Do You Think Resentment Caused By Seeing Others Get High Rewards Is Keeping Some People Away From Creating Content On Hive?

image.png

Image Source

I get this feeling when I read a lot of what some people write about rewards on Hive. There are all sorts of opinions on which posts and authors are rewarded correctly and which are not. On Web 2.0 platforms, monetization is between the platform and each author or any sponsors a content creator might have. On Web 3.0 platforms, such as Hive where rewards are decided by voters, all the financial transactions must be public for the voters to be able to combat abuse and for PoB to work.

However, looking at the inside of other people's wallets in real time is something we are not used to in the slightest. I think the total transparency is the most radical aspect of Hive economics. I'm not saying people are wrong to display all sorts of nasty reactions to this. This is simply the way we are. We resent those who have more than we have. At least many of us do.

Do you believe radical financial transparency is holding Hive back in some way?

P.S. The reactions of those seething with envy can be quite amusing sometimes. I recall having a conversation with a fellow a while ago seemed really upset about the large stakeholders and particularly the miners here. He mentioned those people selling their tokens and eating at fancy restaurants. I had a mental image of him not being able to get the mental image of Hive whales eating lobsters out his mind.

Sort:  

I reply here to your comment earlier (and this post)...

We resent those who have more than we have. At least many of us do.

Really?.
What a crap mental place to inhabit.
Envy is a shite emotion.
I don't envy so can't really comment on that ( I don't get it, tbh).

As far as rewards go, that a different matter.
Without a meritocratic system, rewards are gonna be distributed in an oligarchical (and nepotistic) nature (i.e. circle jerking for a mutually beneficial result).

THIS will keep people away- for sure.

The funny thing is, it's these very circles jerks and the 'in house' greed mentality, that will kill their own stake,(token value)... and maybe even hive, long term.

It is short sighted in the extreme, and from what I see, it ain't changing.

As happens time and time again- the greed and shortsighted view killing the goose that lays the golden egg.

You can't fix stupid.

I reply here to your comment earlier (and this post)...

"We resent those who have more than we have. At least many of us do."

Really?.

Oh yes! One of the oldest books in the world, the Bible, contains the story of Cain and Abel, which is about envy and how it poisons the mind.

What a crap mental place to inhabit.

Absolutely! I posted about that the other day.

Envy is a shite emotion.
I don't envy so can't really comment on that ( I don't get it, tbh).

It's an emotion that possibly evolved or is a byproduct of something that evolved in small groups where the division of scarce resources is an ever present problem.

It is short sighted in the extreme, and from what I see, it ain't changing.

From my perspective, the EIP introduced in HF 21 on Steem made a huge difference. The largest bid bots on the platform became curators who've upvoted posts by thousands of different authors who would've never been given the time of day before HF 21.

As happens time and time again- the greed and shortsighted view killing the goose that lays the golden egg.

That criticism was much more relevant back in the old days than it is now. Go to the GEMS Community, for example. You'll see an endless stream of posts valued at $10 by authors who are absolutely not part of any powerful circle jerks.

Seriously, the circle jerk criticism is starting to get old. I challenge you to find a platform where a newbie without a long history can earn anything. It's ALWAYS the case that time on platform, audience building and networking play a significant role in earnings.

Comparison is quite negative but this is normal human reaction for most people. Depending on cultural setting, some people can be very demanding and competitive. I recently was shocked by a person who actually wanted to have all the people who upvoted me to upvote their posts. I didn’t know what to say; I don’t some of these people and I just couldn’t ask them...
It’s just like having someone coming to your house and starting to want your house! LoL

I recently was shocked by a person who actually wanted to have all the people who upvoted me to upvote their posts. I didn’t know what to say; I don’t some of these people and I just couldn’t ask them...

It’s just like having someone coming to your house and starting to want your house! >LoL

That is very strange and quite ridiculous. But this sort of thing is what I mean. Some people lose it when someone else has what they think they should have themselves. If anything, Hive is quite a human experiment.

Oh! Yes! You were right! The person even said that their posts are of high quality and deserved much more reward. I still could not understand what tricker did make a nice adult turn into a screaming baby! Perhaps, too many difficulties and pressures happen in life at the same time! Very strong and demanding emotions with long outburst! Really need to see a therapist! I felt sorry for this sort of revealing nature!

I wonder what future information archeologists will have to say about Hive and Steem!

I recently was shocked by a person who actually wanted to have all the people who upvoted me to upvote their posts. I didn’t know what to say; I don’t some of these people and I just couldn’t ask them...

This is the strangest thing I've heard so far. But I can understand why and where this envy comes from. Still though, they could probably increase engagement? be in a community? I don't know. Hive has a strange way to define "Interesting and quality".

Yup! That person probably felt bad about the outburst and left the platform altitude! Went back to the old one, I guess.

Cheers.

oh well, that person's lost.

Cheers.

It should not affect to new content creators. Sooner or later, if you are publishing high-quality content you will be rewarded. 👍

I fully agree. And the rewarding can begin very quickly if any of the large curation projects find a new author.