Good Art Days, Bad Art Days (Gouache Painting Firefly)

in Sketchbook4 years ago (edited)

There are some days which go really well, as planned, and some not so much when it comes to executing an idea for an artwork. Today was really tough for me because it did NOT go as I had thought. I don't know if it was wrong judgement of paper or water ratios. I love night scenes but I find painting them a little challenging personally. Especially since it's absolutely crucial to portray the correct light sources in order to do justice to a subject or scenery.

Fireflies are one of my favourite things to watch and of course are a very attractive subject to paint. Sadly, I don't have access to them in/ near my house or even my city. So I have to depend on photographs. I had an expectation v/s reality day today and it was quite painfully funny 😅 The picture was just damn fine and the painting....well I have to say that I am not a big fan of it :D

But hey, isn't failing a big part of learning?

I guess it will take many pieces before I get that right one!? I did learn a little about illuminating parts of plants when light hits them from the stem area here. I am also very curios to try this on a different surface soon with colors that I am more comfortable with and then increase the difficulty level! Wow, I sure do sound like a gamer lol.

Let me know what you guys think. I love to hear from you! 🧡


Come Say Hi On Instagram!

1.jpeg

2.JPG

3.JPG

4.JPG

5.JPG

What I do to pass time during paint-drying breaks! Play with reflections :D

13.jpeg

7.JPG
8.JPG

9.JPG

10.JPG

11.JPG

12.JPG

Meanwhile the outside was getting more and more beautiful 🧡❤️

6.JPG


Reference Image Source

Sort:  

Oh, what a beauty! I love fireflies so much! I call them Midsummer or St. John-bug as well. What kind of paint did you used? The colors are so brilliant.

I love them soo much tooo 🥺🥺 Why St. John-bug? I am curious :D
I used gouache on a cold pressed watercolor paper. Thank you so much! Love 🧡

@tipu curate

Upvoted 👌 (Mana: 0/10)

Thank you!

Thank you! :)

Beautiful,, the color mixing is awesome, great work.

Oh thank you very much!