Watercolor Painting: Getting Into A Meditative State With Houses πŸ§˜β€β™€οΈ 🎨 🧑

in Sketchbook β€’ 4 years ago

I find painting houses to be a super meditative process especially on days when I am not clear about my ideas or simply don't have it in me. Today was one of those clumsy days where almost everything was going wrong for me lol. I spoiled 2 different pieces before this one and I almost gave up for today. Plus it was incredibly hot outside!

But as I said, painting houses is like a retreat for me on such days.. maybe it is closer to filling shapes with colors. And there really are a lot of shapes in a house's structure. Even if there is complexity in the structure, at the end it is mostly about laying down colors one by one and since there is so much space to work on, there are almost no waiting for the paint to dry moments.I could just do this from my bed comfortably and that is why it feels so relaxing. I did want to paint an evening sky instead of a sunny blue one as in the picture.. think because there is something about evening skies or peachy sunsets which really soothes me and helps me feel better when I feel like shit lol.

At the same time I also found this nice image of a cloudy sunset which I had clicked a few weeks ago. That should serve as a good gouache study next. But yeah, that's pretty much for today and I will see you guys in the next one :) Cheers!

Let me know what you guys think. I love to hear from you! 🧑


Let's connect on Instagram!

1.JPG

These are a few paintings that I had done recently and all of them proved to be such good relaxing exercises (even if a few were for some commissions) It did provide me with an opportunity to take it easy and have fun in the process. I also learnt a little about brick colors! ☺️

IMG_9268.JPG

IMG_6629.JPG

IMG_9269.JPG

IMG_6630.JPG

Process Shots:

0061C264FC2A40068BD799D0E2A75969.JPG

IMG_1048.JPG

IMG_1051.JPG

IMG_1052.JPG

IMG_1053.JPG

IMG_1056.JPG

IMG_1047.JPG

Reference: Somewhere from this page. I totally lost the image after I closed the window accidentally.


Keep Creating

Lots Of Love <3

Sort: Β 

You are a very successful painter, dear. congratulations

Haha, I am learning for sure :)

These are really beautiful!
I would love to take some lectures on watercolor painting.

Thank you so much!
Yes, you should if it interests you :)

Yeah. It really does interests me. Thanks.

Exelente la pintura y tambien sus paisajes, me agrado, te dejo mi voto y te sigo gracias.

Wow, que hermozas pinturas ademas los paisaje son bellos, te dejo mi voto y te sigo.

Β 4 years agoΒ (edited)Β 

Thank you very much! :)
Appreciate it 🧑

Love the Greggs picture, instantly took me back to my home town in England, I’m in Australia now

Aw, thank you :) It was a pleasure painting this one.
Have a good time in Australia!

I've run out of words. Really good painting

Oh hahah, well thank you very much!

Very nice! Watercolour is such a nice medium for art

Thank you! It truly is :)

Painting is meditation. Adding colour to your painting is adding colours to your life, adding love to your life. Going more closer to nature and that is amazing, good job.

Well said. It's one of the best ways to connect with yourself!
Thank you!

Beautiful images! I feel like you made a really good use of the colors and watercolor paint.. Very good use of your time to come down to the present moment.

I am glad, thank you very much.
Yep, it is a great way of bringing back my focus.