Sort:  

This is so cool , I loved the entire video, good work on docummenting the whole project. Its turning out pretty well. Keep it up and literally this time : hive on!

 3 years ago  

It sure is amazing, glad you watched the video. Yeah journaling this is quite important to me, haha for sure!

Great mate, you are going to have excellent quality honey. I enjoyed watching the video

 3 years ago  

Ah nice, thanks for watching it. Yeah eventually I will have honey, but may be a year before can I harvest any. The bees need it for themselves first.

Beautiful stuff mate, does the honey taste better? My neighbour where I used to live had a beehive. Used to be quite frustrating thought as in Melbourne everyone lives close together so it was right at my door. I'd been stung a few times.

 3 years ago  

Thanks man, honestly I have not tried any of the honey yet. This is their first year, and they need almost all of it to get through the winter. Maybe next year I can try some honey, just for right now I want them to survive.

Ah yeah having them too close to homes can be problem, mine are out in the woods on some acreage. So you would have to walk down to the hives for them to bother you.

One tip, it is more convenient to buy wax sheets, as the printed cells are feminine. By letting the bees build alone, they will build a lot of male cells

 3 years ago (edited) 

Ah thank you, I was not aware of that. Ok I will look into wax sheets when I do a split or start a new hive.

appreciate the info.