What are Snipped Posts / Trails ? Will that be ruining chances of big upvotes ?

in Ask the Hive4 years ago (edited)

The sound of Snipped Post caught my attention. It was a regular chat and knowing about snipped post intrigued me to know more. It was first time I heard about it.

So far so good, What I understood is that, it is a trail of certain account, which give litte support to specific group of user. (Yet to find them)

But on the second count, such trail take away the chances of getting big upvotes from few of the prominent voters like @appreciator @rocky @upmewhale @bdvoter & others. It is the decision of such big group of voters to.miss the snipped trail.

Overall, it is like losing $8 -$10 of upvotes for $1-$2 of votes

Overall, it is like internal forking of Hive into two groups. One who is supporting user with little rewards and the other who are not supporting the snipping trails.

The big voter group is avoiding the snipping trail, so that they do not get away with better curation.

But what happen to the original content creator who is working hard to make quality post and found in trap of these war game. They are not aware of the thought process and internal gaming going around, Might be they got happy 1$ - 2$ upvotes...but may be their content is worth more and missing out due to internal war games.

Will this is good practice??

My experince say, such thing won't going to do good for the hive user retention , and sustaining hive for longer run.

images 3.jpeg

Src

Instead of putting hive user at risk of losing good vote weight, I think both the parties may get into a mutual agreement of supporting each other rather than getting into war game.

hive dividers13.png

By bringing up the question, I hope to get some better insight, and also let the two groups of calming down a bit to make Hive a better place rather than making it another Steem.

I am ready to acknowledge some more inputs on the question, let me know your viewpoint.

Stay Home...Stay Safe!!

Namaste @steemflow

RNFetchBlobTmp_h34x1wwzugtegsb0h13rm.jpg

Sort:  

I would imagine it’s up to us with a little bit of stake to help push other posts up further and do active curation too! I do try most days

Even I do the same...hopefully u.find it first time on your feed (in case u.noticed ever) ...it's good to see , understand and learn how others easily make such to float every now and then ...

Yeah I feel like it’s the minnows, orcas and dolphins that are giving the most. I have never received votes from some of the biggest accounts on here but they go out voting what seems like content similar to mine. I can’t figure out the formula to get a vote from them lol

LOL me either I get tossed one here and there to keep me happy I guess! I do see some that get repeat votes no matter what they put out, that’s human bias I guess, there’s no formula for that

Yeah, ball fluffers imo lol

There is definitely some weird dynamics going on.

I haven’t had a post reach $20 for months, and yet I can find countless posts everyday with a pic or two and a hundred words that are $40 and above.

I used to put heart and soul into my posts, spending usually a full 8 hours, but the extra effort just isn’t rewarded. I stopped putting in the extra time and effort in a few posts, and the payouts were the same.

I think it’s much more important to have a high rep and connections to get big upvotes than to actually make awesome content. Either way I soldier on, dreaming of the day we see a $20 post again.

Hahaha...so u actually started getting a feel of the platform.👍 However there might be many scenario of low rewards the falling hive prices is one other than what I posted...or thirdly what you pinpointed....shit posts are getting more love and hard work are just wasted..in the drain

"I haven’t had a post reach $20 for months, and yet I can find countless posts everyday with a pic or two and a hundred words that are $40 and above."

I even know a guy who simply copy pastes his text from one post to the next for the past 3 years and changes the photo. He consistently gets over $15 per post and never was flagged because of it.

Meanwhile, I've seen users with more original content being flagged and included in overall blacklists because "poor content to farm rewards."

Go figure... 🙄

"I think it’s much more important to have a high rep and connections to get big upvotes than to actually make awesome content."

Sad but true... 😶

There are so many stories the big voters are on appreciating that doesnt have snipping trails on them...so many would be enjoying doesn't matter if they are quality creator or shit creator

Hopefully there are more good curators to support genuine good content creators!

!tip

It's not good curator...the war game that has started internally...big upvoters rocky/app/bd/upme simply ignoring the snipping trails who were voting with low value to get curation so...ultimately the content creator is hitting hard...what is their fault in it...

I totally agree with You,
100%
👍🏼👍🏼👍🏼

Thanks...this is a serious concern and need to be fixed as early as possible.

Absolutely!
I feel as I may be a victim...
🤔🤨🙁

Haha not sure....after seeing this post i might get hammered....afterall freespeach is just word out here..

Yeah..
It's like everything else..
Just the b.s. that someone
Wants You to believe!
Stay Safe Out There!!!

I have always spend hours and days creating quality content which are not plagarism and not spamming but not getting the attention from whales. I think perhaps those whales upvote those they know and are friend with living the genuine one out who are spending their sweat and energy creating post. If not for the love community I am in which always upvote my post, I will have quit long ago on creating long and quality content. Perhaps I will just upload one or two fee lines or perhaps one or two beautiful flowers picture and get some rest there but it is encouraging I am getting from the various community I am in which are projecthope and stemsocial that is keeping me going and pushing to create more quality content day by day diverting my attention to it.

I guess those people you have mentioned need to have a rethink like you said if not, I see this hive going to the same direction just like how steem was.

There are genuine content creator outside who are there on hive that are getting discouraged day by day due to the low upvote they get on their post compared to their effort they put towards it. And this can't last long, soon enough they will begin to leave the platform due to lack of encouragement to push forward.

I hope someone see this I have written

There are genuine content creator outside who are there on hive that are getting discouraged day by day due to the low upvote they get on their post compared to their effort they put towards it.

Hmmm... but it is us who are under-rewarded or are others simply being over rewarded? I'm pretty happy with my earnings lately, even though I see quick posts made in 5 minutes being rewarded a lot better. 🤔

Haha..luxky you... Do share the trick might I get too something...😉

True words...genuine and fair is just remain a word out here...after so many years I could only say...good content creator does not get what they worth....also as far as fairism is concerned don't expec it.

The current snipping trails and post is just an example where one group is trying to help everyone with little bit of support but on the other hand the big voter group is taking away the rights of good content creator by avoiding these snipping trails ..doest bother if they curating good or bad content ..seriously I am pissed off with the situation.....seems I am on the hit list too...and seeing good reward is just a dream now, in middle of the internal war game

So, I guess I am a victim of this, too... as I never had a single upvote from those accounts, even though I've seen them upvote posts with just one photo and 3 lines of text, while they skip articles of mine with 30 photos and plenty of text. 🤣

In case you are getting votes from from snipped trails, you might be losing the big bucks...from the big voters.

What exactly is a snipped trail...? We have a trail like that for the Portuguese Community. I guess that's considered a snipped trail?

Not pretty sure who are they ..but in case you are getting slight vote like 1%-2% from few group of whales then forget that big upvotes from.the likes of rocky/app/upme etc they will never visit your post ..

Nah, it's nothing like that. It's a trail of little fish. 🤣

Hahah so u r safe...👍

Loading...