Tiny Butterflies In My Garden

in The Pollen Flow3 years ago (edited)

IMG_20200626_190231.jpg

A few days ago I was doing some much-needed weeding in my garden this Himalayan Grass Blue or the Psuedozizeeria maha visited me. This tiny butterfly's wing are a silvery blue shade with a satiny sheen which shimmers in the sun. It was flitting around enjoying the warmth of the morning sun.

There were a few other butterflies also fluttering around in my garden. I waited patiently for this Himalayan grass blue to sit for a few minutes so I could get some clear photographs. It kept flying away each time I got near it, but ultimately patience paid off and I did get a few decent photo grabs of this tiny creature.

IMG_20210511_223143.jpg

The wings span of this Himalayan Grass blue is around 2cms. This is one of the smallest butterflies I see in my garden. I used to see many of these commonly years ago, but now I only see a few of them around.

IMG_20210511_223237.jpg

I am quite proud to add this to little Himalayan Grass blue to my butterfly collection. I don't know about you, but taking photographs of butterflies isn't the easiest thing for me to do. They are so fast and can sense movement quickly.

Chasing after butterflies needs a lot of patience and patience is one of the things gardening teaches you. Nature always does things at her own pace, with grace and beauty.

IMG_20210204_114753.jpg A tiny sweet couple I see regularly in my garden.

I remember the time when I was about 7 years old my favorite pass time was to chase butterflies. There were times when I grabbed them, but my dad showed me how much I hurt these delicate creatures by pointing to the fine dust their wings left on my fingers. Never again did I try to catch them. Watching them was fun enough.

As I grew older the desire to capture them has remained. However, the captures are done digitally with my camera. The excitement is still the same, albeit less cruel. It's a joy to watch the butterflies flit around in my garden.My lime bushes and my Kalanchoe plants are the main victims of butterfly attacks. They lay eggs under the leaves and the caterpillars sometimes eat up the whole plant.

IMG_20201231_215237.jpg
Another common tiny butterfly from my garden

I often have to remind myself of this saying by Antoine de Saint-Exupery

Well, I must endure the presence of a few caterpillars if I wish to become acquainted with the butterflies.

All images used in this post were photographed by me.

Sort:  

thank you @theycallmedan for giving our new friend here a BIG upvote. We've recently onboarded her, and that was nice of you!

Thank you @theycallmedan for the huge upvote. I appreciate that very much
and @bluefinstudios for all the help behind the scenes. It has made it easier for me to navigate around Hive.

Congratulations @sofs-su! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 300 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 400 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Tour Update - Decentralized blacklists and Mutes lists
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

So true chasing the butterfly is quite difficult but it's enjoyable.
Himalayan grass blue demonstrating the beautiful creation of the Lord.
Your proficiency in clicking the best snap is awesome mam.

Thank you @ayesha-malik , Sorry I missed your comment. I appreciate you stopping by.