Ask the Hive: What communities would you like to see kickstarted on Hive?

in Ask the Hive3 years ago (edited)

We have a lot of communities already, some with not so much action even though it's a big niche on the internet but we're working on something to get them highlighted better and stand a chance to compete vs the others. We're also working on some other things for communities that exist but the owners/moderators don't seem to want to work on them that much, before I go too much into that though, I just wanted to check with you guys if there's something you feel is missing right now that you think would have a good chance to become popular and maybe you personally would use as well. The OCD incubation might be interested in picking it up and supporting it in the ways we've been doing so far.

So yeah, this will be a short post, I'll make sure to not forget to set @reward.app as beneficiary this time around like my last askthehive post (even though I remembered to send the HBD to the DHF).

Let me hear what you think is lacking and what community you'd want to see spring to life!

50% of post rewards going back to curators through @reward.app


Sort:  

I will say something that the Community may already know and that perhaps for some it is a complaint, claim, or perhaps a trivial nonsense and most certainly no one will pay attention to it.

But thank God there is freedom of expression and here I will leave my sincere comment and with the intention of making things go the right way.

"It does not matter if there are 10, 200 or 1000 communities but none or part of them are not aware of their community. It also does not make sense that the community does not interact with each other.

I know that there are communities very committed to their users as well as users very committed to their community.

I'm just saying that the commitment has to be total and organic.

It does not matter that there is only 1 Community, you show the commitment to be organic and loyal.

The leaders of these communities must also look to the sides and realize that there are new users who have not been valued or received properly, I see how new users with fantastic and quality work are not rewarded.

But if I see users who upload some high and low quality post every day and are rewarded automatically and without any organic interaction, which is sad.

I think there is a lot to solve and I also know that no one is obliged to reward anyone, but I think we must have a balance so that everything flows correctly.

I see things from a middle ground, I believe that each committed community gives their best and their users love what they are creating.

As a user I will try to be 100% with the ** TreeSpeak ** community where I upload my videos and I believe that there is an opportunity to do something great to collaborate with that organic growth and that more users are encouraged to join and work with love and passion to achieve success.

I hope you understand my point and if I am wrong please do not hesitate to correct me, I am not an expert, just a user making life in Hive.

@bigcarrillo its true and sad but I got your back and so does the terminal discord to new arrivals so I don’t feel this is about us but the rewards and engagement at the moment are not that great. But I love your videos

I know, and as I have already told you, you are one of the few people that I see committed and who support the entire Community. I don't care if the rewards are big, small or none at all.

I care more about reaching people and that those who see my videos feel good and give them a special moment.

What you do is something great and you deserve the support of the whales to go further I know that in time you will reach the top and you will be pioneers in community and broad support.

I have already told you and I repeat it you are a beautiful woman and with that big heart ready to give your helping hand.

Thank you.

What I want to say so that it is not misinterpreted is that there are many of us and very few communities can reach all and a small group alone supports a part and that can affect the new ones.

Of course, you @brittandjosie and the #terminal team have welcomed and supported me, as well as I have received the great support of @threespeak with whom I am also grateful.

But I mean those who have not yet taken the time to look outside of their group.

I hope you understand me and excuse me if the language barrier does not allow me to explain myself.

You did great and there is no language barrier and I hope @acidyo reads the comments eventhough this is becoming a blog with huge comments strings hahah

I know what you mean and the simple answer is ITS TRUE untill than lets just move on with what we are doing creating content to hopefully the likes of our readers and our viewers and see where hive will bring us.

Untill than I am jealous of your ability to make such great vlogs and hope that the bigger accounts see what we do and help us and recognise the work we ( read I ) and the terminal
So and did for two years already, that’s not now

Hahaha I didn't really think that @acidyo would see or respond to one of my comments, but I think I was lucky this time.

I'll tell you, I started on Facebook, I realized that with my videos I could transmit a positive message and that motivates me.

But I wanted to come here to be part of the change and not depend on the total control of Facebook or YouTube.

If the road is long, but you and that project you have in #terminal is very good and in discord they are active, they just need a push.

Thanks for being in the terminal we will
Walk the hive walk together and I know he saw your comment this time so maybe a next time aswell @acidyo is also like me commenting and voting manually so that’s a full load of work , just keep doing what your re doing it’s working 😉

Sure, I'll keep doing it.

That's great the organic vote is necessary to create a connection between the two parties.

Your equal, I will be aware of your work, a hug. ☺️💗✌️

I see how new users with fantastic and quality work are not rewarded.

I hear many say this but I don't see much of it. I believe you, though and would gladly figure out a way to give people a chance to nominate great posts more freely while having myself and our curators make sure there's nothing fishy behind the content cause as you know giving people a way to promote their posts the worst kinds will most of the times be the first to try and take advantage of it.

About communities, we're going to become a lot more strict with the incubation program depending on if the communities and their leaders and moderators are doing good work on curating, maintaining and trying to grow them with our voting assistance. If not we will give others that are similar a chance instead or just focus elsewhere, there's plenty of niche's and community ideas but unfortunately not all that many users right now to truly give these communities a chance at blossoming.

You know the main idea is to reach out to the content creator and leave a comment, opinion, advice, or maybe a pat on the back.

As a video creator, I try to convey a message, it may not reach more than 1 or 3 people, but that is a beginning. When they give you the opportunity and they encourage you with a reward, you may reach more people and that is appreciated, the main idea is to have a balance and that the creator and consumer are in tune, the rest is profit, but all of us from time to time need a push so be it once a month.

Well, communities have flaws and failures, while others are on the right track or trying to do things well.

You need to have a clear look at what you want and most importantly, have your ears open to listen to every idea, thought, suggestion and perhaps some of them will be heard and give us the opportunity to advance to success.

Here is some more!
If you look you will see!
https://hive.blog/hive/@grimgriz/how-hive-wins-path-41
clearly worth way more than 0.03, no?

The Raspberry PI one would be a cool one but it needs more users first(nobody's posted to it for a month and I check weekly to see if I can have ideas for what to do with my pi).

I wonder if that might be a bit too niche and maybe something worthwhile first once we're in the millions of active daily users. Is there a subreddit for that that's active?

PS! Get more people to post in the programming community! 😇

More active than hive: https://www.reddit.com/r/raspberry_pi/. But you are right, it's definitely a niche thing.

Its hard enough for me to have good content to post in programming, even harder to find others who'll post in there. I'll give you a post in there sometime next week if my computer doesn't burn up and die.

How about Hive Gaming? It seems active here and a lot of people love games.

Stemgeeks.net could also maybe work for that topic

I use my Pi regularly, but I admit I haven't posted on the topic in a while myself. Maybe that'll be a December project.

Kickstarting new communities is great and all but to be honest the biggest issue right now is still user retention and finding out why people aren't sticking around rather than throwing poop at the wall until something sticks and people move here happily ever after. To have communities you need users to put in them to use it. May suggest somehow someway trying to find out the real reason people don't stay and fix that first before communities?

People don't stay because they're not recognised. Both by curators that can give a decent vote and by the fact that the social element of Hive is a joke. People need to connect with people the movement they walk through the door.

Beechater implemented into every community as a public live chat could help. Then this needs a private chat where meaningful connections can continue. This alone would make sure people want to return TO HIVE even if their content isn't getting recognition.

In so many industries the reward isn't what people are providing. It's what they're receiving. Only a small amount of users are ever going to be content creators (even smaller amount will be good) the rest just want to consume and connect.

Hive just doesn't do that well. At all!
Only die hards are OK with discord as a side app for communications. Majority would see that as a reason to realise that this platform is missing the crucial things for them to switch over from mainstream.

This initiative is hopeless. Even by his own words @acidyo says clearly that community owners don't see his dream. So then change man. You're asking people to be a free workforce in order to save a broken system.

What type of user experience is that!

BE THE CHANGE YOU WANT TO SEE.

The platform has many flaws and many clicks yes, these clicks result from years of engagement together, in other words, form your click, it takes time...like a lot of it, Something one only comes to understand years down the road. The key is to socialize and engage like on the various engagement contests around the platform. If there is nothing of your taste, then create it!

I know not everyone is meant to be content creators and are better consumers. This is essentially your blank canvas to make it what you want.

I tried to connect with newbies by commenting on their posts and sharing some of their work and most of them can't be bothered to reply. So fail #1 on their part. There are greeters, @brittandjosie are excellent in that department. I'm mostly quiet on the blockchain but I watch who does what. When I hear complaints of no attention and hard to earn, I issue contests to try to give back to the more entry level users, who participates? higher level users. Maybe they do well because they participate in things in one form or another. In other words, engage.

I understand Hive is the wild wild west and life ain't easy in them darn hills so cheer up and come visit my contest where there are other links to other engagement posts where lots of nice people hang out. Come make some friends and be noticed.

Sorry @acidyo not trying to spam your page with my contest, just trying to help a brother out.

Also it's good that we talk about these things out loud and fix it together. We all have a different vision and experience.

The change is HIVE NEEDS TO DO SOCIAL without patchwork. I can't be that change because that needs to be coded into the system by those that can code. I often get the code to my building incorrect!

You asked why Hive can't retain users so then that's your answer, which you actually deflected of as a non-issue. No offense to you, but that's part of the problem. Not enough people demanding it in order for the coders to make this web_3.0 actually superior.

Like imagine a new university trying to poach students from a big time university but then telling them "you'll need to bring your own library of knowledge or use the one down the road.."

I think your commitment is admirable btw, that's a thing which Hive CAN celebrate but the glue that keep users connected and ON HIVE is crucial or else it's an uphill battle.

I'm not trying to dismiss a problem, it's even funny that you suggest that since I'm the one that brought up talking about these issues before going to town on communities.

4oappq.jpg

Code-wise I know nothing. Social wise, probably not that much more but slightly. I see there are problems, perhaps I just see them differently then you do as well. We all have different perspectives and that's why it's good to talk about it. We can't change everything as individuals and that's overwhelming at times but you can also make the best of what you have available and have fun with it. Perspective is still a choice.

We have a series of archived great users how to posts that just went and died into nothingness. If there was a way to have them all pinned in some easy to access hive for newcomers section. There...that's a community you should support if anyone would create. There better suited then myself writing hive-how-to out there as we speak. The material is there, people have to look for it or ask for help or direction.

you can also make the best of what you have available and have fun with it.

That's the difference.

I'm only focused on the fundamentals. If the platform lacks those vital tools which support growth and retention then it's like cutting an artery and putting a bandaid on it.

I get what you are saying. Just keep in mind sometimes coders also forget the social aspects just like we the more social ones forget the coding aspects. Nobody is good at everything, we just need to come together and find a way because this place has great potential, lets not let it go to waste.

No worries, was caught off guard as I couldn't see all the comments on hive.blog but noticed the amount of them just now. Probably cause I muted teknow some time ago due to constant pessimism. Like yes, we get it, there are still issues, account creation is still a bit flaky some times, learning curve is still a bit steep depending on which dapp you start off with and people seem to get tired over time, with that I mean curators. Seems there's a need for constant fresh blood to be incentivized to go out and look for genuine new users to curate that don't start off on communities directly. On top of it all there is so much abuse and plag attempts that just taint it for newcomers chances of being seen and given the benefit of the doubt and adding so much extra work to curators to do background checks before they curate them. It's a lot to think about and I keep wondering how it can be improved - and don't get me wrong, I'm one of those who usually thinks "vote first - check later", as I'm not someone who cares about maximizing rewards or don't want to risk unvoting/downvoting what we've voted up. There's hivewatchers and others getting paid to make sure they track them down so it shouldn't always be on the curators to check that a post and account are legit but then there's also the "if you feed them and they see they can get away with some rewards here and there before they are caught they will keep trying and multiplying".

Anyway, I think communities will be a nice defense against this but the biggest issue right now is lack of consumption and engagement. It's like we've built this amazing platform that works well and can scale well but too few are daring to enter to try it out and many I've invited literally tell me I must be joking cause it sounds too good to be true considering all advantages we have here so they don't bother trying.

But yeah, be my guest. Will have to read all this in the morning though as it's getting late here and I just did a voting round of the communities.

Well I wont go into to many details since I left about a dozen and a half books across your page. I'm sure it must have been confusing with a muted user in the debate! More less what I was eluding to, there are flaws but many aspects are not considered because we are too focused on our own individual vison rather than try to see things from someone else's perspective...like an iceberg. There is a lot of moving parts.

However I think the marketing is going in the wrong direction as far as consumption, you can find details in the mess below if you dare. 😂😂 Right now everybody wants to write, those are the ones who join the platform. The consumers are those we share it to on other media. That's where marketing and devs should focus on. indirect traffic, people that are here and don't even know it...reading our content. Also reducing the need to scale since only those who wish to publish are here, those who wish to read only have a bridge to what they consider normal. Crypto is niche, there is a whole untapped world of consumers glues to their phones 24/7out there for free. Bridge that gap and let people slowly dip their toe in. Once they realize they have been using it unknowingly for months just reading cool content, they might take the plunge...try before you buy sorta deal.

Thanks for all you do around the platform! I know you care. also unrelated I wanted steps to delegate to ocdb (that's your project right?)since i'm still kinda crypto dumb and I don't know how without a link or how to undelegated later. If you could help me out with that it would be great. (I can just see you face palming right now! 😂)

Sorry, still didn't get around to read through this post haha, doesn't help that much of the discussion doesn't seem to be about what I asked to begin with. xD Will check soon.

About @ocdb, just delegating to it (easiest to do is through peakd.com in the wallet there) will get you on the list after 1 payout and then daily rewards in liquid hive straight after: https://thegoodwhales.io/delegators.html

ps. to show up on the list you have to delegate at least 250hp to prevent spam, but everyone gets daily rewards as long as it's not under 0.001 hive.

I'll try again tomorrow to read through these, the new expansion release of WoW has been keeping me busy lately I have to admit. :p

ok, maybe I'm trying to delegate to something I'm not sure about now! I'm glad I asked. What is it that you run like ocd that just helps random users with unrecognized good content that curators wrangle up, that's what I'm looking to delegate to, not a subscription bot of some sort. I'm confused at all the payout and spam bla bla bla now?

Anyways no worries about reading all that crap or not. It was never intended to happen, the convo got carried away with others, I get it. Sorry for that. However it could be relevant to some point taking strain off curation teams with other measures in place for taking care of oneself and missed opportunities for the platform. I just didn't know people were not using communities until you pointed it out.

So true dear and this would be an excellent entry for the contest by @jaynie aboitvyour thought on hive. I am gonaa see what contests you have running now. Thanks for the compliment and mention I appreciate it.

Haha, I should have, this was suppose to be a short comment! lol I didn't know it would snowball mad. You are welcome, you do a lot around here. It's not fair to say nobody is doing it when some like you are so dedicated to it.

@teknow i read no fun for you as a user, we don’t need negativity we need builders. I found some truth in what you wrote but I want to thank you for writing it and I hope it will change

LOL sorry.
If you did see my points though I partly succeeded.
The rest then, well I will work on it.
I respect your opinion and now ladybug has proven to be well opinionated also.

A thought: It seems the ladies of Hive are actually leading the way on the community front. You, @jaynie @ladybug146 and many others are running amazing initiatives which are adding so much rich content. All very organic and sustainable.

So maybe the coders need to do their part and improve the slab. That's my only gripe with Hive. If this had all the bits. I would be committed to it with more than just opinion and have no reservations in the long game. It's not hard at all to build networks. I refuse to build that partly on DISCORD though!

For me building a network and cosi g is abracadabra so I need to be trusting that the devs do the job that need to be down and as in real life there are so many opinions its hard to get all satisfied, but for me being here is a way of life , ofcourse I want hive to rocket to the moon but it’s more I get here than on other socials I like. In these trying times I am liking for people that will look to the future with me, who understand that now there is no way to communicate as much is I do without discord to be the hiver I am right now. Would it be good for Hive to have that internally well yes maybe but it isn’t here yet it’s adjoined to the hip and that’s perfectly fine for me. Do we nee change YES but a toddler needs to learn to walk and talk hive is only 8 months so let’s be posting commenting and engagement and come up with solutions or if that is not enough just leave there is so much available! This is for all reading this not for you personally but if you fit the shoe 👞 jahahah

I get your perspective. It's what I refer to as "die hards." You will go down with the ship because all your belongings are on said ship. Now the ship isn't going down and your commitment is not at all a bad thing. The only point of this comment is that the masses aren't like you. They pick something up, and on a whim discard it.

So traffic retention and conversion into active users is crucial.
Which is why the big tech platforms have that down to a hypnotic science!
Or they just buy out any potential competitor.

So then since these new systems depend on the money players. Catering to them is also very important. They too don't see a thing as a die-hard user does. They only view things objectively. So then there's fundamentals that make their decision easier.

IMO, crypto is still gambling but sustainability and then 'market share potential' are things which can be determined by simple analytics. So anyone putting up a large stake will only do that if the thing has potential. If it's got demand and can create growth. Hive has great communities.. but really outsiders don't even know. Then when a person researches, it's evident that the talk of the town is that even those committed communities are shedding users.

So then my logic-driven mind looks for the point of failure.

When a social platform,
Needs an external social platform,
In order to be a social platform..

Then that giant hole in the hull needs fixing.

I wonder how many active Hive users are on DISCORD actually.
I would think that even some that left Hive/Steemit would stay connected to their contacts on Discord. So isn't that a red flag to you? Hive actually working for a platform not even part of the Hive system. WTH!

There is some truth in the thing you write but the alternative isn’t great either and I like the fact it’s the platform it’s become and i stay for my friends and myself ! I make a library of life and make some pennies along the way, that a social platform needs another doesn’t bother me that much now maybe in the longrun but what would be your solution as I said I am not a coder

I wouldn't call it broken.

I don't think it's broken either but some people do and it's nice to know how people feel about stuff, I want people to do well and would help anyone who ask reasonably besides the standard "upvote my stuff cause I posted it"...I'm sure many here feel the same way.

I hear you. I just think there's a lack of consumers combined with a push to always onboard new creators. So that's a recipe for disaster. People want votes. Consumers do the voting. Some folks only want big votes and think the place is broken if they don't get them. That's ridiculous. Doesn't matter what size the account is. That's still only one consumer. They can't possibly get around to thousands of posts in a day. I know I can't.

Most of the issues people face are due to the lack of consumers. What's interesting is often some of the folks complaining don't go out and vote much or engage. But at the same time, it's really hard to play both roles.

See you agree: consumers.

Also I commit to commenting here and you can see I leave lengthy engagement comments relevant to the users content. Often they respond with appreciation because it's rare to them.

Sometimes I critique and people get offended and sensitive. That's ok. If I speak falsehoods then I welcome a decent rebuttal. It too generates engagement, after all.

I'm not the sensitive type. Would you believe I just spent the last fifteen minutes on the shitter?

Yes I definitely understand your stance, I see the same on just about every word.

4oaqdn.jpg

It's definitely hard to play both roles some can some can't. That's the beauty of it, you do what you want and you get what you put in. It's an attention economy and it's competitive. Not every actor gets cast in a movie just cause their an actor and so on...same concept. Consumers are vital and right now it's all sheriffs and no bandits.

I share my nonsense on my personal facebook page or randomly in private conversations that pop up even year old posts...I share it like it's a cheap prostitute at last call at the bar. The content is useful to them and they want to support, so many external viewers that never get to vote or comment everyone seems to forget about...outsider lives matter too! People need to think bigger than just the platform. Sharing our content where there already eyeballs to see...This is just a publishing platform. There is more to it then click post and walking away. It's up to each and everyone of us to bring our content to the consumer and the more people do that, more will encounter hive and get curious. It's marketing for dummies.

If it's not interesting for people outside of hive, it may not be interesting for hive either...just sayin

Yeah. I don't share posts like this to the outside. Some of that more creative shit I do though definitely gets passed around.

Did you see that post? It's about tying things together. Streamlining the consumer experience.

This world right now is going in many directions at once and everyone, including myself, needs to be patient with a few things.

I'll become frustrated if I find myself experiencing the same concerns in six months.

A sprained ankle then.
Or some sepsis going unchecked.

Seriously though.
Imo, had steemit had the ability for user retention there would be no need for all this patchwork that Hive now needs as a must in order to stop the leakage.

I know you've got some good ideas and respect your input but I've seen you yourself say that it's just pointless to onboard to what's currently here.

Chat + superior mobile experience is my two vitals. Without that all I see is fragmentation and only die hards accept that.

If that's what Hive wants to cater to then OK. Which, imo, is why devs don't really go ham. They like it niche. Community however pretends the masses want to come here. When, that's actually conditional.

Can it do what mainstream does and more?
Answer: No.

Does it have enough content to induce gratification overload to make me go there and stay hypnotised, drooling with delight, despite Hive lacking the other things mainstream does for me?
Answer: No, sorry I bothered you.

I know you believe that too because again I agree with your point that CONSUMERS OF CONTENT aren't catered to here and if they were here in large numbers, they would be a source of revenue.

The "paying customer" after all is why all social platforms came into existence. One way or another our activity generates the money. However, content didn't come into existence on the internet from the get go. There was once a time when putting yourself online was a negative. So it was once all that started existing that Big Tech pounced like a vulture.

This here Hive (steemit) attempted it in reverse. Money before the content. Worse: Platform without completeness.

To me that's the broken.

It's got a few zits, sure.

Steemit days retention issues stem from the onboarding practice of attracting new members with a subtle promise of getting paid. Nobody told them it would be like Youtube, where you have to grind to build a following of consistent supporters. These amateurs showed up expecting to earn the big bucks with a Facebook like status message. Then said the place was broken when nobody wanted to buy their ridiculous pamphlets with upvotes.

In reality, creating content is a tough gig. Most fail. Look at Youtube. One cannot simply make a video and go viral. So people leaving because they failed as content creators is normal. It's the consumers who always stick around. Thousands upon thousands upon thousands more will fail on Youtube, but that doesn't stop people from watching videos.

We just need to shift the focus to attracting consumers. There's plenty here for them, including rewards. But if they come here expecting to earn the big bucks for leaving comments, they will be disappointed. Still, earning a nickel for leaving a comment is far more than all Youtube consumers earned in the past decade. Consumers also earn consumer rewards. They can also have their money back if they purchase stake and decide this isn't for them. These are easy selling points.

Since they're such easy selling points, I tend to glare at some of these creators here with big outside followings. You know the type. The one's with hundreds of thousands of followers outside the platform, but no comments under their posts here.

I don't blame the platform. As I said here I only try to onboard consumers interested in my product now. Nothing else. And if these folks wit large followings did that, they'd be offering their consumers a great deal as well as setting themselves up with a solid revenue stream. It's an intriguing business model and incredibly disruptive to the entertainment industry when the full potential is realized.

It is a very important point to attract CONSUMERS who only want to consume content, without the false illusion or motivated by receiving some money in return.

That is a problem, many come to this type of platform with the sole intention of making money, others with seeking more freedom of expression which they do not get on Facebook or YouTube.

I consume very specific content, such as topics that talk about life, thoughts, things like that, it hurts that in my original language (Spanish) there is not much of that, but in the end I am a consumer.

That is lacking here, but that motivation is in some cases backed by money.

Perhaps the success of the platform comes when people see SHARING as their first motivation and finally being rewarded if their work really deserves it.

Commitment and desire to do things well, I believe that together we can turn this around and that errors and failures have a solution.

The fact remains though, they do earn. They can play games, browse content, upvote, engage. All of this pays. Power consumers can earn enough for a new device to browse on if they try hard enough. And one cannot fail as a consumer here.

Have you ever watched a livestream on Youtube or elsewhere and notice all that consumer money pouring in? 30% of that goes to Youtube. Consumers love to spend money and here they actually get a return on that investment. This platform needs consumers and creators who actually understand the business model.

See that's all true and completely relevant to the state of Hive. I agree with you completely and see minds like yours as vital to the road ahead.

It's the consumers who always stick around.

That's why I believe money/rewards (and promise of) before content was what set this all up for failure. For what could people stick around for?

So then the fundamental flaws that exist right now is Hive punishes low level votes. Hive doesn't provide consumer connectivity ON HIVE. It also has a ridiculous system of CURATORS getting more than the actual content creators.

WTF!?
Blind trail voters over actual creators?

So hey I'm all for community love parades of "make best use of what you have" but fundamentals that are broken going unchecked is an issue that keeps on bleeding out.

Even @acidyo makes the point that this initiative is manageable now. However if millions of users come, then one person can't manage it. It's people that keep it going. The network effect.

But then... it's either:
the platform sustains it / or kills it.

I think @acidyo going to be pissed this comment section got derailed. LOL!

I think you are putting words in my mouth, I never said onboarding was a moot point, I said we need more of it. This comprehension issue or putting words in my mouth is getting old real fast.

The platform shouldn't be advertised as a cash cow and that's why it failed with the s-word. People got attracted here for the wrong reasons and that's why many didn't stay cause they weren't making 1k a day shitposting flashy pop ups that will make your eyes bleed . The platform is young it has a few sharp edges that can be smoothened , yes, I have always agreed with that, we have a long way to go and it's not going to happen yesterday. Hive needs people of hive to produce content that is consumable outside of hive and share it to an audience of their own in some shape or form rather than be entirely focused on onboarding. With it's many flaws, people still under-use what is already available. This can be a powerful tool if we use actually use it right... Fix the bugs as we go along.

I chose to see it as a self publishing tool and not an audience, although still appreciate the fact that I can build one here too...the rest is up to me where it goes beyond the platform. More need to think that way. Make sense socially? no?

This place may not make everyone and their grannies rush over doesn't mean it can't be used outside of the platform, where ads for outsiders would come in handy to cash in on those who might be underwhelmed in using the platform daily but might come across a nice article or two his friend posted in a private message that is still viewership.

I agree private chat would be vital for sure and help with usability and socializing.

At the end of the day, your content is your product and subject to market demand and some people around here expect to fill shelves and keep the doors to the store locked and expect stuff to fly off the shelves.

A movie producer doesn't fill seats to a theater cause he made a movie...He has to advertise it. That is personal responsibility not the blockchain's fault.

Fiery one!
Ain't no ladybug. You're a scorpion!
Lol I really like your expressive and outspokenness manner though. Seriously this conversation is only a sliver of people here but it's intense, passionate and robust.

Conversations like this are actually attractive to outsiders and live as value long after the post is forgotten. I remember on steemit early days I would get consumed in past posts that involved lots of committed individuals that had disagreements. A newbie really gets a feel for the network by posts like that.

It also indirectly sells the "community" element and tells the viewer that people here believe in the product. The money thing I see as secondary. Opportunity for that has many angles. Like you said, good promoters know how to get their product to market.

The network effect however is the core issue. Steemit and Hive just haven't mastered that. I could say why, but then you already know, because I've already made that point.

Take care ladybug!

Sometimes my alter ego shadybug comes out to play. I am opinionated and my real job is making it work with a bunch of dudes who think I shouldn't be there in the oilfield. I have learned when to be a fly on the wall or come out guns-a-blazin...I think it was just my calling to be strong willed! I'm a Sagittarius, the most fiery sign in the zodiac.

I agree 100% with what you said, I used to be glued to those posts back in the day, it's probably what got me addicted to this place, I got fat on all the popcorn. I live for the productive drama that went on like this where it doesn't resort to name calling or immaturities.

Like you said, that's when we seemed to find direction rather then just drift to wherever we drift to. I think it makes newbies want to learn about the platform to know what we are talking about and benefits them by learning how to work it. We are the old school and we hustled for a long time. Sometimes people expect instant results and it just doesn't work that way.

To an outside investor, it looks like discussions are made and directions are taken based on community consensus as they state is the heart of the project. Like you said, a community that cares of the outcome of the platform even if we can't all get along. I Think that's the point in community led...we all want something, we can't all have what we want.

It's not even about getting hive to market to go fully mainstream. I think the content consumers everyone cries about will never join the platform because crypto and writing isn't their thing. Doesn't mean they don't like the content. Hive devs need to find a way to tap that value because that's where it is. I understand devs have a vision, large investors want token value, the socialites want usability, imagine that in one great package. If it doesn't match up with what consumers want, there will not be consumers and that affects token value.

People do not stay, as perhaps they are not supported and are going to try their luck elsewhere.

If there are flaws in their strategy or expectations to begin with, it will not work else where no matter where they go. If they can thrive elsewhere, then kudos to them, I wish every one the best and success in the end no matter where it is.

I think @skatehive ‘s community is doing some amazing things, and has a ton of potential. Think of how big skating is on things like Instagram! So many ppl just making content for nothing, just to spread stoke, get recognition, and maybe get sponsored. Hive could be the new form of sponsorship, that allows businesses to sponsor skaters by powering up an account, and voting on skaters riding their gear.

That being said, I agree with the discussion in the comments. Hive needs a chat system, big time! Also to fix the search system, better filters for searching for content, and controlling the feed.
Another issue I see is that most ppl here are creators, and very few people are curators. No wonder no one feels they get the recognition they get on other platforms! Ppl want to be seen! So how can we empower all the consumers of content, to come curate content here?

One area which I would love to see grow is the Maker community. I know we already have Build-it but it really doesn't seem to be getting the curation it needs to really take off.
PS. Also Ask the Hive is a great idea but when I have posted I got no replies.

other than Build-it there's also DIY Hub.

Thanks for that, I will join that community also.
!ENGAGE15

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Thank you for the opportunity and I personally love to see Sports community.

We can't build community without incentives that's why I'm contributing LEOFinance.

HIVE needs a mobile app that's work faster and better than essency. If we can onboard more people then it's easier to create more niche communities. So I'm trying to encourage @dapplr

I just think that Hive needs to have less of a difference from those who have hp and have a voting power, and those who dont. New author even if he brings excelent content original, mostly cant earn anything but cents. Mostly you need to be upvoted from top 10 accounts othervise your content means nothing

I have a couple groups in mind in existence outside of this realm that would benefit tremendously from the chance of being monetized. Incredibly active communities that come equipped with both content and consumers (AND consumers; so incredibly important). But I'm keeping it all a secret for now!

evil laugh

When things become more streamlined I'll be knocking down doors and pulling out hostages. The market now is just too small, and it's too complicated to get things rolling, for the average human who knows nothing of what we do here, restricted by their own comfort zones and fear of change. I don't want to set anyone up for failure but I'm looking forward to the day things start coming together. I'll know when to pull the trigger.

Existing communities could be working on ways to onboard dedicated consumer types. That would help, a lot. The only folks I try to onboard now at this point are people interested in my stuff, who'd be willing to invest a bit in supporting my stuff. Paying consumers basically.

It's a good start tho. I'm starting to have questions about people asking how to donate to my blog but don't really want to get involved in crypto. We need an

4oao0l.jpg

It's too bad one can't simply buy Hive cards at the store, like a gift card. Would be nice if the door was easier to open and purchasing tokens was streamlined; made easier to purchase online.

Those difficulties hold me back from attempting to onboard entire communities. I'd be sitting there attempting to answer thousands of questions, for days and days, and maybe only get a few through the door. It's just not ready for that yet.

I got a hive tip today on an old post! That's some good news. Rarely get to ever experience that evergreen content feeling. That's the type of consumer this platform craves though.

I mentioned the gift card thing a long time ago and I agree it would be great for marketing. It's not really do-able right now because of regulations and stuff.

Maybe we should start doing that...tipping each other on old posts we may have missed...it would create use case as a tipping feature. Imagine all the demonetized youtubers begging for bitcoin, they could be begging for hive to if it was easier. Same as the washed up recipe barbies that recirculate the same recipe once a month for 3 years begging for ad clicks.

Why don't we have ads for outsiders, sign up to hive if you don't want to see ads, burn some of the revenue or put it towards development, send some of the revenue to bloggers as incentive to share their content to consumers via other more established platforms after post expiration date.

Sometime I get random online magazines that throw me a few bones to post mah shit on their site...I'm not getting rich from it but it feels nice to know my work is also appreciated outside the platform. This is one big random talent search, ya never know who's behind the curtain.

That's what I thought the tipping feature was for. Everyone knows staking and tipping with votes is a far better deal, so that's why tips aren't so popular. Plus maybe people are just stingy LOL!

Those folks shouldn't be begging for bitcoin. Should be politely asking their following to stake tokens and vote. Again it's a better deal to the consumer as they get a 'return on donation'. It's incredible actually and I'm surprised more folks haven't caught on.

It would be interesting if ads existed and then removed if the consumer purchased or accumulated something like 5000 HP. Of course that number would have to be a set cost in USD and not fluctuate with the token value. 5000 was worth over 30k once and nobody is going to trade in the vehicle to remove ads from a website.

"it's a better deal to the consumer as they get a 'return on donation'. It's incredible actually and I'm surprised more folks haven't caught on"...100%

I thought so too. I know some who are active for free on FB, they would do well here and along with miscellaneous reader streams here and there, they tend to glaze over and abandon ship when they learn they have to keep this weird long code safe on a flash drive or something. Also can't wrap their heads around return on donation.

I don't really care the exact science behind the ad and token amount however it gets implemented, there should be something in place to up the ante a little for everybody. If you don't have an audience here but do elsewhere, well you can still cash in some of that while creating some form of un-official traffic to the platform here without shilling.

Work out programs would be good. But they would have to be organized well

Your post has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!
Try https://ecency.com and Earn Points in every action (being online, posting, commenting, reblog, vote and more).
Boost your earnings, double reward, double fun! 😉

Support Ecency, in our mission:
Ecency: https://ecency.com/proposals/141
Hivesigner: Vote for Proposal

Congratulations @acidyo! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 1800 posts. Your next target is to reach 1900 posts.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

From a social engagement point of view Engage the weekend Community smallish niche community with engagement the key, lots of comments and votes on the post and seems to be enjoyed over the weekend.

Even though the Raspberry Pi is a tiny niche, I would like to see it grow, perhaps the problem is not enough view out there for it and it is a niche community of several others like Stem and Programming. Since I am brand new to the Raspberry PI a little boost would be great. (I saw @rishi566 comment)

Well, I think Hive needs a marketing community where all the good ideas on how to promote Hive would be collected...

How do you create network effect from what your already have on Hive?

REWARD ARGENTINA
REWARD VENEZUELA

Instead of trying to generate new communities, reward well the ones that are here and sticking around. Alexa shows Hive has a large userbase from those countries already here. The reason why is obvious. Hive rewards make a difference to them.

They will onboard more people when they start bragging about how well they're treated on Hive. From the days of steemit it was clear Latin America was going to take to this thing.

That's Hive's ticket to 'a feel good story of crypto.'

I know @theycallmedan has ran a few initiatives to reward Latino but it needs to be much more that just one individual making it an initiate for one week. The possibility to onboard much more of Latin America is there. Whether people truly want that is another thing. If this Hive wasn't so broken I'd put my money where my mouth is but until there's at the least a decent Hive Chat and a mobile app then I'm embarrassed to onboard anyone.

Those already here though, that already committed, can take steps to repair this thing methodically. If not then who the hell will still be here in a year? If there's one takeaway from LEO success is that it's truly a unified community. Everyone sees their worth appreciated. So the engagement level is exploding. Plus constant development helps.

Time to swallow pride and copy.
Or kick bee poop down the road.

Currently very many hive users are from Indonesia, but some of them have to quit due to lack of support from the community. I just want to suggest to you to revive the Indonesian Hive Community by supporting or delegating hive power to the curator you choose so that creator content originating from Indonesia can revive as before. @acidyo 😊

I wish to see the FPL community which I had already created being active. There are millions of FPL players and many of them freely post about their FPL teams on centralized social media. Why not on hive? We can also have our own hive league on FPL and even attach a prize for winners.

Some accounts make live curation posts on Discord voice chat. there we talk about our post and reading it, like if we are promoting it. it would be cool to see a community where you can post and be selected to promote it in discord voice chat on a specific day. I think that would compromise more people to write, because they are been hear and more people can read the post, as well get corrected if they have some errors.

!tangent


Congratulations, @asimo You Successfully Trended The Post Shared By @acidyo.
You Utilized 1/3 Daily Summon Bot Calls.

TAN Current Market Price : 0.654 HIVE

Is there a buy/sell community for posting goods and services to exchange for BBD & HIVE? If not, how could we make one with a good way to verify buyer and seller reputation separately from our blockchain rep?

I have a small discord community built around a small youtube channel I'm looking out for, in such that looking out for means to me becoming platform independent agnostic. Seems like you have 3speak and other alternatives being crafted within the Hive community.

I would like you to sponsor a community of ambassadors/emissaries that develop onboarding packages for existing communities, and then offer those packages to communities becoming disenchanted with big-platform gustapo.


Congratulations @acidyo, You Earned 0.442 TAN & Curators Made 0.309 TAN.

tangent.token


Join CORE / VAULT Token Discord Channel or Trade TANGENT Token
TAN Current Market Price : 0.706 HIVE