An Invitation To Dinner

in Centlast year

#SublimeSunday, a tag presenting you with the unique opportunity to post something a bit different, wacky, crazy or just whatever takes your fancy, initiated by @c0ff33a ☕️

And #BeautifulSunday initiated by @ace108

~~~~~~~~ SublimeSunday / BeautifulSunday ~~~~~~~~

My very generous friend, Ernest, had once again invited our group of mates for dinner. For those who could make it, Happy Hour was 5pm, and dinner at 6.30pm.

I usually dropped by a bit earlier to have a peek at his kitchen, or to see him at work hoping to pick up a tip or two on cooking. I am not a good cook, you see. But he always says, “I don’t follow recipes, I go with my feelings.” So, I guess I have to learn to follow my feelings too when I am cooking.

Anyway, by the time I arrived, Ernest had done all the preparation work. He will cook when we are ready to eat. Meanwhile, as the rest trickled in, we had a drink and a bite of something somebody brought, and got caught up on what’s the latest.

It is always good to catch up with old friends every down and then. We were all from an F&B class at the School of Hotel and Tourism Education Center (SHATEC) back in 1986. After the course, we went our separate ways until Facebook and Whatsapp reunited us again seven or eight years ago. Since then, we have been meeting up once or twice a month – either at a restaurant for a meal or at Ernest’s place at his invitation.

Due to work and family commitments, not all are able to meet, but whoever is free to meet will be there. There were eight of us last night.

Here are the dishes Ernest prepared last night. A very scrumptious meal indeed. We had Chinese dishes last night. So, it’s communal dining – we all partake and share what’s on the table.

We had Lotus soup to start with. Lotus roots boiled with pork ribs and dates. A healthy and nutritious soup.

Braised soft bone pork with soya sticks

Baked soya chicken

Sautéed prawns with leek and black pepper

Pan fried fish with teriyaki sauce

Blanched kai lan with abalone n wolfberries

Served with steamed rice

Some red wine for those who drink

Some fruits after dinner

Jackfruits and strawberries

Mangoes

Grapes

And there were cakes from Awfully Chocolate who touted themselves as Singapore’s favourite chocolate. They are nice!

In between the eating, drinking and chatting, an evening was spent - all too quickly. All in all, it was an enjoyable evening – as always. Plenty to eat, drink and good company of old friends. What more can one ask for.

ecency.png

follow_2.png

Sort:  


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @ladytitan ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 131 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
!BEER
11

Thank you.

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @quotes-haven.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Thank you.

Wow! I would drop in for the cakes!lol

Noted. 😊

Hi there, @netizen01. 😃😃 I love this gathering of friends, it's the best way to relax and have a good time on a weekend.

Your friend is a chef! Look at all these delicious looking dishes. I would like the sautéed prawns and fried fish with teriyaki sauce. Please invite me over next time. 🤣

My friend loves to cook and entertain. We are lucky to be a part of his social circle.

Yes, I enjoy simple pleasures like this on a weekend.

Great ingredients but I'm happy with the lotus roots soup in these weather we are having now.

👍😊