Bees moving in

in The Pollen Flow3 years ago (edited)

I few weeks back I put out some nesting tubes from MasonBees.co.uk that are designed for solitary bees. Today I noticed a couple of bees checking them out. I only had my phone on me, but I managed to get a couple of picture. These may be red mason bees, but I will try to get better pictures to try and check that.

You can see one emerging here after checking the place out. Just to the left the other is crawling in another tube.

Bees

They are checking out several of the tubes.

Peeking out

This may be a better shot if anyone can identify it. @solominer is the resident expert on Hive, but we will have some different species here in the UK.

Bee

It is great to see the bees making use of the tubes. The idea is that you take out the inners once they have been filled and store them safely to reduce issues with predators and parasites.

UPDATE: I meant to mention that I found some other wildlife today. We have had some rats in the chicken run and have resorted to some poison. I do not like killing things, but they could get out of control. I found one on the lawn, alive, but not moving around. I put it out of its misery. I did not take a picture.

Sort:  

Had to do a Double take there!! I thought it was 30 spliffs on first viewing 😋

Hopefully the bees take up residence man 🐝

LOL! I keep seeing the bees around there, so I hope they will use the 'spliffs'.

!BEER

They look like they are hitting them heavy too!! Hopefully they don't get the munchies or all your honey will be gone!! 😆


Hey @ablaze, here is a little bit of BEER from @steevc for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

 3 years ago  

They probably are Red Mason Bees. I hear they are more common there. Mine are Osmia Taurus which came from Asia a long time ago.

The bands on your bees abdomen tell me its different than mine. As the Osmia Taurus are a flat black. Yours appears to be fuzzy and have banding.

The white spot on their face means they are males I believe. So you should see some bigger females start visiting them soon.

Great post and thanks for sharing on The Pollen Flow.

I'm just happy to see them exploring the tubes. I pass there most days, so I can check on progress.

!BEER

 3 years ago  

Hehe yeah I watch mine all the time.. they are busy bees.


Hey @solominer, here is a little bit of BEER from @steevc for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

I did the same , no voluntary tennents yet but I found a dead bumble bee so gonna do some photos with him

I'll be keeping an eye on mine and try to get some decent shots.

Actually I will add a bit to the post about the other wildlife I found...

I am watching like a hawk aswell and while searching I found her

6FDF4ECC-4D46-445D-9F7B-BE741D301681.jpeg

I just found some ladybirds apart from the bees.

"I did not take a picture." - Cracked me up

It's almost a reflex to take pictures for social media these days, but at the time I was just concerned with getting rid of the rat.

Thank you for sharing this amazing post on HIVE!
  • Your content got selected by our fellow curator @solominer & you just received a little thank you via an upvote from our non-profit curation initiative!

  • You will be featured in one of our recurring curation compilations and on our pinterest boards! Both are aiming to offer you a stage to widen your audience within and outside of the DIY scene of hive.

Join the official DIYHub community on HIVE and show us more of your amazing work and feel free to connect with us and other DIYers via our discord server: https://discord.gg/mY5uCfQ !

If you want to support our goal to motivate other DIY/art/music/homesteading/... creators just delegate to us and earn 100% of your curation rewards!

Stay creative & hive on!