncabrera! Keep pushing yourself and you'll reach your Hive goals before you know it.

I love cooking but don't like cleaning kitchen. You kitchen seems clean👍))

Oh, who likes that?! I need a magic wand 😌
Thank you so much for making me laugh, @xuwi 😁❤️

 11 months ago  


Creative Cuisine(1).gif


You have been curated by @edwing357 and the Creative Cuisine project.

We invite you to join the flavor community.


All delegations are welcome, join our curation train and be part of the flavor. . @creativecuisine


Thank you so much for your consideration and support, @creativecuisine & @edwing357 😁❤️

 11 months ago  

👨‍🍳👨‍🍳👨‍🍳

It's amazing how old that pot is, it's fascinating to see your cats on the countertops, I'm sure they also like to watch you cook, thanks for showing us the place from where you share your recipes with us.

I think this little pot will survive me 😆 I'm happy I had the chance to buy it because nowadays everything is so expensive that we can't afford many things.
My cats love watching me cook; unfortunately, I have to take them out of the kitchen if I don't want to serve cat hairs in the food. I think we've eaten quick a few by now, though 😁 If my mother lived, she'd be horrified 🤫
Thank you so much for dropping by, dear @noalys ❤️

 11 months ago  

Hello welcome to the world of creative cooking hahaha, let's see where I start....
If I visit you we leave the cats in the living room while we cook 🙂 hahaha, you have a cozy kitchen, you should see where I am, jokingly fit two pots on the top of work hahaha
The wooden ceiling is nice my foster home has it that way, it reminds me of the old house where I grew up hahaha, the pot you show us in the warrior as far as I can see hahaha, I also saw that you are a bargain hunter, I want to go to Traki city for some of the trays you have hahaha, I like your kitchen I think the oven is a little small but I also had one like that and they are great hahaha, my pizzas there were more loaded with ingredients to be smaller hahahaha

Yes, I know, I know about the cats. Man, cat hair is an intrepid little thing! But if you visit me, I'm sure Horacia will disappear before you know it. She's so shy! When I have to cook seriously, I close the doors and that's it; but most of the time they are sleeping the heavy sleep of spoiled cats.

30 cm baking trays for this little oven. If your lust for pizza goes beyond that, you have to use the gas oven. Ah, pizza! 😋

Traki is the place! Ha ha ha ha... Guilty as charged! I always keep some pocket money just in case; I've always had more kitchen toys than makeup or shoes.

Thank you so much for your nice visit, my dear friend ❤️

 11 months ago  

You take care of your kittens and I take care of the dough, then we give cookies to the animals and others for us hahaha, at home we had white herons and they got into the dining room, in an oversight they climbed on the table hahaha.

Oh, white herons! They are such majestic birds. I love them. Beauties have to eat, too 😆

 11 months ago  

P.S: Dads are better cooks hahaha, just kidding friend, very nice entry, good luck in the contest, although here everyone wins 😉

It happens in many homes that daddy cooks better! It also happens that daddy is lazy to cook 😌 They cook on the weekend 😎

 11 months ago  

🤣😂 puedo cocinar todos los días y comer sin parar también

🤣🤣🤣 ¡¿Eso será un defecto o una virtud?! Será que somos todos unos virtuosos 😂

 11 months ago  

Ningún defecto jajaja, eso es una bendición 🤣😂 mi papá decía que yo era feliz porque comía y comía sin cambiar de peso 😜

Viste. Allí está el detalle. Yo tengo que botar unos kilos o los jeans se los quedarán las polillas 😂

 11 months ago  

Queee! las polillas usan tus pantalones jajaja, rayos señorita 😮 , epa cambiando el tema, buenas ofertas las que has cazado, me gustan las bandejas perforadas, soy amante de comprar juguetes de cocina jajaja

The place where all the magic is made. ✨

Stay away! Witches at work!!! 😆 Yes, here I keep my copper cauldron. Thank you so much for stopping by, my dear friend ❤️

Ha, ha, ha, ha. And all the spices and herbs. 🤣🤣

Manually curated by brumest from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Thank you so much for your consideration and support, @qurator 😌💕

CKq55bDMMa5C9zjdaYBZxnPMSS25AZZuNXNLEYfzw2o7RznvGD2vzBRbDH4vP4bFjA2DoCbXAwo9bZBWrEKeCNaumQtyN4TPp8KNR7DwgJAmPxhmWiEeMsAaUB1qorVXzqBzT95BCg7ey5BxeLdfXVFFx9gv14JaHwZrnHGXMU9JYxCPVUow8TnBRwFuii6EuvsU9aafvRqVqjJ9o343ccawwh.png

Yum! You have been curated by @edwing357 on behalf of FoodiesUnite.net on #Hive. Thanks for using the #foodie tag. We are a tribe for the Foodie community with a unique approach to content and community and we are here on #Hive.

Join the foodie fun! We've given you a FOODIE boost. Come check it out at @foodiesunite for the latest community updates. Spread your gastronomic delights on and claim your tokens.

Thank you so much for your consideration and support, @foodiesunite @edwing357 😁❤️

You've been curated by @plantpoweronhive! Delegations welcome!

Find our community here

Curation Trail

Thank you so much for your consideration and support, @plantpoweronhive 😁💚🌿

I thoroughly enjoyed the tour of your kitchen and the toys. I could only dream of ever having a kitchen like that. It's absolutely beautiful and equipped with the best stuff. It looks like a place where there is so much joy while consuming good foods made with love and care, and talent.

Your kitchen is perfect especially with a cat on the table. I used to have a large cat on the table while we had dinner. If I ate a salad, she would even stick her paws into it and grab some. I know, that would disgust many people but it didn't bother us.

I thank you for the invite. I'm not sure I have a kitchen worthy of a post. My kitchen is so small that two people have to struggle to be in at the same time. I may do it for comedy sake though.

By the way, the wooden ceiling may be dark but it's soooooo cool. I love it.

Wonderful post that nobody would know you did in a hurry. It's so thorough and well done.

Have a great day my friend and good luck.😊❤️

Ah, those are really sweet words, my friend. Thank you so much! This is a big old house with a big old kitchen. If you're a romantic like me, you try to focus on its vintage air rather than on all the work it takes.

A couple of hummingbirds visit the bush outside the window every day; they come early in the morning and then after 4 p.m. Cooking here is relaxing; it helps you forget the country is falling apart, as well as the house if you don't make an great effort to keep it standing. For a while, we've been meaning to repair the roof, parts of the ceiling, and some other--expensive--things.

I'm sure you miss that cat. I wasn't allowed to have pets when I was a child. I'm enjoying my animal companions as much as I can now.

I'm sure you'd make the funniest post. You know I'm a fan of your humor.
Thank you so much for dropping by. Sending you a big hug, my friend 😌❤️

Muy linda y cálida tu cocina @marlyncabrera y veo que la Srta. Horacia está de lo más cómoda en ella. Sólo faltó la Srta. Canela en la foto. Excelente post. Saludos.

¡Muchas gracias, mi querida @sirenahippie! Sí, vale, hay que aprovechar mientras haya vida y salud. Aquí he recibido a buenos amigos; no son muchos, pero son réquete buenos 😁 La señorita Horacia y Canela son agua y aceite. Horacia es como mi perrito faldero, buscando protección de su némesis, ja, ja, ja. Por allí andan dos más: Flecha, que es la mamá de Horacia, y Charlie, el gatico que empezó visitándonos y ya tiene su platico en el estar de atrás. Pronto debo llevarlo a esterilizar.

Muchas gracias por tus lindas palabras y por acordarte de Canelita. Un abrazo 🖤

Qué bonita y grande es tu cocina, amiga. ¡Cuántas cosas han durado en el tiempo! En Cumaná, tengo reliquias, también. Me hiciste reír con lo de "el verdulero te va a engañar" ¡jajaja! Es así, lo certifico, muchas veces me pasó, peor no tenía un peso en casa para comprobarlo. Un abrazo.

Gracias, querida @aurodivys ❤️😁

Las cosas valen por los recuerdos que guardan; no importa lo que hayan costado.

No hay nada que hacer cuando te roban con el peso; yo no tengo cara para reclamarle a ese señor, sobre todo si es un viejito. ¡No ayudan! Ja, ja, ja.

 11 months ago  

Gracias por el café, lo disfrute en el recorrido por tu cocina...
jajajaj ese gato chica jajajaj que risa me ha dado, el señor de la cocina jajaja. Es inmensa tu cocina que maravilla! ¿Quien no tiene paletas de silicon? YO! las que uso son de madera y me encanta que muestres tu olla guerrera ahí todo divino..
Estar en tu cocina ha sido genial ❤️

El gato es gata 😆 Se llama Horacita y se apodera de ciertas cosas cuando le da la gana; si mi madre viviera, estaría totalmente mortificada en cada visita 🤣

Lod miserables son buenísimos para sacar hasta la última gotica de mezcla del bol. Pero no creas, yo tengo mi set de paletas de madera; hay una que tiene como 40 años y allí está dando la lucha, ja, ja, ja.

Muchas gracias por tus lindas palabras, @aguamiel ❤️😁

 11 months ago  

jajajaj! Horacita se nota que hace lo que le da la gana, ahí toda campante en su cocina, por que es de ella no tuya jaajajaja😁
La paleta que más uso tiene aproximadamente el mismo tiempo, por ser una de mis consentidas la trato con mucho cuidado aunque se le nota las heridas de batallas...

Me encanto tu cocina ❤️