Go Out, Look Up, Look At The Stars More Often! ✨❤️ (Watercolor Anime Painting)

in Sketchbook4 years ago

Okay even though there are fireflies instead of stars, you get the point right? I wrote a detailed post yesterday about my love for cosmos related stuff and sure enough it was bound to spill in today’s artwork :P The one before that was about one of my favorite anime shows as a child “Cardcaptor Sakura” which also somehow remained in my head.

There are certain visuals when it comes to videos (cartoons, music video, movies, etc) which leave a deeper impact in me and they never seem to leave my mind until I do something about them. And there were quite a few of them in this anime too. Some had snowfalls, some literally had magic dust falling from the sky and this one has fireflies all over.

I listened to "Snowman" and some other Lo-fi playlists while making this which was just perfect for a peaceful scene like this" 🎶


Let's connect on Instagram! 💛🧡

1.JPG

2.1.JPG

🔽 Thumbnail test

2.JPG

3.JPG

I wanted a different kimono color than the one in the picture, so I did plenty of color tests and thumbnail sketch tests before I went for it. Some of them were sooo close to each other that at some point they looked the same. I had to literally look away to adjust my eyes and look back to understand the precise difference. This is also because I was working with 2 watercolor brands. So the same ultramarine blue was actually different because of difference in brands.

This scene is so dreamy that I was bound to get caught up in it. It’s true in real life too. My city has a tradition of releasing hundreds of lanterns on the 13th and 14th of January each year and if you want to visualize, just remember the scene from “Tangled”. Yeah, that was mesmerizing wasn’t it? I also attempted a gouache firefly a few days ago which I wasn’t too happy with..I am 100% sure that it was a wrong judgment of paper that day because I actually really like the glow of the fireflies here.

6.jpg

8.1.JPG

8.JPG

9.JPG

It was also my intention to do something interesting with them digitally but I lost Photoshop because of OS update and well...that’s another story! Masking tape is a life saviour when you have some important highlights to show in a painting and/or have too much stuff going on and you simply cannot afford to waste time being careful with each brush stroke.

You might have seen the slightly raised dots in the 4th picture which is the dried up fluid. You could pour a bucket of water on that and it wouldn't come off 😂 And that I like!

10.JPG

11.JPG

12.JPG

13.JPG

Some test thumbnails before the final painting. I made some other swatches and color trials to see which exact blue would go perfectly with the kimono. (which I also changed later on)

63FA4BD9CEFD42A3B3ED5420B2EE704B.JPG

14.JPG

Let me know what you guys think. I love to hear from you! 🧡

Reference


Keep Creating

Lots Of Love <3

Sort:  

Anime drawings are really cute! :>

Hehe yeah!

👋 Hi @aishwarya, I was flipping through the blockchain and stumbled on your work! You've been upvoted by Sketchbook / a community for design and creativity. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon.

Join the Sketchbook Community

Thank you very much!