Hey hey we're the Corgis

in Toys on Hive3 years ago (edited)

I had been meaning to post something on the Toys community for a while. I still have a few of my old toys and here are a couple of examples. These cars were both made by Corgi in the UK and must date from the 1970s. Back then we did not generally leave toys in the box in hope of future riches, we played with them.

I used to watch The Monkees TV show back then and I had their car, The Monkeemobile. This one is in fairly good condition with no parts missing, but there is a little wear to the paint as it would have been chucked in a box with other toys.

Monkeemobile

Some modern models have plastic underneath, but this is all metal with some nice details. 'Made in Gt. Britain' will be fairly rare on toys these days.

Under-Monkee

This Citroën SM looks like it has been crashed. The windows are cracked and those on the openng doors are mostly gone.

Citroën

The underside is fairly plain on this one. It says 'Mazak die-cast' at the rear.

French fancy

I am not looking to sell these. I expect they would only fetch a few pounds as I do not have the boxes. I found the Citroën on ebay in good condition with a box for £55. I can still enjoy them as parts of my childhood and my kids can have them if they want. I think I have some more in the attic, but these may be some of the better examples. I will have to go up there and see.

I guy I used to know runs this site all about diecast models and it looks like it is still getting updates.

Sort:  

Back then we did not generally leave toys in the box in hope of future riches, we played with them.

Those are called investments, not toys, which is a pity tbh 😔, changes the nature of things. Toys are meant to be played with not kept untouched.

Can those little men get out of the Monkeemobile or are they stuck inside (excuse the pun )?

If more people kept them mint then prices would be less silly. I'm not going to cry over what might have been.

The Monkees are firmly fixed in the car. I thought I had a James Bond Aston Martin too, but not seen it in many years. Some toys like that had extra features, but parts would get lost.

My parents moved house when I was 15 and the toys all vanished. Haven't a thing left from the small days.. I had lots of those cars. Mine were mostly Matchbox.

That's a shame. I think we sold and gave away various stuff. My mum had a second hand shop, so I would have made some money there. You can't keep everything, but it's nice to have a few.

!ENGAGE 10

I remember selling (or swapping) a lot maybe for train parts in a local model shop. They probably ripped me off, I was so naive then.

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

We played with our toys and tossed them in the toybox when we were finished. Plus, we sometimes played with things that weren't toys (big boxes to make a fort!)

My brothers had pretty cool cars too, although most were Matchbox. Made in Great Britain? Oh, gosh... I forgot about that. I love the Monkeymobile.

I had Matchbox too. I'll see if I can find a few of those for a post.

That would be awesome! I look forward to seeing them. They just don't make them like they used to!

The modern ones seem less sturdy with more plastic to save money. I'll venture to the attic to see what I have. Need to have a sort out there anyway.

We (my oldest brother and I) had that exact same Citroen ! Funny to see that again.

I still have a bunch of my old cars. They are so beat up that I doubt they are worth hardly anything anymore. My nieces and nephews still love to play with them when they come over. That is the main reason I keep them around. Perhaps some day their kids will even play with them.

Of and when I get grandkids I'll let them play with some of the cars.

My dad wants to pass on the grandfather clock his parents got at their wedding in 1925. We have the space, but may not have it running. Nice to have some family history.

That is pretty cool. I bet it has a lot of character being that old. We used to have an old man at our church who collected and worked on clocks. I remember visiting him as a shut-in and he had clocks on every single surface of his home. It was pretty cool.

Where ever are my brother's old toys?!!!

I haven't got them. Looked under the stairs?

My (two) brother used to play with die-cast metal cars, and you found them all over the house. They were both in the military... all gone now. How I wish I had their toys to remember them by.
🥰🌺🤙 !ENGAGE

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.