Successful travel complete!

in The Man Cave2 years ago

We made it! I almost can't believe it, but for all the stress and preparation, this was one of the easiest travels we have ever done.

IMG_20220614_140631157.jpg

I had a scare the night before last, I suddenly found out that Ledis would 'need' to have proof of her five covid vaccines to travel. I must have missed this because I am not required but she, as a non citizen and non immigrant, is required still to fill out this paperwork.

Screenshot_20220615-122219.png

Like all government stuff, there are plenty of exceptions, so I studiously ran through them the night before our flight.

And found one that fit her.

Screenshot_20220615-122503.png

None of this is required to drive across the border in Mexico, so I also spent some time working out our plan B: since we were flying through Panama we could pretty easily make a land border crossing, although our luggage would become a burden.

As it turned out, I needn't have worried so much.

IMG_20220614_134200787.jpg

We started out our day with a 6am covid test, antigen of course since PCR amplification is a joke, and had our negative results by 11am. Although we didn't 'need it' anymore, I'm glad we had it because when I told the boarding agents we didnt have vaccine cards he asked to see them.

Then we had a hamburger in the Bogota airport, shown above, a nice way to get used to American prices before travelling.

IMG_20220614_143928049.jpg

IMG_20220614_143923745.jpg

The masks weren't so bad, I mostly used the falling asleep strategy from Bogota to Panama, where we were informed that in the entire Republic of Panama it was illegal to take off your mask.

We boarded the next flight to Orlando within the hour, and I was surprised as the first time in 20 years we were served food on a flight.

IMG_20220614_195132610.jpg

Chicken and rice! I guess over international waters we could take down our masks to eat.

We got off the plane, and I was prepared for the worst, the time had come to defend my wife's exemption from being vaccinated. As a citizen I didn't need one, but my greatest fear of getting separated from my wife was on the table.

We handed the immigration official our passports, and within two minutes we were saying thank you have a great day, no additional paperwork requested.

Success!

IMG_20220615_115656600.jpg

Now we are here in Florida with Mom and Grandma - happy and excited, thankful that everything was so easy. I love you all!

And now comes the hard part - convincing a traditionally proud, but now cancerous and obese culture to wake up from their degenerecy while there is still time.

Repent!

Freedom and Friendship

Sort:  

Éxitos😃 en este nuevo viaje...

It's good to arrive at Florida very well, procedures and tests for corona in North America are rather complicated. you have said proof of five vaccines. I know just three?

Yes, if you are not up to date with the 3rd booster now you are 'unvaccinated'.

I'm glad that they didn't hassle @ecoinstante - horrified but not surprised that there is a double standard for citizens and everyone else here in this [censored] place. Also, five? I don't know anyone who has had three boosters. Two, maybe, but not three.

oh I just checked and you are right, its 2 boosters still https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/vaccines/booster-shot.html

yeah I was a bit distressed about the double standard but it all worked out thankfully.

Great to hear from you!

The problem of covid has become bigger and more complicated than hassles of traveling. My problem is that I have a health issue. Is it enough for me to provide them with certificates that prove my illness to exempt me from the vaccine?

It looks like this same exemption would cover you, it requires you attest to doing some additional steps, but I assume like most things they will not follow up. In our case they didn't even look at the declaration paperwork so I am not sure.

I can relate so much, even though I walked across the border both times entering and leaving the US this year. I was decked out with documentation, I believe I had five different forms with me: positive and negative tests, a doctor's letter about my natural immunity, and a printout of that long governmental form with three strategically placed check marks and my signature scribble. --- Long story short, in the end nobody wanted to see any of those things. They didn't even mention Covid, not once.

I'm glad to see that the same thing was true for you, even though you flew into the States. Enjoy your time with your family, and good luck reasoning with the proud obese culture! 😜

You have great trip to Florida. It's a nice big city, everywhere now requires minimum 3 vaccines !

Hello dear friend @ecoinstant good afternoon
It's good that it was just worry about the paperwork for the trip, and none of that was needed. Excellent
May you enjoy the company of your loved ones.

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 110 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
!BEER
1

What a delight, until the very last paragraph - that one is nasty.


Hey @ecoinstant, here is a little bit of BEER from @pixresteemer for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.