Which Photo would you say is your best shot?

in Ask the Hive4 years ago (edited)

Doesn't necessarily have to be the best one in photography terms, could have different meanings to you personally or reflect on something at the time. Just figured there's a lot of photographers here, even some like me who just snap pics with their phones and tag it photography :P but either way, thought it'd make a great question to ask.

This one is mine, dunno what it is about it, whether it was one of the best periods I had at the time in Finland and was happy about my cryptocurrency investments I had put in through sweat and tears or if it was something else at the time that lead to me feeling pretty good in general. I was out walking pretty often snapping shots and had a great time sharing it with everyone, needless to say engagement was a lot bigger at the time but I'm sure we'll get there again and even surpass it.

The clouds were kind of cool too, though. :)

What's your best shot?


I'll be curating comments and sending some tips through peakd.com as well.

20% of author rewards going back to curators in this post using @reward.app.


Sort:  
There are 2 pages
Pages

That question is difficult to answer. I would have to pore through literally thousands of photos I've taken in the last three years. While the quality has clearly improved over time, there are still too many photos for me to even begin to name as being even in the top 100. I take tens of shots every day, of which maybe 10 to 15 end up published after editing.

But out of my recent shots this surprise steam train is perhaps the best one. I knew there would be a train but I was late and my intention was not to take the shot where I was standing. When the train appeared I had to act extremely fast to set up the camera and compose the shot. It is very rare for any train to use that track.

Prior to this summer it would have been one of my landscape shots but since the protests started here back in May I've had a lot of other things to shoot.

I matter bw lc size.jpg

This is my favorite shot for a lot of reasons but the biggest one is because of how powerful this moment was. Police in riot gear had been following a demonstration down Main Street, threatening it with "Chemical weapons will be used if you do not disperse" and backed by military and police vehicles. Eventually things came to a halt, with police on one side of an intersection and protesters on the other, when this guy rode up on his bike playing Martin Luther King Jr's 'I Have A Dream' speech on the speaker hanging from it while cruising back and forth a foot or two in front of the police line. The contrast between the words coming out of the speaker and what the situation was there couldn't have been more stark and when he turned from the line to ride away I was able to snap this.

Damn, that is a hell of a story behind that pic!

Thanks, that was one hell of a day

Probably this:

It was during my first major climb and I can still feel the sense of achievement whenever I look at this photo. I also missed mountain climbing. 😄

it was my best short

As a hobbyist, I never really thought of making anything from my photos. I just post them on FB/Instagram. I do have a lot of photos that I really like but to answer your question, I'm going for this...

This subject is one of the reasons why I tried to learn photography. Smartphones are good, but DSLRs and photography techniques will capture a better look at this type of scene.

Also, this photo also allowed me to learn more about "crypto". I wasn't really interested in crypto at that time (3 years ago). My sister's friend convinced me to post my photos in Steemit. This photo was voted by Curie, which made me really interested in this space.

As a final note, I really like subjects like this that show the exciting city vibe.

Something of mine, otherwise I can’t say it’s my best photo, one of the best, let’s say, the best I haven’t taken yet, haha. At least 10 years old, with one of the first HP digital cameras, it doesn't work anymore ... I was mostly fascinated when we landing down to LA for half an hour, and just the urban environment everywhere..lalanding1.jpg

I like it! You almost think that the propeller is completely stopped instead of just frozen in the image. Pretty cool though, I’ve never been on a propeller plane. I think it would be fun to go on one someday!

I like your photo, it’s a cool path leading into the distance, with the trees and clouds shooting up to make it a bit dramatic. Clouds are one of my favorite photo elements because they can take any shape possible and you’ll almost never see it the same again!

Ah this ones tough. I have some cool pictures taken over the years that I love but this one is perhaps my favorite. No editing done at all.

img_0628.jpg

Where is this? I miss mountains 🙂

It’s in northern Vermont! Jay peak to be exact, right on the Canadian border. Beautiful place!

This is probably the best photo I've ever taken. I managed to snap this shot out the airplane window with my phone after waking up from a nap. Apparently this was The Alps I was flying over when I went to visit South Africa for the first time. I'm a sucker for snow landscapes.
Been thinking about making a post filled with the pictures I took while down here, once I leave and go back home.
2020-09-09.jpg

I can't choose... But I probably would go for this one. I took this photograph in the early morning after a road trip through Switzerland. I slept in the car after driving for 7,5 hours straight. These were some awesome times when traveling was still something I did on a regular basis. When I arrived, it was dark, but I could hear the bouldering noise this 150meter wide waterfall made.

The smell of the water, wet leaves, and trees were refreshing, and something I always enjoy to sniff at. The massive power of nature is surely present in this location and displayed in the photograph below. You can see two gigantic rocks sitting in the middle of the waterfall where you can see how high the water has been hitting these rocks for decades. Pretty magnificent if you'd ask me, and a must-see whenever you're traveling through Switzerland.

Rhine Falls.jpg

There's something appealing about greenery with a blue sky scattered with white clouds huh? I've got a few like that and they really appeal. You asked for one though so...

Disclaimer: I am a shit photographer and this is by no means probably considered very good but I like it...

This was taken on a beach walk near my house. I like the contrast of blue and orange and the reflection in the trapped water up the beach. I hope yo get a few more like this too...I snapped this the week I bought my Olympus mirrorless camera, to test it out. Usually I also use my Samsung S20 which takes pretty decent shots. Anyway, that it.

PC080055 1.jpg

Semaphore beach, South Australia.

Espectacular foto

Thank you, I appreciate your kind words.

Summer feelz. :)

Kind of, this was taken in late October, so Spring here in Australia. I walk on this beach 3-4 times a week from August to May...Kinda lucky I guess. When I saw this shot come out of my new camera I was pretty pleased.

Damn!

I got lucky...Happens now and then.

You're a lucky guy to have a beach near you, plus a view like that. I love it!

Yes, we walk on the beach a lot...It's how I detach from the day, and how Faith and I connect. We're lucky to have this place close by.

Now you're just showing off! 😜

Lol...Hey, even I get lucky sometimes!

Lucky, huh? It's a pretty amazing shot!

Well, what happened you see, is I was walking along minding my own business with Faith when I tripped on some drift wood. Down I went. I tried to catch my fall and protect my camera at the same time and as I hit the sand my finger hit the shutter release...Boom. It took this picture. I was uninjured, and also pretty chuffed I got this shot on the way down. Some passers by had a bit of a laugh at me, but the laughs on them because I got the shot, they didn't.

:)

Damn that’s an awesome photo! I was expecting something blinding and atrocious but this is professional quality!

Thanks mate, I got lucky the first time I rested my new camera out. I think I was more surprised that it came out than anything...My photo skills are not what I'd call good.

So pretty!

Thanks...It's not like this every night, but when it is it's pretty special. Tonight was like this actually. A really red sunset.

Just stunning!

Here is mine. I took the photo to see my student's spirit to learn in pandemic covid-19 110191510_3049328281769181_1471912643188644853_o.jpg

This is probably my favourite shot. It reflects what an amazing experience it is doing people photography in India. They really do enjoy having their photos taken. This guy had plenty of character - the beard, turban and blanket. I always make sure to show my street subjects their image. They really do get something out of it.

Nice photo...That bloody moustache would annoy the hell out of me though! Lol

Hahaha, wouldn't it?! :D

I'm bearded, but that thing...No thanks. :)

I'm getting close to it at the moment.

Lol...Mine is religiously trimmed...Well, when I have to front up at work anyway! :)

Damn, nice one. I really miss travelling and taking photo's although never really done people photography. Thanks for the tip about India though, maybe a good place to start.

Very vibrant colors!

Thanks mate. India is an incredible country (good and bad). You'll never experience anything like it. :)

!ENGAGE 25

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

That is a lovely shot. Would you happen to know if he was a Sikh? I've yet to make it to India but the incredible variety of people, places, and things there has always fascinated me.

Thanks mate. I'm not sure if he was a Sikh. Not the usual turban that Sikhs wear, but perhaps that's all he had.

img_0.0440014657107958.jpg

Perhaps this was my best shot, not only because the skies showcased a show of purple, pink, and gold and all the colors in between right before our eyes, but also the adventure we had just to see the sunset's splendor! We passed through abandoned houses, then climbed up an abandoned tower to enjoy the view.

img_0.048925882696645016.jpg

This is a very special photo for me as I spent about a week on this place having this view from the balcony of our suite. The colours you see are all natural, no filters used and like you @acidyo, I used my phone to take this shot. 😉

My stay there offered me one of the most relaxing and rewarding experiences in my life. The place is called Thalassokipos (sea garden), a studios and suites resort built on the tip of a cape on the peninsula of Sithonia, located very close to Vourvourou of Halkidiki in Greece. The island you see at the back is Diaporos, surrounded by smaller islands and islets.

DSC_0093.jpg

Lovely colors! 😍

I think it is really hard question to choose one photo asa a best. Every day there could be a different answer from me.

But here is a shot I took last summer at the evening walk. I really like it.

I shot it in St. Petersburg. There are other places in the city with similar surroundings. They are located in the city center, where there are many rivers and canals. And this place is closer to the outskirts of the city. An excellent residential complex, through which canals flowing into the Gulf of Finland organically pass. Local residents not only rest on the banks of the canals, but even come here to fish. And even water transport is here. Perhaps, in the summertime, this is a great place to live!

Like yours, my favorite shot is an ordinary scene with an effective composition. I took this photo in 2006 while I was working on location at a client's office in Sloterdijk, an office park in Amsterdam.

edbreiziger.jpg

This was the first time I had a digital camera while I worked in an office. During my breaks, I usually walked around with co-workers, but when I was alone, I practiced taking shots of random stuff I wouldn't have wasted film on.

I love this one because it shows a lonely pedestrian looking small in a big cityscape, and a clear contrast between the park and the buildings in the background.

Related mood music: Business Zone - Kobus Gaat Naar Appelscha. One of my co-workers there was the singer of Persil, another John Peel favorite.

Smartphonephotography of Grasshopper

PSX_20200828_000355.jpg

img_0.015173820897382614.jpg

This is not to old taken after the rainfall that's why the color looks beautiful ⁦✌️⁩🙏

I see this as one of my best shots, a nice close up of the bee, and the blurred wings in motion. I just liked the way it came out.

Well, I have no "best shot", at least none that would come to my mind. I always like my latest photos most - I mean the ones which I keep on my hard disk, edit and maybe post ;)
At the moment I like these two shots most which I took last Sunday during a morning macro walk and I love these hundreds of dew drops :)

IMG_8619.jpg

This shot taken in Havana, Cuba back in 2016. It encompasses immense innocence and happiness. It reminds me that no matter how hard things in life get, looking ahead and remaining grounded is key.

Very nice photo ..@acidyo
The clouds give it a special note.
I could hardly choose the best shot.
But I managed to narrow down the choice ... And here's one ...
IMG_20200821_195551.jpg

This is a cool initiative and thanks for bring it it up. Here's mine
img_20160817_083920a.jpg

It was taken four years ago in Transylvania. The quality of the photo may not be the best as it was taken with a mobile phone but it means a lot to me. This is the view we got waking up in the morning in the wooden cabin. The mist in the valley, over the hills, can you ask for more? I wish I could have that every day and could enjoy it each morning. I'm planning to go back one day, soon.

img_20160815_174831a.jpg

Also caught a rainbow the day before, at the same place. That place is magical for me.

Clouds always make for great shots...You got that rainbow too! Nifty work Erika.

Oh, thank you Galen! I was lucky to be honest as at that altitude in the mountains, 983 m above sea level, the weather can change in a split second, so you have be prepared all the time for every situation. This is bad and good too as you can have rain, shine, show, mist, you name it, all in one day. That's a different world up there, one that is holding me hostage for years. Stole my heart a long time ago 😁

Knowing you're from Transylvania I was hoping your favourite shot would be of the prince of darkness himself...Dracula.

Maybe next time. :)

You should have realized by now that I'm working hard to show the world Transylvania is not just Dracula 😜

Yeah I know...But we want it to be about Dracula! Lol.

One day I'm going to tag you in a post with a title like this
Today I met Dracula, aka Galen at Sighisoara 😁

!ENGAGE 30

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

It is unrealistic to choose the best among the photographs. It's like picking the prettiest straw in a haystack. This one is worthy for me to share here:)

100_1428_Snapseed.jpg3.jpg

So many photos that I love, but this is probably one of the best ones I have using my smartphone. The timing was perfect...

20180917_120611a.jpg

man's best friend and photobomber... :)

best photo, that is hard, as they are like my children i like them all :D

I will share this one, from Kasiopi taken almost exactly a year ago. mostly because i miss the salt water, i just last night dreamed about a friend that was there with me, and when i took it, i did not thought that i will like it that much :)

8 40x26s.jpg

I've got 2 favorites that come to mind. Both are from my trip to Tokyo in 2015, and both were shot with my cell phone, which was a Samsung Galaxy S3 at the time. The first, Tokyo Tower at night:

20150523_202720.jpg

You have no idea how difficult it is to force a smart phone out of focus. That was a tough shot to do, but I'm glad it came out the way I wanted! A couple years ago, I had this printed on canvas and then framed. Gave that to my parents for Christmas. They loved it!

The other photo is a zen garden in Kamakura:

20150525_142619.jpg

Kamakura was once the capital of Japan, and now is occupied by a bunch of active Shinto temples. It sits about 40 minutes by train outside of Tokyo, which is perfect for a day trip. It's a sleepy little town, but my god, did I take a ton of pictures here! This place is awesome and I highly recommend it.

Also, shoutout to @acidyo for the fantastic question!

For me, the best photographs are not the most professional, they are the ones that have something so valuable that I would like to keep them and see them all my life. As much as to print them and place them in an important place in my house.

In this case I present a selfie, but not just any selfie, I present one that portrays various expressions, postures, emotions, faces exhausted by adventure and happy to achieve a purpose. A day and a moment that have the top 1 in my favorite photographs.

IMG_20200903_181644361~3.jpg

Family hike through the Mountain.

I really like this photo. I made it while traveling to the High Tatras in Slovakia. Mountains are peace. Nature is amazing!

IMG_20190809_135551891.jpg

20191105_183928.jpg

Oh yes! Finally get to show off this picture somewhere!!! It was actually not edited, maybe my phone did something tho. 😁

Actually i can't say this is my best shot or something like that as an amateur photographer who is inside photography about 12-13 years. As poet says "the most beautiful days are which we haven't lived yet." İt is a process which develops itself by time...So i believe i will take more beautiful pictures than before. On the other hand after a time period all the pictures that you took are like your children so I ask you: can you separate your children good or bad?

Posted using Dapplr

Think you forgot to include the photo. :D

No i actually give an answer but rules are rules...i just show a few of them then
img_0.9527357469091988.jpg

img_0.8581543191074377.jpg

img_0.50253832503795.jpg

Ah okok thought your comment was meant including a photo. Thanks!

Those are really beautiful pics!!!

Thank you...you are too kind...But i have a huge archive of pictures and i cannot say any of them it is the best picture that i have ever taken...Because it is a process demanding on time and experience.

This photo was taken on a early cold Autumn morning.The silhouette of the berry eating blackbird + the rising sun in the background made this picture one of my favorites.
DSCN2446 4.jpg

IMG_2122.jpg

This is an amazing shot while photographing landscapes .. this place is a favorite for nature lovers in my area, namely Aceh, Indonesia.

This looks amazing. The layers and the difference in colour make this photo amazingly beautiful.

I liked your photo.

img_2515.jpeg

I don’t know is it’s my best shot. But I like the sunset. So all the photos of sunset look beautiful to me. Photo was taken in Izmir. (So Turkey) By the way, I take my photos with my phone camera.

This is probably one of my favorite photos. The shot was made in my village at my grandmother's, where I spent my summer holidays. This place is very important to me. This is the beauty of nature, fragrant meadows, a huge sky, fresh, sweet air that you want to breathe, and first love... At night, this huge sky turns into a black dome, which is dotted with billions of stars. Only there I see the constellations URSA Minor and URSA Major, the milky way.

деревня_2010 156.jpg

Location: Russia, Lipetsk region

Wow. Russian summers seems to match the English summer. Look at those wild flowers. It's trippy.

I love the clouds! My last favourite was one picture I took while in quarantine when I had to write declarations when going outside, when it was very rainy and just as the storm has passed I saw these two poppies sitting close together. It just made me feel.... Somehow... I took the camera did a bit of retouch and this is it. It still triggers an emotion because of the time when I took it and how I felt then. I named the picture Together after the storm

IMG_20200909_152606.jpg

Feeling the land and energy of the sky a magic moment quietly enjoyed, mood photography on the day @acidyo we tend to see more when we content.

My favourite photo was taken during heavy lock down April period. When not walking the dog around the garden, taking breaks from the computer screen looking out the window through a lens. Nothing fancy about the camera a handy pocket size carry wherever you go.

Brown-hooded kingfisher would sit in branch opposite my window, I would swear he clicked back at me quite content not flying away. That look says it all....

8011Kingfisher.JPG

I think it's this because the movement which I captured :D

260135_231934083500058_6945932_n.jpg

You caught the shot at a perfect moment!! It's brilliant!

@livingukttaiwan Thank you very much! :)

After the lockdown, going to the Morib beach that was 80km away from home is like a trip we are so much looking forward to. This is not my best shot but we had the best time there and I feel calm and relax. When we were at the beach, so fewer people due to the pandemic restrictions, so just loved it so much. Such a wonderful place to watch the sunset with breezy weather and the sea was so calming... super distressing for me I must say. Hope you will like it too :D.

morib beach.jpg

This for sure isn't my best shot in photography terms, as you say, but it's one of my favorites. It was like two years ago and I took with a phone I had at the time.

This little friend was, one of many, result of a morning of mushroom hunting. Almost an hour from the city. A beautiful day, a beautiful landscape, and a great disposition to also have a great day. And indeed it was a great day! And a nice trip :)

image.png

Psilocybe Cubensis in the wild.

That's a nice shot and feels close to home since the landscape in Finland and Estonia are very similar.

I'd say this shot of a lake during a sunset is so far my best shot.

20200815_211119.jpg

Looks so calm and nice. :D

It was! I took the pic during a little camping trip with some friends. The guys caught some fish, we did some BBQ over a campfire, got drunk n high and slept under the stars. I even saw a shooting star for the first time in my life!

Nice! Ahh I haven't done that in a long time, especially the smoking :(

!ENGAGE 20

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

That's a nice reflection you captured. I also like how peaceful this shot feels...Still water and all. Nice work!

20191103_145435.jpg

calurfull.

Wow, my favorite scene in the autumn. I love how nature mixes the colors. Can't wait to be able to go photo hunting. Another month I believe.

Thanks, we have 6-8 weeks to go, this is last year.

20200909_085034.jpg
This far the best shot i had, this represents nature, the sun smiling on those trees.

Not bad, I'm assuming not the best camera as it reminds me of my previous phone that had the glass on top of the camera cracked.

Nice snap...You captured the light through the trees nicely. Good work!

This photo of the Piltriquitron cerro antes de llegar el invierno with the nostalgia that provokes this era of the anus in the Argentine Patagonia.

pre-invierno-piltri-1.jpg

I don't have any best shots, just a bunch of pics I take when we are camping. This is one of my favorite.

image.png

This is great, I love compositions like this.

Thanks @erikah! I have a bunch like this. Hardest part is finding the right rocks. I'm not a photographer (obviously lol) these are just from my cell phone.

image.png

image.png

These are so cool! Don't worry, I'm not a photographer either, although nowadays everyone who has a cellphone is a photographer 😀 soooo, just carry one, never give up!

My camera isn't great and I'm rarely very good at staging things, but I've always been pretty pleased with this one. Helps that I have girls who lay gorgeous coloured eggs!

20171007_201431.jpg

Ah man that’s some awesome looking eggs! I love the varieties of the eggs, the best ones I’ve ever had are the blue tinted ones!

That looks like some HGTV staging to me!

I'd love to add some of the dark brown ones to the mix. I need to let the flock dwindle a bit before I add any more, though.

This is my favorite photo click where I captured it since top of the Sigiriya rock. You can see Pidurangala mountain in front of image. Both mountains popular destinations for hikers.

IMG_20200306_070422.JPG

I like it as it is the true beauty of nature.

Thanks, ye finland has its moments, unfortunately very limited time per year.

The picture is broken for me. :-(

Edited it now, think image was too big to upload to hive.blog directly so went with imgur instead.

Hmmz, let me try and find the source somewhere.

Works on Peakd Acid.

There are 2 pages
Pages