You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Ask the Hive: How will you change your voting behavior with linear curve in the upcoming hardfork?

First of all I wont change my voting behaviour. Since the beginning I was combining autovotes with manual votes.

Secondly I did have a decrease in activity since some time back. That is writing and curating and for sure on writing decent comments.
While not really being noticed could have been a trigger this was not the main reason for my decreased activity. But hey we all like a juicy upvote from time to time.
My main reasons were lack of interaction which could be because I do write terrible or my topics aren’t very interesting for most.
But which probably did kill the motivation is to see the same authors time after time with big upvotes time after time from the same curators time after time, on posts which were terrible.
So maybe yea you could have saved some souls but you also have to ask yourself if they were worth it. Were they here just for the money. Would they have increased their stakes after a juicy upvote and so on.

Well I am here and here to stay. I just like to write about the things I write. Regardless of the upvotes or not.
I could increase my writing and follow the hurdle in the chase of the whale votes but I wont do that. The more diverse the content on Hive is the better. This only will attract more newbies than juicy upvotes about the topics everybody is writing about!

Cheers,
Peter

Sort:  

Haha that was a lot of "time after time" in one sentence.

While these changes will remove the front-running trails I think it will still take a long time for them to adapt to it in general to hopefully cause less of the same authors to constantly be trending. We're trying hard with OCD to also give certain unique authors more trending time but we often vote a bit late after we find the posts so trending won't be as effective or hardly get there. At the same time there's so many post we vote daily that giving 1 author a very big vote is hard to afford while trying to distribute it to as many as possible. I hope many other bigger accounts will also focus on stacking their votes on deserving trending content from fresh new users after the HF where they won't be penalized by voting 2nd or 3rd after another big account as long as it's before the 2nd day.

Yes it was. Was on a roll!
Have a nice and cold !BEER


Hey @acidyo, here is a little bit of BEER from @fullcoverbetting for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.