My Childhood Playtime || Paper Dolls

in Toys on Hive3 years ago

I have never owned a Barbie Doll, nor the fake wannabes. But what I did spend some time playing with when I didn't have my head buried in an Enid Blyton were Paper Dolls. And oh the fun I used to have creating the clothes and colouring them in.

So, searching for pictures that I could include, I was pleasantly surprised to see that these paper dolls are still being sold. Here's one of the many from colourbox.com

nn.png
source

I really like this but woah!! Look at the price!! That's crazy no? But the accessories don't have tabs like I remember them. So, I googled 1980s paper dolls - and what do you know!! I found some on Etsy.

images.png
source

Still, look at the price!! Ok, now that you already know the kind of paper dolls I am talking about from these screencaps...

I can't remember exactly, but I know I used to buy them with my pocket money, and my pocket money wasn't much. So I'm guessing it was in the region of RM1 or so (my pocket money was 15 cents).

I would buy one sheet, so I get one paper doll with a few costumes. Then using the paper doll, I'd trace more costumes for her. Then, when my paper doll was falling apart, I'd trace her out and create another paper doll. I created all kinds of everything- ok, perhaps not as fancy as these but still many pretty pieces.

Yikes, now I am itching to buy one. Too expensive though. Maybe I'll get the artists in my family to draw me one instead...

That was fun. I have this warm fuzzy feeling now. Did you ever play with these paper dolls?

Thank you for reading😊
Till next time, Carpe Diem❣️
Sh33la

Sort:  

OMG... If you only KNEW 😁 lol
I absolutly was obsessed with paper dolls growing up.
I did play with barbie and dolls, but paper dolls was my favorite 😍
And I still have mine actually and they are old and so are The clothes 🙈 should need an update 😁 lol
Now I really need to do a post about it and show them to you.
Thank you for reminding me and I soo wish kids today found that fun as I had a blast.

Have a wonderful week my friend and go for it if you want it 😉
Crazy tho how pricy it is compare to when I was a kid 🤪 Im old 😂

Much love ❤️❤️❤️❤️

I can't believe you still have yours
You so must share
And please tag me :)

Yes, I was shocked to see the price!!

Hey my sweet friend 🤗❤️
Hope you are having a fantastic week.
I am sorry it took me so long to make my paper doll post, but better late than ever right? 😁 Lol
So here it is, hope you like it.

https://hive.blog/paperdolls/@saffisara/childhood-favorite-paper-dolls

This post has received a 100.00% upvote from @fambalam! Join thealliance community to get whitelisted for delegation to this community service.

Wow!!! I remember those paper dolls!!!! I played with them as well, they had tabs on the shoulder and hip to hold onto the clothes. And if I remember correctly they came in thinnish cardboards, the doll could stand, and you'd just gently push the clothes out from the piece of cardboard, you didn't need to cut them. Is that the same as yours!! I wonder how you play with the new ones if there are no tabs to 'wear' the clothes.

Thanks for bringing back some great memories Sheila!!!

Yes, yes!! It is the same one I played with :D

And true, I stared at that first one trying to figure out how the clothes would stay on the doll

But yes to tabs haha
Did you make your own costumes too?

I had a great time remembering my Paper Doll days haha
So thank you for this community reminded me of them :D

What a fun post! My sister and I grew up playing with dolls and paper dolls in the 1950s and 1960s. I had Barbie, Francie, and (eventually) Scooter. We also played with paper dolls. It seems to me we cut Betsy McCall paper dolls out of a magazine. I remember cutting clothes for our paper dolls from colorful wrapping paper. We cut tabs to hold the clothes onto them. It sort of worked. We had trolls, too, and my sisters crocheted clothes for them. My daughters, growing up in the 1990s, had some paper dolls with clothes that somehow just stuck to them. I don't recall what they were made of.

I thought it was a 70s/80s thing
So it has been around even before that - thank you for schooling me :D

What a great idea to create the clothes from colourful wrapping paper.

Crocheting for trolls - what an amazing time we grew up in ... I feel <33

Congratulations @kaerpediem! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 11000 replies.
Your next target is to reach 11500 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Time to go on your Hive Tour

These were my favorite!! I loved being creative and making these dolls look amazing in their cool outfits i created :). That is amazing you would just keep making your own dolls as they wore out! Very innovative for a little kid!! Thanks for jogging a memory I had forgotten about!!

It was fun for me too
Simple and fun times eh :D