Day 6 - Birds (Art from Heart)

in Sketchbook2 years ago

The vibrant red of the top half of the bird caught my eye. It was so pretty, and the bird is known as the Crimson Sunbird. A befitting name if you ask me ; )
They’re mostly found in tropical Southern Asia and feed on nectar mostly.

img_3005.jpg

Materials: Van Gogh watercolor and brush, rotring 0.7 mechanical pencil,and my Sinoart sketchbook

It felt like I’d forgotten how to paint at first when I laid the base wash layer for the painting. So, I left it for a day and went back to work on it. This time around I tried to encourage myself and be determined. It worked out!

After the wash layer, I mixed Prussian blue, red violet and a darker blue to paint the areas around the eye. The next step was to lay the orange for the feathers. I’m only noticing now, but maybe I could have added a warm brown or something to make the bottom part of the bird seem fuller rather than flat. Either way, this was fun!

img_3004.jpg

img_3006.jpg

img_3007.jpg

Fellow contributors for this challenge ✨check them out too!

@krucekoncept @tezzmax @toyosiartdiy @black-tosino @leonardo817 @infinite.ife

Thank You For Viewing!

For more art and merch : https://linktr.ee/artby.dara
I recently minted some NFTs, check them out! https://nftshowroom.com/artby.dara/gallery

153A0BB8-788B-4187-B558-6E83D390AC56.jpeg