If you could travel through time, would you kill baby Hitler?

in Ask the Hive4 years ago (edited)

download.png

On April 20, 1889, in a small town in Austria, one of the greatest and most terrible leaders of Germany was born, but how many of those then knew what the child Adolf Hitler would become once he arrived in Germany and received the leadership of this country?

Probably nobody.

However, if you could travel through time and reach the bedroom where baby Hitler sleeps peacefully, could you kill him, to save millions of people from terrible torment and death? Would you end a man's life to save millions?

I wouldn't. Because I don't think I would ever be able to kill someone, and at the same time I believe to some extent in what is called karma, and I think that what is meant to happen will happen in one way or another.

That is why I believe that even if Hitler would have been put down as a child, shattering any chance that he would come to power in Germany and get involved in the World War II, it would certainly have been someone else who would do that. The clouds for rain were already formed.

Now, if you'd believe that the future of millions of lives would be in your hands, would you do it?

image source

Thanks for attention,
Adrian

Sort:  

The view that killing Adolf Hitler would just solve the world's problems is too simplistic.

Imagine this - Adolf Hitler is dead, The Nazi party still attempts a coup of sorts but fails like they did IRL but don't recover. Best case scenario - There's a German Civil war in the 30s and 40s, much like the one in Spain where fascist elements and religious elements fight together against the left, anarchist, and communist.

This allows Stalin to purge the army and rebuild the officer core without issues, with Germany in turmoil, Stalin decides to make a move in Poland, Poland falls - The USSR supports the communist in Germany and you have a communist Berlin-Moscow axis that probably topples France and supports Spain's commies.

Congratulations, by killing Hitler instead of killing 6 million Jews, you killed 30 million Europeans (probably including the jews as well) and doomed the world to communism. Want it or not, Nazi Germany was a key part in weakening the Soviets and it allowed the US to build a proper bulwark against communism in western Europe and keep them under control.

I see, you won't kill baby Hitler either. Curious to see if anyone would do that, and what reasoning would that be for taking him down. Thanks for the comment. It's the first and really on point with the topic.

Yes - I guess to answer the question without a rant, I wouldn't kill Hitler if I had the choice to.

You made it clear for me from the first comment. Now you made it clear for everybody, that will answer such a bizzare question.

When I was a teenager, I used to play a video game called Red Alert. The context is almost this: Einstein killed Hitler...and Staline came in. @lunaticpandora's comment is actually very close to the game plot...

However, who knows what would happen if we remove Hitler. Maybe we will have a better history line, maybe a worse. There are too many variables that I actually do not know. To answer the post: we should not dream about changing the past... Let's only focus on making the future better.

I'm really not trying to change the past, and even if I would, I guess I couldn't 😁. On making the future better I believe what we do now is what actually shaping it. Thanks for your comment. I remember that name Red Alert but I don't think I played it.

We could not change it. Physics does not allow for it :D

We are indeed shaping the future in some way, at the present time... I am not super happy about what we do.. but well... that's another debate ;)

I'm not super happy either.