Sort:  

Fascinating, @solominer!
When I retire, I'll find a small property where I can do all of these things!

 3 years ago  

Yeah it's really blown my mind on raising these little bees. You can do it with little to no space. They dont sting.

Do you think I can try it? I live in a suburban town.
BTW, I mentioned you in my article Green Beans in a Pot in #ecotrain.

 3 years ago  

Yeah you sure can. Just give the homes a little cover from rain and see what shows up.

I like the tiny single home you have. I have a backyard.
And we have bees galore here. I wonder if they are Mason bees and if they will find the house.
Let me think about it.
I will need material for their home!

 3 years ago (edited) 

Yeah that works.. look up mason bee homes. You can build some with bamboo, or 2x4s. Or buy cardboard tubes that are disposable after one year of harvests.

If you need help figuring out what to buy let me know.

That's like a bee city! Great to see it's so busy. The solo bees are checking out my tubes and I see various bees around the garden. More flowers for them to feed from now. Keep getting bumblebees in the house, but they do no harm.

 3 years ago  

Hehe yeah it took many hours to route out all those boards. But now they are loving them.

That's great, what's your plan after the season is over? Going to remove the cocoons from the tubes? Or let them emerge naturally?

I'll try extracting them. The tubes are designed for that.

Absolutely love your bee updates - please keep them coming!

 3 years ago  

Ah.. glad to give updates. Will do a post on my honey bees soon.

Hurrah! I'm looking forward to it - thank you, @solominer!

Congratulations @solominer! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Your post got the highest payout of the day

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - May 1st 2021 - Hive Power Delegation
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!