A new sketch and watercolor "Short hair with pink philodendron"

in Sketchbook2 years ago

8julyhiveTHUMB.jpg
**Short Hair Himalayan Kitten with a Pink pink philodendron"

I've sketched out my next "Animal and Plant" and I've not done a cat yet for this series. There is something so surreal about the short hair Himalayan cats, especially as kittens.

8julyhive1.jpg
Very rough idea sketch

8julyhive2.jpg
The sketch more roughed out and then scanned for fun digital play.

I have not been doing watercolor studies for each of my pieces in this series thus far, but it's random. Sometimes I go from this stage of scanned sketch straight into Inking and final color in oil pastels, but sometimes, when the whim hits, watercolor just calls to me.

8julyhive3.jpg
A wash of colour highlighting the pink tones of the kitten and the very real Pink of the Princess pink philodendron, an amazing house plant.

Sometimes when I decide to do a watercolor as well, it's often because I can see it happily on greeting cards or on a jolly little mug or bag. I'm certain many 'high' artists would scoff at such thoughts of production and commercial use, but I rather love making things thinking how it'll show up on darling things. I mean I love darling things , so why not?

Believe you me, I've played the 'Artist in the Garret', in fact I still have some large oils on canvas in the sail loft of our boat house that on Rainy days, when the sea is up, I'll retreat to and brood and mood some oil onto canvas. Yet, I find I want ALL the artists experience, from brooding painter to happy illustrator.

I hope you enjoyed my little feline addition to my series. I'll be sharing it again, of course, when it is inked and painted in oil pastels digitally. For today, I might just work on another sketch before getting back to this piece. And it's far too nice a Summer day to be the Brooding artist in the Garret, I'll leave that for a chilly October day, today I'll sketch on the beach or in my little fenced garden, watching butterflies.

I hope all of you have a lovely day and find a moment to indulge in your passions, whatever they might be.

QuailBorderforHive.jpg


If you'd like to follow my Work Here are some Links:
MY Society6 Shop
NFTshowroom
MAKERSPLACE
My Website
Instagram
Twitter
My 3Speak Channel

Sort:  

Manually curated by ackhoo from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Very cool piece. I'm a lover of cats.

Thank you, me too. I'm probably more of dog person , but we had the best cat for years who changed my mind :)

Hehe, I grab that!


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @donnadavisart ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more