You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Which Star Wars movie is your favorite? Why?

in Ask the Hive4 years ago (edited)

The Phantom Menace has a special place for me because this was the first Star Wars movie I saw on the big screen. I saw the old movies only on TV, and the strongest point of the Star Wars universe is, well - the universe. Space, spaceships, planets and creatures. For me at least, I'm not much into that good - evil -father - son - brother - sister - tragic, overblown family stuff. So watching that exuberant movie in the movie theater, with all that cool, new effects was an experience. All that may now look a bit cartoonish but back then it looked great to me. I like the other two movies of that trilogy as well, I don't remember much of the drama and the talking, but the action, planets and aliens remained with me - and that's all I ask from a Star Wars movie. I like also The New Hope and Empire Strikes Back ... the new movies ... nope. I can swallow a lot when the movie is visually spectacular ... but this is a bit too much for me. I was entertained in a few points, but there was so much distracting, irritating stuff, unbelievably stupid and pretentious.