A Short Break from Blender for a Voxel Party!

in Sketchbook3 years ago

Cause A Voxel Party Don’t Stop

I’ve made a couple versions of the Mock Turtle that I promised in my last Blender post (also my last Blender post, but not my first and last Blender post…). But I’m unsure if I want to share them as is or rig them both for animation. One is rigged as I created it low poly, but the other one I will have to retopologize before rigging. Which I will have to learn how to do first.

Today I started using a program called MagicaVoxel, which is a program that lets you create 3D models from cubes and colors. You can then export them and use them in games n stuff.

Plants are nice

So this crypto gaming community I’m a part of on discord is looking for Voxel assets for a Crypto Voxels environment where they do gaming festivals and so I jumped in. Like a boss I might add.

I must say it’s way easier than Blender, but also super limited. The limitation is actually where the challenge lies. It’s also a great learning experience because the assets they want have to be less than 32x32x32 Voxels. It’s like pixel art but in 3D. You really have to distill the form down to its essence to make anything look halfway decent.

So Here’s some stuff…

RoboNO.png


Alright. Mock Turtle soup for dinner I promise.

383F8F73AC7241FF9870FC267BD1024E.gif

Sort:  

Those look pretty cool :D I love those plants!

I can't remember if it was you or kristyglas I was telling that I think I was playing around with a similar app on my phone a hundred million years ago, and the limits annoyed the ever living hell out of me as I refuse to be limited by anything other than hardware and even that makes me angry XD Minecraft is probably about as close to voxel art as I'll ever get >_>

It is definitely a metric boatload easier than Blender though XD

yeah the limitations can be pretty frustrating, although it's probably better than doing it on a phone, but the whole building block thing is still super limiting. It's an interesting way to think about sculpting though. sort of like a puzzle. For now it's interesting because there are outlets in crypto that require this low poly stuff like crypto voxels and sandbox, but that will no doubt change with the technology.

Hey these turned out great! The speaker might be my fav but honestly I am pretty impressed at how well these all read given the pixel count limitations

Thanks! I like the robot the best I have to say, cracks me up every time =) I was pretty amazed at how they came out as well, 32x32x32 seems like nothing but i guess the eye is made for picking out patterns and shapes.

I also got some good advice after making these about using color more effectively. You have a lot more options when you start adding variations in color like multiple hues of green on the plants or pink on the flower etc which I hadn't thought of. looking at the stuff on sandbox I think they can actually paint on their voxel art rather than just giving each block its own color so that makes things a bit easier if you're good with color.