Building a classic Star Wars scene

in Toys on Hivelast year

When I was a kid I had lots of Lego. It was generally not as fancy as today. The mini-figures came along later and it was not aimed so much at an adult audience. I had a big box of random bricks which I used to build space ships and buildings. Everything tended to be pretty square. My kids had had a fair few sets that they enjoyed. I will admit that I had fun with them too.

This Christmas I had my first set for myself in many decades. I was 11 when Star Wars came out and the sequence of attacking the Death Star was iconic.

Box

This set recreates that scene in 665 bricks. Those come in a series of bags that you open when prompted by the thick instruction book. There are about 140 steps.

Base

This is the base after three bags. Note that there are pieces left over. There were none missing, but maybe they expect you to lose some of the smaller ones. Note that I use a baking tray to sort the parts in and reduce the chances of them falling off the table. I built it over a couple of sessions of perhaps two hours in total.

Finished

Here is the finished model. I think it is neat how they mount the space ships and have lasers shooting from the TIE Fighters as the X-Wing banks. Unfortunately there are no figures of Luke and Darth Vader, but they would be tiny at this scale. I have it now on the shelf above my desk. I can see it will be a pain to dust.

My son still likes his Lego, but I do not get to help with his sets. He is also into Star Wars, so I had a good influence there.

I hope you enjoyed your presents too.

Sort:  

Amazing! I think these sets are really cool, I've never actually seen these small scenes, but I think I'll have to look into them myself, I haven't had a Lego set in so long either.

I really like how the ships are mounted too, it looks like a really good diorama. Haha, yeah I can imagine some tiny Luke and Vader figures, but I guess it wouldn't be worth the hassle for Lego to make them.

I wonder if there is a Hoth scene simular to this, I can imagine a small AT-AT with a Snow speeder in mid-flight and maybe a second one crash landed in the snow!

!PIZZA !LOLZ

Why do bees have sticky hair?
Because they use Honeycombs.

Credit: mimismartypants
@steevc, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @killerwot

Use the !LOL or !LOLZ command to share a joke and an $LOLZ
(4/8)

We like the way you play the game! !PGM
Thanks for being a supporter of The LOLZ Project.

Sent 0.1 PGM - 0.1 LVL- 1 STARBITS - 0.05 DEC - 1 SBT - 0.1 THG - 0.000001 SQM - 0.1 BUDS tokens to @lolz.pgm

remaining commands 14

BUY AND STAKE THE PGM TO SEND A LOT OF TOKENS!

The tokens that the command sends are: 0.1 PGM-0.1 LVL-0.1 THGAMING-0.05 DEC-15 SBT-1 STARBITS-[0.00000001 BTC (SWAP.BTC) only if you have 2500 PGM in stake or more ]

5000 PGM IN STAKE = 2x rewards!

image.png
Discord image.png

Support the curation account @ pgm-curator with a delegation 10 HP - 50 HP - 100 HP - 500 HP - 1000 HP

Get potential votes from @ pgm-curator by paying in PGM, here is a guide

I'm a bot, if you want a hand ask @ zottone444


I love Lego and Star Wars. I remember Darth Vader back in 1977 (I think it was wasn’t it?). Dad took me to the Odeon in Leicester Square and it was a real treat.

Enjoy!

I was 11 when it came out, the perfect age. One of those things that's been around my whole life, even if they messed up with some of it.

!BEER

Throw out the instruction manual, close your eyes and use the force to build it!

I suspect it would be a mess if I did that. My Midi-chlorian count is low.

!BEER


Hey @todayslight, here is a little bit of BEER from @steevc for you. Enjoy it!

We love your support by voting @detlev.witness on HIVE .

Very cool set! We love lego here and would like that set, maybe I will pop to the Lego shop....Happy new year!

Love star wars and lego!

I'm playing a lot of lego with my son now - he got 3 sets for Christmas from different people - all Ninjago lego though which seems to be the thing all the kids are into these days.

I'm trying to get him to watch star wars but he says it would be too scary!

I am tempted one Christmas to buy one of the big adult sets as a present for the whole extended family to get together and build as a team. Though I suspect maybe that would mostly be a present for me!

Happy New Year Steve

One of the joys of parenthood is the excuse to play with toys. Kids today have some cool stuff.

I'm sure he will like the movies when he's older. You could start with some of the animated ones to get him into it.

Happy New Year!

Good idea on the animated ones! I haven't even watched those myself... will try...

I've watched some of the Clone Wars and Bad Batch. They are aimed at kids, but there's various characters who pop up in the films and live action series.

I kind of like how Lego have become the modern day modeling kits. Less messy without the paint and glue and no less impressive. I've bought a few of the adult sets for myself to do at night after the kids go to sleep. They can be very relaxing.

Building something can be very satisfying. I am not so good at making things from scratch, so a kit can be better for me.

OK, now about 100 more of those kits and you can actually make enough trench to play in.

... and that turbo cannon is supposed to be up on the surface, not in the trench.

But those little Tie fighters and that X-wing look fun. So jelly

Have you seen the price of these kits? A full Death Star would cost millions! I built it according to the instructions, so blame the designers for any inaccuracies. You do know Star Wars is fiction I assume...

NO, the original three movies where filmed in a galaxy far, far away and a long, long time ago.
It is an honest documentary! :-p

Do they have a Millennium Falcon in the same scale as the X wing?

There's this little one, but it may not be available any more. I can see you are thinking it could be added to the scene.

I can see it will be a pain to dust.

Maybe next year you'll get a micro-hoover!

Nice present, LEGO was an XMAS present mainstay when I was younger, but NOTHING topped the actual Millennium Falcon, well not the ACTUAL one but the actual plastic one, you know what I mean!

Happy New Year.

The big kits are cool, but seriously expensive. You need plenty of space to display them. This one is quite compact.

Happy New Year!

This Lego set looks great, I've seen it several times in the store, now that I see it assembled I think I'll go ahead and buy it on the next visit. It looks great!

It makes me smile when I look at it. You may enjoy it too.

The newer Lego sets are really impressive with all their complex shapes for parts. My Legos from back in the day were, like you said, just bricks. We built stuff with them anyway. :-)

We sure did. I spent a lot of time playing with mine.

!BEER


Hey @amberyooper, here is a little bit of BEER from @steevc for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Awesome... looks great...

Happy New Year and happy holidays!

Happy new year sir @steevc .

And to you! I didn't get a knighthood in the new year honours, so no need to call me Sir ;)

Congratulations @steevc! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 10 HIVE on Hive Power Up Day!
Wait until the end of Power Up Day to find out the size of your Power-Bee.
May the Hive Power be with you!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out our last posts:

Be ready for the first Hive Power Up Month of the year 2023!
Update For Regular Content Creators - New Yearly Author Badge
PUD - PUH - PUM - It's all about Power Up!
The Hive Gamification Proposal Renewal

🍕 PIZZA !

I gifted $PIZZA slices here:
@killerwot(6/10) tipped @steevc (x1)

Send $PIZZA tips in Discord via tip.cc!